# GivEnergy EV Charger review

Source: https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/givenergy-ev/
Updated: October 2026
A feature comparison from the maker's own documents and the energy suppliers' lists. No scores, ratings or rankings.

The GivEnergy EV Charger is a home EV charger rated at 7 kW single-phase, with a tethered cable. It can charge from surplus solar, but it is not on the Octopus, OVO or E.ON Next smart tariff charger lists. Not included: socket (untethered) version; three-phase or 22 kW version.

> **Check before you buy.** GivEnergy Ltd (company number 11571089) entered administration on 9 April 2026, according to Companies House. Industry reports say the company stopped trading and that the administrator said hardware warranties would not be honoured. GivEnergy's website still lists this charger with a 3-year warranty. Check who will honour the warranty and provide support before you buy, and speak to your installer if you already own one.

## GivEnergy EV Charger at a glance: what is included

- GivEnergy Ltd has been in administration since 9 April 2026 (Companies House)
- 7 kW single-phase (32 A) with a tethered 5 m Type 2 cable
- Solar diversion for zero-export charging, and can charge from a connected GivEnergy battery
- LAN and Wi-Fi; OCPP 1.6J
- Integrated Type B RCD and PEN fault detection
- IP65; 288 x 260 x 112 mm; 4.5 kg

**Included:** Solar diversion; Integration with GivEnergy batteries; Integrated Type B RCD; PEN fault detection; LAN and Wi-Fi.

**Not included:** Socket (untethered) version; Three-phase or 22 kW version; Listing on Octopus, OVO or E.ON Next smart tariff charger lists.

## GivEnergy EV Charger features compared with 26 chargers

Other chargers are listed A to Z; this is not a ranking.

| Feature | GivEnergy EV Charger | Chargers with it | Other chargers with it |
|---|---|---|---|
| IP65 or higher dust and water rating | Yes | 11 of 26 | Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz, Humax MX7, Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart LUX, Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura |
| An Ethernet port, as standard or an option | Yes | 13 of 26 | EO Mini Pro 3, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart LUX, Indra Smart PRO, Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, Sync Energy EV Charger |
| OCPP, for third-party charging platforms | Yes | 16 of 26 | Cord Zero, Easee One, EO Mini Pro 3, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, Sync Energy EV Charger, VCHRGD Seven Pro, Wallbox Pulsar Max, Zaptec Go |
| Solar charging with no extra accessory | Yes | 21 of 26 | Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, EO Mini Pro 3, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Humax MX7, Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart LUX, Indra Smart PRO, Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Ohme ePod, Ohme Home Pro, Pod Point Solo 3S, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Sync Energy EV Charger, VCHRGD Seven Pro |
| PEN fault protection built in | Yes | 21 of 26 | Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, Easee One, EO Mini Pro 3, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Humax MX7, Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart LUX, Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Ohme ePod, Ohme Home Pro, Pod Point Solo 3S, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Sync Energy EV Charger, VCHRGD Seven Pro |
| Load management with no extra accessory | No | 19 of 26 | Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, EO Mini Pro 3, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Humax MX7, Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart PRO, Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Ohme ePod, Ohme Home Pro, Pod Point Solo 3S, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, VCHRGD Seven Pro |
| Listed for Intelligent Octopus Go | No | 15 of 26 | Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart LUX, Indra Smart PRO, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Ohme ePod, Ohme Home Pro, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, Sync Energy EV Charger, VCHRGD Seven Pro, Wallbox Pulsar Max |
| Sold tethered and with a socket | No | 14 of 26 | Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, EO Mini Pro 3, Humax MX7, Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Pod Point Solo 3S, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, Sync Energy EV Charger, VCHRGD Seven Pro, Wallbox Pulsar Max |
| 4G or mobile data, as standard or an option | No | 14 of 26 | Cord Zero, Easee One, EO Mini Pro 3, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Indra Smart LUX, Indra Smart PRO, Ohme ePod, Ohme Home Pro, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Sync Energy EV Charger, VCHRGD Seven Pro, Zaptec Go |
| A tethered cable option of 7.5 m or more | No | 11 of 26 | Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, Humax MX7, Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart LUX, Ohme Home Pro, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, Sync Energy EV Charger, VCHRGD Seven Pro |
| An RFID card or key reader | No | 10 of 26 | Cord Zero, Easee One, Humax MX7, myenergi zappi GLO, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, VCHRGD Seven Pro, Wallbox Quasar 2, Zaptec Go |
| A warranty of 5 years or more | No | 9 of 26 | Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, Humax MX7, Pod Point Solo 3S, Rolec EVO, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, Wallbox Pulsar Max, Zaptec Go |
| A 22 kW three-phase version | No | 7 of 26 | Andersen Quartz, myenergi zappi, Rolec EVO, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, Wallbox Pulsar Max, Zaptec Go |
| Listed by Octopus, OVO and E.ON Next for their smart tariffs | No | 5 of 26 | Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart LUX, Indra Smart PRO, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO |
| Bidirectional (V2G or V2H) hardware | No | 1 of 26 | Wallbox Quasar 2 |

## Is the GivEnergy EV Charger compatible with Intelligent Octopus Go?

Not as a charger: Octopus does not list the GivEnergy EV Charger for Intelligent Octopus Go, though Octopus can connect through some cars instead. E.ON Next does not list it and OVO does not list it. We checked all three lists in October 2026.

- **Intelligent Octopus Go:** not listed. Not on Octopus's charger list. Intelligent Octopus Go can still work if your car is on Octopus's list. Source: [Octopus Energy, Intelligent Octopus Go supported chargers](https://octopus.energy/smart/intelligent-octopus-go/)
- **E.ON Next Drive Smart:** not listed. Not on E.ON Next's charger list. E.ON Next Drive Smart can still work if your car is on E.ON Next's list. Source: [E.ON Next, Next Drive Smart supported chargers](https://www.eonnext.com/tariffs/next-drive/smart)
- **OVO Charge Anytime:** not listed. Not on OVO's charger list. Charge Anytime can still work if your car is on OVO's list and you have an OVO home supply. Source: [OVO Energy, Charge Anytime compatible EVs and smart chargers](https://www.ovoenergy.com/electric-cars/charge-anytime-cars-and-chargers)
- **Fixed-window tariffs** (E.ON Next Drive, Octopus Go, EDF GoElectric, So Energy So EV, Good Energy EV Charge, ScottishPower EV Saver, Ecotricity EcoFixed EV, British Gas EV Power, Sainsbury's EV) need only a timer on the charger or the car.

## GivEnergy EV Charger charging time and costs

The MG4 EV SE Long Range, 30% to 80%, at 7 kW: about 5h 39m, adding about 162 miles. Charging starts when each cheap window opens. Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT.

| Tariff | Cheap window | Cost of this charge | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Intelligent Octopus Go | 23:30 to 05:30 | £3.16 | Only if your car is on Octopus's list |
| E.ON Next Drive Smart | 00:00 to 06:00 | £2.57 | Only if your car is on E.ON Next's list |
| E.ON Next Drive | 00:00 to 06:00 | £3.36 | Fits the 6-hour window |
| Octopus Go | 00:30 to 05:30 | £4.97 | 39m at the 36.90p day rate |
| EDF GoElectric | 23:00 to 06:00 | £2.63 (cheapest we can be sure of) | Fits the 7-hour window |
| So Energy So EV | 00:00 to 05:00 | £2.50+ | + 39m at a day rate shown only in a quote |
| Good Energy EV Charge | 00:00 to 05:00 | £2.67+ | + 39m at a day rate shown only in a quote |
| ScottishPower EV Saver | 02:00 to 05:00 | £8.13 | 2h 39m at the 34.22p day rate |
| Ecotricity EcoFixed EV | 00:00 to 05:00 | £4.43 | 39m at the 36.57p day rate |
| British Gas EV Power | 00:00 to 05:00 | £5.00 | 39m at the 36.90p day rate |
| Sainsbury's EV | 00:00 to 06:00 | £3.36 | Fits the 6-hour window |
| OVO Charge Anytime | Any time, EV only | £5.27 | Only if your car is on OVO's list |

We aim to show the latest rates, but tariff prices vary by location and can change daily. Always check current rates with the supplier directly before you switch.

## GivEnergy EV Charger specs and dimensions

| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Power | 7 kW / 32 A single-phase (230 V AC input, 50/60Hz) |
| Connector | Tethered Type 2 (IEC 62196-2), 5 m cable |
| Solar charging | Solar diversion for zero-export charging |
| Protection | Integrated Type B RCD and PEN fault detection |
| Connectivity | LAN and Wi-Fi |
| OCPP | OCPP 1.6J |
| Dimensions (H x W x D) | 288 x 260 x 112 mm |
| Weight | 4.5 kg |
| Ingress | IP65 |
| Operating temperature | -30°C to +55°C |
| Enclosure | PC and ASA; natural convection cooling |
| Warranty | 3 years listed by GivEnergy; see the administration notice |

## GivEnergy EV Charger vs similar chargers

The chargers that share the most charger types with the GivEnergy EV Charger, then A to Z.

- [Andersen A3](https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/andersen-a3/). Both have: Solar charging, Tethered. Differences: Smart tariff lists 2 of 3 (the GivEnergy EV Charger: 0 of 3); Warranty 7 years (the GivEnergy EV Charger: 3 years).
- [Andersen Quartz](https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/andersen-quartz/). Both have: Solar charging, Tethered. Differences: Max power 7 kW or 22 kW (the GivEnergy EV Charger: 7 kW); Cable tethered or socket (the GivEnergy EV Charger: tethered); Smart tariff lists 2 of 3 (the GivEnergy EV Charger: 0 of 3); Warranty 7 years (the GivEnergy EV Charger: 3 years).
- [Cord Zero](https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/cord-zero/). Both have: Solar charging, Tethered. Differences: Max power 7.36 kW (the GivEnergy EV Charger: 7 kW); Cable tethered or socket (the GivEnergy EV Charger: tethered); Smart tariff lists 2 of 3 (the GivEnergy EV Charger: 0 of 3); 4G yes (the GivEnergy EV Charger: no); Warranty 5 years (the GivEnergy EV Charger: 3 years).

## GivEnergy EV Charger features explained

### Company status

GivEnergy Ltd (company number 11571089) has been in administration since 9 April 2026, according to Companies House, with Christopher Brooksbank appointed. Industry reports from April and July 2026 say the company stopped trading, made its staff redundant, and that the administrator said it would not honour further hardware warranties. They also report that the GivEnergy app is run by a separate company, GivEnergy Software Ltd, which was not placed in administration.

GivEnergy's website still lists the EV Charger with a 3-year warranty. If you are considering one, check who will honour the warranty and provide support before you buy. If you already own one, your installer or the seller is the first point of contact; you may also have rights under the Consumer Rights Act 2015 against the seller, and under Section 75 if you paid by credit card.

### What is the GivEnergy EV Charger?

The GivEnergy EV Charger is a 7 kW single-phase charger with a tethered 5 m cable. GivEnergy describes it as a solar-diverting smart charger that can charge from excess solar, from the grid, or from a connected GivEnergy battery system.

### Charging power: 7 kW single-phase, no 22 kW version

GivEnergy lists an output of 7 kW / 32 A from a 230 V single-phase supply. There is no three-phase version. The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.

### Tethered cable: 5 m

The charger has a tethered Type 2 (IEC 62196-2) connector on a 5 m cable.

### Solar charging

GivEnergy lists solar diversion for zero-export charging, and says the charger can draw on excess solar, wind or hydro generation, or on a connected GivEnergy battery.

### Smart charging with Octopus, E.ON Next and OVO

GivEnergy says charging can be scheduled for cheaper off-peak periods through the GivEnergy app. On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026), GivEnergy is not listed by Octopus for Intelligent Octopus Go, by OVO for Charge Anytime, or by E.ON Next for Next Drive Smart.

### Protection and connectivity

GivEnergy lists an integrated Type B RCD and PEN fault detection. The charger connects over LAN or Wi-Fi and is OCPP 1.6J compliant.

### Size and dimensions: 288 x 260 x 112 mm

The charger measures 288 x 260 x 112 mm (height x width x depth) and weighs 4.5 kg. The PC and ASA enclosure is rated IP65, is cooled by natural convection and operates from -30°C to +55°C.

### Warranty: 3 years

GivEnergy's product page lists a 3-year warranty. See the company status section above before relying on it.

## GivEnergy EV Charger installation

- **Supply:** Single-phase, up to 7 kW
- **Earthing:** PEN fault protection built in, according to GivEnergy
- **Protection:** Integrated Type B RCD and PEN fault detection
- **Load management:** Not stated
- **Solar sensor:** Ask which sensor the solar mode uses
- **Connection:** Wi-Fi and Ethernet (LAN)

1. **Survey.** An installer checks your supply, consumer unit, main fuse and earthing, and where the charger and its cable will go. Many do this from photos first.
2. **Notify the network operator (DNO).** Your installer tells your local network operator (DNO) about the charger, and applies first where the supply needs checking.
3. **Fit and test.** The charger goes on its own circuit and is tested. Ask for the supply sensor for solar charging to be fitted on the same visit.
4. **Connect it.** The installer connects the charger to Wi-Fi or Ethernet and sets it up in the maker's app.
5. **Set up your tariff.** Set a charging schedule for your tariff's cheap hours. Smart tariffs that control the charger directly do not list it, but some work through a compatible car.

## Quick answers

- **Max power:** 7 kW single-phase.
- **Tethered or socket:** Tethered 5 m.
- **Solar charging:** Yes. Solar diversion for zero-export charging, and can charge from a connected GivEnergy battery.
- **Intelligent Octopus Go:** It is not on Octopus's list of supported chargers (checked October 2026). Intelligent Octopus Go can still work through a compatible car, and Octopus Go works with any charger set to a timer.
- **E.ON Next Drive Smart and OVO Charge Anytime:** Not on E.ON Next's Next Drive Smart list; not on OVO's Charge Anytime list (both checked 4 October 2026).
- **PEN fault protection:** Built in, according to GivEnergy. Your installer still confirms the earthing for your home.
- **Load management:** Not stated.
- **Connectivity:** Wi-Fi and Ethernet (LAN); OCPP 1.6J.
- **Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-home:** No.
- **Warranty:** 3 years, listed (see administration notice).
- **Updated:** October 2026, from GivEnergy's own documents and the Octopus, OVO and E.ON Next charger lists.

## GivEnergy EV Charger FAQs

### Is GivEnergy still trading?

Companies House shows GivEnergy Ltd (11571089) in administration since 9 April 2026, with Christopher Brooksbank appointed. Industry reports say the company stopped trading and its staff were made redundant. Check the current position on Companies House.

### Will the GivEnergy EV Charger warranty be honoured?

Industry reports say the administrator stated that GivEnergy Ltd would not honour further hardware warranties. GivEnergy's website still lists a 3-year warranty for the charger. If you own one, speak to the installer or seller first; you may also have rights under the Consumer Rights Act 2015 against the seller, and under Section 75 if you paid by credit card.

### Can the GivEnergy EV Charger charge from solar?

GivEnergy describes it as a solar-diverting charger that can charge from excess solar, from the grid, or from a connected GivEnergy battery, with zero-export solar diversion.

### Does the GivEnergy EV Charger need an earth rod?

GivEnergy lists integrated PEN fault detection and a Type B RCD. Your installer confirms the earthing arrangement for your property.

### Which smart EV tariffs work with the GivEnergy EV Charger?

It is not on the Octopus, OVO or E.ON Next smart tariff charger lists (checked October 2026). Fixed-window EV tariffs, such as EDF GoElectric, E.ON Next Drive and Octopus Go, need only a timer on the charger or the car.

### Which chargers are similar to the GivEnergy EV Charger?

Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz and Cord Zero share the most charger types with it (such as solar charging, cable type and smart tariff listings). They are listed by how many types they share, then A to Z; this is not a ranking. Compare any two side by side on our compare page.

### Does the GivEnergy EV Charger support V2H or V2G?

No. GivEnergy does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for the GivEnergy EV Charger, so it charges the car only.

### How much does the GivEnergy EV Charger cost?

We do not list prices, because they change often and most people buy a charger fitted, so the price depends on the installer and your home. Ask two or three installers for a fitted price for the GivEnergy EV Charger by name. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.

## EV charger terms explained

- **Tethered charger:** A charger with the charging cable fixed to the unit.
- **Type 2:** The standard connector for AC charging on cars sold in the UK and Europe.
- **Single-phase and three-phase:** Most UK homes have a single-phase supply, which limits a home charger to about 7 kW (32 A). A 22 kW charger needs a three-phase supply, and the car must accept 22 kW on AC to use it.
- **kW and kWh:** kW is charging power; kWh is energy. A 7 kW charger adds up to about 7 kWh an hour, less charging losses.
- **Solar charging:** A mode that varies the charging current to follow surplus solar generation, measured by a sensor on your supply, so the car uses power you would otherwise export.
- **CT clamp:** A current sensor clipped around a supply cable. It tells the charger how much power the home is importing or exporting.
- **PEN fault protection:** Protection that disconnects the charger if the combined neutral and earth (PEN) conductor in the supply fails. Chargers with it built in can usually be installed without an earth rod; your installer confirms what your supply needs.
- **RCD and RCBO:** Devices that cut the power if current leaks to earth. Some chargers need a Type A RCD or RCBO fitted at the consumer unit; the maker's installation notes say which.
- **OCPP:** Open Charge Point Protocol, an open standard that lets a charger connect to a third-party management platform as well as the maker's app.
- **IP and IK ratings:** IP rates protection against dust and water (IP65 is dust tight and protected against water jets); IK rates impact resistance, from IK00 to IK10.
- **Vehicle-to-grid (V2G) and vehicle-to-home (V2H):** Sending power from the car's battery back to the grid or the home. It needs a bidirectional charger, a compatible car and approval from your network operator, and V2G also needs a supplier offer.
- **Smart tariff charger list:** The chargers an energy supplier says it can control for its smart EV tariff, such as Octopus's list for Intelligent Octopus Go. Suppliers add and remove chargers, so we show the date we checked.
- **EV chargepoint grant:** A GOV.UK grant for people who rent, or own a flat, with private off-street parking. It can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500 (checked 4 October 2026).

## Sources and how we check

- [Companies House, GivEnergy Ltd (11571089) insolvency record](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/11571089/insolvency)
- [GivEnergy, EV Charger product page and technical specifications](https://givenergy.com/hardware/ev-charger/)
- [Going Solar UK, GivEnergy administration owner's guide (July 2026)](https://goingsolaruk.co.uk/givenergy-inverter-review/)
- [Spirit Energy, GivEnergy goes into administration (17 April 2026)](https://blog.spiritenergy.co.uk/homeowner/givenergy-goes-into-administration-what-it-means-for-uk-homeowners)
- [Octopus Energy, Intelligent Octopus Go supported chargers](https://octopus.energy/smart/intelligent-octopus-go/)
- [E.ON Next, Next Drive Smart supported chargers](https://www.eonnext.com/tariffs/next-drive/smart)
- [OVO Energy, Charge Anytime compatible EVs and smart chargers](https://www.ovoenergy.com/electric-cars/charge-anytime-cars-and-chargers)

Cite as: Best Chargers, "GivEnergy EV Charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/givenergy-ev/
