# Indra Smart LUX EV charger review

Source: https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/indra-smart-lux/
Updated: October 2026
A feature comparison from the maker's own documents and the energy suppliers' lists. No scores, ratings or rankings.

The Indra Smart LUX is a home EV charger rated at 7.4 kW single-phase, with a tethered cable. It can charge from surplus solar, and Octopus, E.ON Next and OVO all list it for their smart EV tariffs. Not included: socket (untethered) version, Indra's socket charger is the Smart PRO; three-phase or 22 kW version; Ethernet or 4G as standard (both cost extra).

## Indra Smart LUX at a glance: what is included

- 7.4 kW single-phase with a tethered Type 2 cable of 6 m or 10 m
- 78 mm deep (201 x 306 x 78 mm), in four colours
- Rated IP67 and IK10, with O-PEN fault detection and 6 mA DC leakage detection
- Solar charging, schedules and remote lock in the Indra app
- Listed by Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go), OVO (Charge Anytime) and E.ON Next (Next Drive Smart)
- 3-year warranty

**Included:** Tethered 6 m or 10 m cable; O-PEN fault detection; Solar charging; Status lights that change with charging state; Four colour options.

**Not included:** Socket (untethered) version; Indra's socket charger is the Smart PRO; Three-phase or 22 kW version; Ethernet or 4G as standard (both cost extra); Screen.

## Indra Smart LUX features compared with 26 chargers

Other chargers are listed A to Z; this is not a ranking.

| Feature | Indra Smart LUX | Chargers with it | Other chargers with it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Listed by Octopus, OVO and E.ON Next for their smart tariffs | Yes | 5 of 26 | Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart PRO, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO |
| A tethered cable option of 7.5 m or more | Yes | 11 of 26 | Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, Humax MX7, Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Ohme Home Pro, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, Sync Energy EV Charger, VCHRGD Seven Pro |
| IP65 or higher dust and water rating | Yes | 11 of 26 | Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz, GivEnergy EV Charger, Humax MX7, Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura |
| An Ethernet port, as standard or an option | Yes | 13 of 26 | EO Mini Pro 3, GivEnergy EV Charger, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart PRO, Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, Sync Energy EV Charger |
| 4G or mobile data, as standard or an option | Yes | 14 of 26 | Cord Zero, Easee One, EO Mini Pro 3, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Indra Smart PRO, Ohme ePod, Ohme Home Pro, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Sync Energy EV Charger, VCHRGD Seven Pro, Zaptec Go |
| Listed for Intelligent Octopus Go | Yes | 15 of 26 | Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart PRO, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Ohme ePod, Ohme Home Pro, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, Sync Energy EV Charger, VCHRGD Seven Pro, Wallbox Pulsar Max |
| Solar charging with no extra accessory | Yes | 21 of 26 | Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, EO Mini Pro 3, GivEnergy EV Charger, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Humax MX7, Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart PRO, Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Ohme ePod, Ohme Home Pro, Pod Point Solo 3S, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Sync Energy EV Charger, VCHRGD Seven Pro |
| PEN fault protection built in | Yes | 21 of 26 | Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, Easee One, EO Mini Pro 3, GivEnergy EV Charger, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Humax MX7, Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Ohme ePod, Ohme Home Pro, Pod Point Solo 3S, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Sync Energy EV Charger, VCHRGD Seven Pro |
| Load management with no extra accessory | No | 19 of 26 | Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, EO Mini Pro 3, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Humax MX7, Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart PRO, Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Ohme ePod, Ohme Home Pro, Pod Point Solo 3S, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, VCHRGD Seven Pro |
| OCPP, for third-party charging platforms | No | 16 of 26 | Cord Zero, Easee One, EO Mini Pro 3, GivEnergy EV Charger, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, Sync Energy EV Charger, VCHRGD Seven Pro, Wallbox Pulsar Max, Zaptec Go |
| Sold tethered and with a socket | No | 14 of 26 | Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, EO Mini Pro 3, Humax MX7, Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Pod Point Solo 3S, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, Sync Energy EV Charger, VCHRGD Seven Pro, Wallbox Pulsar Max |
| An RFID card or key reader | No | 10 of 26 | Cord Zero, Easee One, Humax MX7, myenergi zappi GLO, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, VCHRGD Seven Pro, Wallbox Quasar 2, Zaptec Go |
| A warranty of 5 years or more | No | 9 of 26 | Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, Humax MX7, Pod Point Solo 3S, Rolec EVO, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, Wallbox Pulsar Max, Zaptec Go |
| A 22 kW three-phase version | No | 7 of 26 | Andersen Quartz, myenergi zappi, Rolec EVO, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, Wallbox Pulsar Max, Zaptec Go |
| Bidirectional (V2G or V2H) hardware | No | 1 of 26 | Wallbox Quasar 2 |

## Is the Indra Smart LUX compatible with Intelligent Octopus Go?

Yes. Octopus lists the Indra Smart LUX for Intelligent Octopus Go. E.ON Next lists it and OVO lists it. We checked all three lists in October 2026.

- **Intelligent Octopus Go:** listed. Octopus lists the Indra Smart LUX as a supported charger. Source: [Octopus Energy, Intelligent Octopus Go supported chargers](https://octopus.energy/smart/intelligent-octopus-go/)
- **E.ON Next Drive Smart:** listed. E.ON Next lists the Indra Smart LUX as a supported charger. Source: [E.ON Next, Next Drive Smart supported chargers](https://www.eonnext.com/tariffs/next-drive/smart)
- **OVO Charge Anytime:** listed. OVO lists the Indra Smart LUX as a supported charger. Source: [OVO Energy, Charge Anytime compatible EVs and smart chargers](https://www.ovoenergy.com/electric-cars/charge-anytime-cars-and-chargers)
- **Fixed-window tariffs** (E.ON Next Drive, Octopus Go, EDF GoElectric, So Energy So EV, Good Energy EV Charge, ScottishPower EV Saver, Ecotricity EcoFixed EV, British Gas EV Power, Sainsbury's EV) need only a timer on the charger or the car.

## Indra Smart LUX charging time and costs

The MG4 EV SE Long Range, 30% to 80%, at 7.4 kW: about 5h 21m, adding about 162 miles. Charging starts when each cheap window opens. Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT.

| Tariff | Cheap window | Cost of this charge | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Intelligent Octopus Go | 23:30 to 05:30 | £3.16 | Fits the 6-hour window |
| E.ON Next Drive Smart | 00:00 to 06:00 | £2.57 (cheapest we can be sure of) | Fits the 6-hour window |
| E.ON Next Drive | 00:00 to 06:00 | £3.36 | Fits the 6-hour window |
| Octopus Go | 00:30 to 05:30 | £4.42 | 21m at the 36.90p day rate |
| EDF GoElectric | 23:00 to 06:00 | £2.63 | Fits the 7-hour window |
| So Energy So EV | 00:00 to 05:00 | £2.64+ | + 21m at a day rate shown only in a quote |
| Good Energy EV Charge | 00:00 to 05:00 | £2.82+ | + 21m at a day rate shown only in a quote |
| ScottishPower EV Saver | 02:00 to 05:00 | £7.82 | 2h 21m at the 34.22p day rate |
| Ecotricity EcoFixed EV | 00:00 to 05:00 | £3.86 | 21m at the 36.57p day rate |
| British Gas EV Power | 00:00 to 05:00 | £4.46 | 21m at the 36.90p day rate |
| Sainsbury's EV | 00:00 to 06:00 | £3.36 | Fits the 6-hour window |
| OVO Charge Anytime | Any time, EV only | £5.27 | EV-only rate, any time |

We aim to show the latest rates, but tariff prices vary by location and can change daily. Always check current rates with the supplier directly before you switch.

## Indra Smart LUX specs and dimensions

| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Power | 7.4 kW single-phase (230 V AC, 6 A to 32 A variable, 50Hz) |
| Connector | Tethered Type 2 cable, 6 m or 10 m |
| Protection | 6 mA DC leakage detection, O-PEN fault detection |
| Solar charging | Yes |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi; Ethernet or cellular at additional cost |
| User interface | Membrane panel and Indra app |
| Dimensions (W x H x D) | 201 x 306 x 78 mm |
| Weight | 3.6 kg (6 m cable) |
| Ingress and impact | IP67, IK10 |
| Operating temperature | -20°C to 50°C |
| Standby power | 5 W |
| Colours | Indra White, Symphony Black, Malvern Stone, Elgar Grey |
| Warranty | 3 years |

## Indra Smart LUX vs similar chargers

The chargers that share the most charger types with the Indra Smart LUX, then A to Z.

- [Cord Zero](https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/cord-zero/). Both have: Solar charging, Tethered, Smart tariff integration, Built-in 4G. Differences: Max power 7.36 kW (the Indra Smart LUX: 7.4 kW); Cable tethered or socket (the Indra Smart LUX: tethered); Smart tariff lists 2 of 3 (the Indra Smart LUX: 3 of 3); Warranty 5 years (the Indra Smart LUX: 3 years).
- [Ohme Home Pro](https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/ohme-home-pro/). Both have: Solar charging, Tethered, Smart tariff integration, Built-in 4G. Differences: Smart tariff lists 1 of 3 (the Indra Smart LUX: 3 of 3).
- [Sync Energy EV Charger](https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/sync-ev/). Both have: Solar charging, Tethered, Smart tariff integration, Built-in 4G. Differences: Cable tethered or socket (the Indra Smart LUX: tethered); Smart tariff lists 1 of 3 (the Indra Smart LUX: 3 of 3).

## Indra Smart LUX features explained

### What is the Indra Smart LUX?

The Smart LUX is Indra's tethered home charger. It charges at up to 7.4 kW on a single-phase supply, has a built-in 6 m or 10 m cable and is 78 mm deep. It comes in Indra White, Symphony Black, Malvern Stone and Elgar Grey. Indra, based in Malvern, Worcestershire, says it designs and builds every product in the UK.

### Charging power: 7.4 kW single-phase, no 22 kW version

Indra lists a maximum output of 7.4 kW on a 230 V single-phase supply, with output current variable from 6 A to 32 A. There is no three-phase version. The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.

### Tethered cable: 6 m or 10 m

The Smart LUX is tethered only, with a Type 2 cable of 6 m or 10 m. Indra says the recessed profile lets the cable wrap around the unit. Indra's untethered charger is the Smart PRO.

### Solar charging

Indra lists solar charging for the Smart LUX, using surplus energy from solar panels to charge the car, managed in the Indra app.

### Smart charging with Octopus, E.ON Next and OVO

The Indra app sets charging schedules, locks or unlocks the charger remotely, has a Boost function and tracks costs.

On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026):

- **Octopus Energy** lists the Indra Smart Lux as supported for Intelligent Octopus Go.
- **OVO Energy** lists Indra as a compatible smart charger for Charge Anytime.
- **E.ON Next** lists Indra as supported for Next Drive Smart.

### Load balancing, earthing and installation

Indra lists the Smart LUX's protection as 6 mA DC leakage detection and O-PEN fault detection, and includes G100 in its list of compliance standards. Installation is included in Indra's own fully installed price for a standard installation.

### App, Wi-Fi and connectivity

The Smart LUX connects over Wi-Fi as standard; Ethernet or a cellular connection is available at additional cost. The user interface is a membrane panel and the Indra app. Indra lists automatic over-the-air updates. Status lights on the front change colour with the charging state.

### Size and dimensions: 201 x 306 x 78 mm

The Smart LUX measures 201 x 306 x 78 mm (width x height x depth) and weighs 3.6 kg with the 6 m cable. It is rated IP67 and IK10, operates from -20°C to 50°C and uses 5 W on standby. Indra lists compliance with the Electric Vehicles (Smart Charge Points) Regulations 2021.

### Warranty: 3 years

Indra lists a 3-year warranty.

## Indra Smart LUX installation

- **Supply:** Single-phase, up to 7.4 kW
- **Earthing:** PEN fault protection built in, according to Indra
- **Protection:** 6 mA DC leakage detection, O-PEN fault detection
- **Load management:** Not stated
- **Solar sensor:** Ask which sensor the solar mode uses
- **Connection:** Wi-Fi, Ethernet (extra cost) and Cellular (extra cost)

1. **Survey.** An installer checks your supply, consumer unit, main fuse and earthing, and where the charger and its cable will go. Many do this from photos first.
2. **Notify the network operator (DNO).** Your installer tells your local network operator (DNO) about the charger, and applies first where the supply needs checking.
3. **Fit and test.** The charger goes on its own circuit and is tested. Ask for the supply sensor for solar charging to be fitted on the same visit.
4. **Connect it.** The installer connects the charger to Wi-Fi, Ethernet or Cellular and sets it up in the maker's app.
5. **Set up your tariff.** If you switch to a smart tariff that lists it (Intelligent Octopus Go, E.ON Next Drive Smart, OVO Charge Anytime), add the charger in the supplier's app so it can schedule charging. On a fixed-window tariff, set a schedule for the cheap hours.

## Quick answers

- **Max power:** 7.4 kW single-phase.
- **Tethered or socket:** Tethered 6 m or 10 m.
- **Solar charging:** Yes. Solar charging, schedules and remote lock in the Indra app.
- **Intelligent Octopus Go:** Yes. Octopus lists the Indra Smart LUX as a supported charger (checked October 2026).
- **E.ON Next Drive Smart and OVO Charge Anytime:** E.ON Next lists it for Next Drive Smart; OVO lists it for Charge Anytime (both checked 4 October 2026).
- **PEN fault protection:** Built in, according to Indra. Your installer still confirms the earthing for your home.
- **Load management:** Not stated.
- **Connectivity:** Wi-Fi, Ethernet (extra cost) and Cellular (extra cost).
- **Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-home:** No.
- **Warranty:** 3 years.
- **Updated:** October 2026, from Indra's own documents and the Octopus, OVO and E.ON Next charger lists.

## Indra Smart LUX FAQs

### How deep is the Indra Smart LUX?

78 mm. Indra lists the dimensions as 201 x 306 x 78 mm (width x height x depth). Indra describes it as the slimmest home EV charger on the market.

### What cable lengths does the Indra Smart LUX have?

It is tethered, with a 6 m or 10 m Type 2 cable built in. The 6 m version weighs 3.6 kg.

### What warranty does the Indra Smart LUX have?

Indra lists a 3-year warranty.

### Does the Indra Smart LUX work with Intelligent Octopus Go?

Yes. Octopus lists the Indra Smart Lux as supported for Intelligent Octopus Go, OVO lists Indra for Charge Anytime, and E.ON Next lists Indra for Next Drive Smart (all checked 4 October 2026).

### Does the Indra Smart LUX need an earth rod?

Indra lists O-PEN fault detection in the Smart LUX's protection, which is the protection that otherwise often requires an earth rod. Your installer confirms the earthing arrangement for your property.

### Which chargers are similar to the Indra Smart LUX?

Cord Zero, Ohme Home Pro and Sync Energy EV Charger share the most charger types with it (such as solar charging, cable type and smart tariff listings). They are listed by how many types they share, then A to Z; this is not a ranking. Compare any two side by side on our compare page.

### Does the Indra Smart LUX support V2H or V2G?

No. Indra does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for the Indra Smart LUX, so it charges the car only.

### How much does the Indra Smart LUX cost?

We do not list prices, because they change often and most people buy a charger fitted, so the price depends on the installer and your home. Ask two or three installers for a fitted price for the Indra Smart LUX by name. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.

## EV charger terms explained

- **Tethered charger:** A charger with the charging cable fixed to the unit.
- **Type 2:** The standard connector for AC charging on cars sold in the UK and Europe.
- **Single-phase and three-phase:** Most UK homes have a single-phase supply, which limits a home charger to about 7 kW (32 A). A 22 kW charger needs a three-phase supply, and the car must accept 22 kW on AC to use it.
- **kW and kWh:** kW is charging power; kWh is energy. A 7 kW charger adds up to about 7 kWh an hour, less charging losses.
- **Solar charging:** A mode that varies the charging current to follow surplus solar generation, measured by a sensor on your supply, so the car uses power you would otherwise export.
- **CT clamp:** A current sensor clipped around a supply cable. It tells the charger how much power the home is importing or exporting.
- **PEN fault protection:** Protection that disconnects the charger if the combined neutral and earth (PEN) conductor in the supply fails. Chargers with it built in can usually be installed without an earth rod; your installer confirms what your supply needs.
- **IP and IK ratings:** IP rates protection against dust and water (IP65 is dust tight and protected against water jets); IK rates impact resistance, from IK00 to IK10.
- **Vehicle-to-grid (V2G) and vehicle-to-home (V2H):** Sending power from the car's battery back to the grid or the home. It needs a bidirectional charger, a compatible car and approval from your network operator, and V2G also needs a supplier offer.
- **Smart tariff charger list:** The chargers an energy supplier says it can control for its smart EV tariff, such as Octopus's list for Intelligent Octopus Go. Suppliers add and remove chargers, so we show the date we checked.
- **EV chargepoint grant:** A GOV.UK grant for people who rent, or own a flat, with private off-street parking. It can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500 (checked 4 October 2026).

## Sources and how we check

- [Indra, Smart LUX product page and technical specifications](https://www.indra.co.uk/product/smart-lux/)
- [Octopus Energy, Intelligent Octopus Go supported chargers](https://octopus.energy/smart/intelligent-octopus-go/)
- [OVO Energy, Charge Anytime compatible EVs and smart chargers](https://www.ovoenergy.com/electric-cars/charge-anytime-cars-and-chargers)
- [E.ON Next, Next Drive Smart supported chargers](https://www.eonnext.com/tariffs/next-drive/smart)

Cite as: Best Chargers, "Indra Smart LUX EV charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/indra-smart-lux/
