# Sync Energy EV Charger review

Source: https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/sync-ev/
Updated: October 2026
A feature comparison from the maker's own documents and the energy suppliers' lists. No scores, ratings or rankings.

The Sync Energy EV Charger is a home EV charger rated at 7.4 kW single-phase, sold tethered or with a Type 2 socket. It can charge from surplus solar, and Octopus lists it for Intelligent Octopus Go. Not included: published dimensions, weight or IP rating on Sync Energy's product page; three-phase home version (a 22 kW socketed model is listed in Sync Energy's shop).

## Sync Energy EV Charger at a glance: what is included

- Dynamic charging up to 7.4 kW (32 A), with a Type 2 auto-lock socket or a tethered 7.5 m cable
- Wi-Fi and Ethernet on every model; 4G on the GG models
- Auto Solar Charging and Tariff Sense smart charging as standard
- Integrated open PEN protection and 30 mA Type A RCD with 6 mA DC; Sync Energy says no earth rod is needed
- Octopus lists the Sync Energy Wall Charger 2 for Intelligent Octopus Go
- 3-year on-site warranty

**Included:** Auto Solar Charging; Tariff Sense tariff-based scheduling; Integrated open PEN protection; Integrated 30 mA Type A RCD with 6 mA DC; Wi-Fi and Ethernet; 4G on selected models; OCPP 1.6J and over-the-air updates.

**Not included:** Published dimensions, weight or IP rating on Sync Energy's product page; Three-phase home version (a 22 kW socketed model is listed in Sync Energy's shop).

## Sync Energy EV Charger features compared with 26 chargers

Other chargers are listed A to Z; this is not a ranking.

| Feature | Sync Energy EV Charger | Chargers with it | Other chargers with it |
|---|---|---|---|
| A tethered cable option of 7.5 m or more | Yes | 11 of 26 | Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, Humax MX7, Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart LUX, Ohme Home Pro, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, VCHRGD Seven Pro |
| An Ethernet port, as standard or an option | Yes | 13 of 26 | EO Mini Pro 3, GivEnergy EV Charger, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart LUX, Indra Smart PRO, Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus |
| Sold tethered and with a socket | Yes | 14 of 26 | Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, EO Mini Pro 3, Humax MX7, Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Pod Point Solo 3S, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, VCHRGD Seven Pro, Wallbox Pulsar Max |
| 4G or mobile data, as standard or an option | Yes | 14 of 26 | Cord Zero, Easee One, EO Mini Pro 3, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Indra Smart LUX, Indra Smart PRO, Ohme ePod, Ohme Home Pro, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, VCHRGD Seven Pro, Zaptec Go |
| Listed for Intelligent Octopus Go | Yes | 15 of 26 | Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart LUX, Indra Smart PRO, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Ohme ePod, Ohme Home Pro, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, VCHRGD Seven Pro, Wallbox Pulsar Max |
| OCPP, for third-party charging platforms | Yes | 16 of 26 | Cord Zero, Easee One, EO Mini Pro 3, GivEnergy EV Charger, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, VCHRGD Seven Pro, Wallbox Pulsar Max, Zaptec Go |
| Solar charging with no extra accessory | Yes | 21 of 26 | Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, EO Mini Pro 3, GivEnergy EV Charger, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Humax MX7, Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart LUX, Indra Smart PRO, Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Ohme ePod, Ohme Home Pro, Pod Point Solo 3S, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, VCHRGD Seven Pro |
| PEN fault protection built in | Yes | 21 of 26 | Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, Easee One, EO Mini Pro 3, GivEnergy EV Charger, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Humax MX7, Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart LUX, Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Ohme ePod, Ohme Home Pro, Pod Point Solo 3S, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, VCHRGD Seven Pro |
| Load management with no extra accessory | No | 19 of 26 | Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, EO Mini Pro 3, Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2), Humax MX7, Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart PRO, Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Ohme ePod, Ohme Home Pro, Pod Point Solo 3S, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, VCHRGD Seven Pro |
| IP65 or higher dust and water rating | No | 11 of 26 | Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz, GivEnergy EV Charger, Humax MX7, Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart LUX, Masterplug Smart EV Charger, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura |
| An RFID card or key reader | No | 10 of 26 | Cord Zero, Easee One, Humax MX7, myenergi zappi GLO, Rolec EVO, Rolec WallPod, Rolec Zura, VCHRGD Seven Pro, Wallbox Quasar 2, Zaptec Go |
| A warranty of 5 years or more | No | 9 of 26 | Andersen A3, Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero, Humax MX7, Pod Point Solo 3S, Rolec EVO, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, Wallbox Pulsar Max, Zaptec Go |
| A 22 kW three-phase version | No | 7 of 26 | Andersen Quartz, myenergi zappi, Rolec EVO, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, Wallbox Pulsar Max, Zaptec Go |
| Listed by Octopus, OVO and E.ON Next for their smart tariffs | No | 5 of 26 | Hypervolt Home 3 Pro, Indra Smart LUX, Indra Smart PRO, myenergi zappi, myenergi zappi GLO |
| Bidirectional (V2G or V2H) hardware | No | 1 of 26 | Wallbox Quasar 2 |

## Is the Sync Energy EV Charger compatible with Intelligent Octopus Go?

Yes. Octopus lists the Sync Energy EV Charger for Intelligent Octopus Go. E.ON Next does not list it and OVO does not list it. We checked all three lists in October 2026.

- **Intelligent Octopus Go:** listed. Octopus lists the Sync Energy EV Charger as a supported charger. Source: [Octopus Energy, Intelligent Octopus Go supported chargers](https://octopus.energy/smart/intelligent-octopus-go/)
- **E.ON Next Drive Smart:** not listed. Not on E.ON Next's charger list. E.ON Next Drive Smart can still work if your car is on E.ON Next's list. Source: [E.ON Next, Next Drive Smart supported chargers](https://www.eonnext.com/tariffs/next-drive/smart)
- **OVO Charge Anytime:** not listed. Not on OVO's charger list. Charge Anytime can still work if your car is on OVO's list and you have an OVO home supply. Source: [OVO Energy, Charge Anytime compatible EVs and smart chargers](https://www.ovoenergy.com/electric-cars/charge-anytime-cars-and-chargers)
- **Fixed-window tariffs** (E.ON Next Drive, Octopus Go, EDF GoElectric, So Energy So EV, Good Energy EV Charge, ScottishPower EV Saver, Ecotricity EcoFixed EV, British Gas EV Power, Sainsbury's EV) need only a timer on the charger or the car.

## Sync Energy EV Charger charging time and costs

The MG4 EV SE Long Range, 30% to 80%, at 7.4 kW: about 5h 21m, adding about 162 miles. Charging starts when each cheap window opens. Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT.

| Tariff | Cheap window | Cost of this charge | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Intelligent Octopus Go | 23:30 to 05:30 | £3.16 | Fits the 6-hour window |
| E.ON Next Drive Smart | 00:00 to 06:00 | £2.57 | Only if your car is on E.ON Next's list |
| E.ON Next Drive | 00:00 to 06:00 | £3.36 | Fits the 6-hour window |
| Octopus Go | 00:30 to 05:30 | £4.42 | 21m at the 36.90p day rate |
| EDF GoElectric | 23:00 to 06:00 | £2.63 (cheapest we can be sure of) | Fits the 7-hour window |
| So Energy So EV | 00:00 to 05:00 | £2.64+ | + 21m at a day rate shown only in a quote |
| Good Energy EV Charge | 00:00 to 05:00 | £2.82+ | + 21m at a day rate shown only in a quote |
| ScottishPower EV Saver | 02:00 to 05:00 | £7.82 | 2h 21m at the 34.22p day rate |
| Ecotricity EcoFixed EV | 00:00 to 05:00 | £3.86 | 21m at the 36.57p day rate |
| British Gas EV Power | 00:00 to 05:00 | £4.46 | 21m at the 36.90p day rate |
| Sainsbury's EV | 00:00 to 06:00 | £3.36 | Fits the 6-hour window |
| OVO Charge Anytime | Any time, EV only | £5.27 | Only if your car is on OVO's list |

We aim to show the latest rates, but tariff prices vary by location and can change daily. Always check current rates with the supplier directly before you switch.

## Sync Energy EV Charger specs

| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Power | Dynamic charging up to 7.4 kW (32 A) |
| Models | EVWC2S7G, EVWC2S7GG (socket); EVWC2T7G, EVWC2T7GG (7.5 m tethered) |
| Connector | Type 2 socket with auto-lock, or tethered 7.5 m Type 2 |
| Protection | Integrated open PEN conductor protection; integrated 30 mA Type A RCD with 6 mA DC |
| Solar charging | Auto Solar Charging |
| Smart charging | Tariff Sense |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi and LAN; Wi-Fi, LAN and 4G on GG models |
| OCPP | OCPP 1.6J with free lifetime over-the-air updates |
| Faceplates | 9 colours, including a metal cover |
| Compliance | EV Smart Charge Regulations 2021 (Schedule 1) |
| Warranty | 3-year on-site |

## Sync Energy EV Charger vs similar chargers

The chargers that share the most charger types with the Sync Energy EV Charger, then A to Z.

- [Cord Zero](https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/cord-zero/). Both have: Solar charging, Tethered, Untethered (socket), Smart tariff integration, Built-in 4G. Differences: Max power 7.36 kW (the Sync Energy EV Charger: 7.4 kW); Smart tariff lists 2 of 3 (the Sync Energy EV Charger: 1 of 3); Warranty 5 years (the Sync Energy EV Charger: 3 years).
- [VCHRGD Seven Pro](https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/vchrgd-seven-pro/). Both have: Solar charging, Tethered, Untethered (socket), Smart tariff integration, Built-in 4G. No difference in the features we compare.
- [Andersen Quartz](https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/andersen-quartz/). Both have: Solar charging, Tethered, Untethered (socket), Smart tariff integration. Differences: Max power 7 kW or 22 kW (the Sync Energy EV Charger: 7.4 kW); Smart tariff lists 2 of 3 (the Sync Energy EV Charger: 1 of 3); 4G no (the Sync Energy EV Charger: yes); Warranty 7 years (the Sync Energy EV Charger: 3 years).

## Sync Energy EV Charger features explained

### What is the Sync Energy EV Charger?

The Sync Energy EV Charger is a home charger from Sync Energy, part of Luceco plc, which says it has supplied EV chargers since December 2019. Octopus and Hive refer to it as the Wall Charger 2. It comes socketed or with a 7.5 m tethered cable, with Wi-Fi and Ethernet on every model and 4G on selected models.

### Charging power: 7.4 kW single-phase, no 22 kW version

Sync Energy lists dynamic charging up to 7.4 kW (32 A) on a single-phase supply. Its online shop also lists a 22 kW three-phase socketed model (EVWC2S22GGR). The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.

### Tethered or untethered: the cable options

The socketed models (EVWC2S7G and EVWC2S7GG) have a universal Type 2 socket with auto-lock. The tethered models (EVWC2T7G and EVWC2T7GG) have a built-in 7.5 m Type 2 cable. Nine faceplate colours are available, including a metal cover.

### Solar charging

Auto Solar Charging is included as standard. Sync Energy says it uses excess solar energy for charging while making sure the car is ready when needed.

### Smart charging with Octopus, E.ON Next and OVO

The Sync Energy app starts, stops and schedules charging, tracks costs and energy use, and includes Tariff Sense, which connects to your energy tariff to charge at the cheapest times. Sync Energy also lists demand flexibility rewards.

On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026):

- **Octopus Energy** lists "Sync Energy Wall Charger 2" as supported for Intelligent Octopus Go.
- **OVO Energy** does not list Sync Energy for Charge Anytime.
- **E.ON Next** does not list Sync Energy for Next Drive Smart.

### Load balancing, earthing and installation

Sync Energy lists integrated open PEN conductor protection, so no earth rod is required, and an integrated 30 mA Type A RCD with 6 mA DC protection. Its product page does not describe load management for this charger; Hive, which sells it, lists household load balancing.

### App, Wi-Fi and connectivity

All models have Wi-Fi and LAN (Ethernet); the GG models add 4G. The charger supports OCPP 1.6J and Sync Energy lists free lifetime over-the-air updates. Sync Energy lists compliance with the EV Smart Charge Regulations 2021 (Schedule 1).

Sync Energy's product page does not publish dimensions, weight, or ingress and impact ratings.

### Warranty: 3 years

Sync Energy lists a 3-year on-site warranty.

## Sync Energy EV Charger installation

- **Supply:** Single-phase, up to 7.4 kW
- **Earthing:** PEN fault protection built in, according to Sync Energy
- **Protection:** Integrated open PEN conductor protection; integrated 30 mA Type A RCD with 6 mA DC
- **Load management:** Not stated
- **Solar sensor:** Ask which sensor the solar mode uses
- **Connection:** Wi-Fi, Ethernet and 4G (selected models)

1. **Survey.** An installer checks your supply, consumer unit, main fuse and earthing, and where the charger and its cable will go. Many do this from photos first.
2. **Notify the network operator (DNO).** Your installer tells your local network operator (DNO) about the charger, and applies first where the supply needs checking.
3. **Fit and test.** The charger goes on its own circuit and is tested. Ask for the supply sensor for solar charging to be fitted on the same visit.
4. **Connect it.** The installer connects the charger to Wi-Fi, Ethernet or 4G and sets it up in the maker's app.
5. **Set up your tariff.** If you switch to a smart tariff that lists it (Intelligent Octopus Go), add the charger in the supplier's app so it can schedule charging. On a fixed-window tariff, set a schedule for the cheap hours.

## Quick answers

- **Max power:** 7.4 kW single-phase.
- **Tethered or socket:** Type 2 socket or tethered 7.5 m.
- **Solar charging:** Yes. Auto Solar Charging and Tariff Sense smart charging as standard.
- **Intelligent Octopus Go:** Yes. Octopus lists the Sync Energy EV Charger as a supported charger (checked October 2026).
- **E.ON Next Drive Smart and OVO Charge Anytime:** Not on E.ON Next's Next Drive Smart list; not on OVO's Charge Anytime list (both checked 4 October 2026).
- **PEN fault protection:** Built in, according to Sync Energy. Your installer still confirms the earthing for your home.
- **Load management:** Not stated.
- **Connectivity:** Wi-Fi, Ethernet and 4G (selected models); OCPP 1.6J.
- **Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-home:** No.
- **Warranty:** 3 years, on-site.
- **Updated:** October 2026, from Sync Energy's own documents and the Octopus, OVO and E.ON Next charger lists.

## Sync Energy EV Charger FAQs

### What is the difference between the Sync Energy EV Charger models?

Sync Energy lists four main models: EVWC2S7G (socket, Wi-Fi and Ethernet), EVWC2S7GG (socket, adds 4G), EVWC2T7G (7.5 m tethered, Wi-Fi and Ethernet) and EVWC2T7GG (7.5 m tethered, adds 4G). Its online shop also lists a socket model with RFID and a 22 kW three-phase socket model.

### Is the Hive EV charger the same as the Sync Energy charger?

Hive sells the 'Sync Energy Wall Charger 2' with installation through its own installers. Hive's offer adds Hive app control and Power+, and gives a 3-year warranty when Hive's installers fit it (2 years without installation).

### Does the Sync Energy charger work with Intelligent Octopus Go?

Octopus lists 'Sync Energy Wall Charger 2' as supported for Intelligent Octopus Go (checked 4 October 2026). Sync Energy is not on OVO's Charge Anytime list or E.ON Next's Next Drive Smart list on the same date.

### Can the Sync Energy charger charge from solar?

Sync Energy lists Auto Solar Charging as standard, using excess solar energy, while keeping the car ready when needed.

### What does installing the Sync Energy EV Charger involve?

A qualified installer fits it on its own circuit, checks your supply and earthing, and notifies your network operator. Sync Energy lists built-in PEN fault protection. For solar charging, ask for the supply sensor to be fitted on the same visit.

### Which chargers are similar to the Sync Energy EV Charger?

Cord Zero, VCHRGD Seven Pro and Andersen Quartz share the most charger types with it (such as solar charging, cable type and smart tariff listings). They are listed by how many types they share, then A to Z; this is not a ranking. Compare any two side by side on our compare page.

### Does the Sync Energy EV Charger support V2H or V2G?

No. Sync Energy does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for the Sync Energy EV Charger, so it charges the car only.

### How much does the Sync Energy EV Charger cost?

We do not list prices, because they change often and most people buy a charger fitted, so the price depends on the installer and your home. Ask two or three installers for a fitted price for the Sync Energy EV Charger by name. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.

## EV charger terms explained

- **Tethered charger:** A charger with the charging cable fixed to the unit.
- **Untethered (socket) charger:** A charger with a Type 2 socket instead of a fixed cable, so you plug in your own charging cable.
- **Type 2:** The standard connector for AC charging on cars sold in the UK and Europe.
- **Single-phase and three-phase:** Most UK homes have a single-phase supply, which limits a home charger to about 7 kW (32 A). A 22 kW charger needs a three-phase supply, and the car must accept 22 kW on AC to use it.
- **kW and kWh:** kW is charging power; kWh is energy. A 7 kW charger adds up to about 7 kWh an hour, less charging losses.
- **Solar charging:** A mode that varies the charging current to follow surplus solar generation, measured by a sensor on your supply, so the car uses power you would otherwise export.
- **CT clamp:** A current sensor clipped around a supply cable. It tells the charger how much power the home is importing or exporting.
- **PEN fault protection:** Protection that disconnects the charger if the combined neutral and earth (PEN) conductor in the supply fails. Chargers with it built in can usually be installed without an earth rod; your installer confirms what your supply needs.
- **RCD and RCBO:** Devices that cut the power if current leaks to earth. Some chargers need a Type A RCD or RCBO fitted at the consumer unit; the maker's installation notes say which.
- **OCPP:** Open Charge Point Protocol, an open standard that lets a charger connect to a third-party management platform as well as the maker's app.
- **Vehicle-to-grid (V2G) and vehicle-to-home (V2H):** Sending power from the car's battery back to the grid or the home. It needs a bidirectional charger, a compatible car and approval from your network operator, and V2G also needs a supplier offer.
- **Smart tariff charger list:** The chargers an energy supplier says it can control for its smart EV tariff, such as Octopus's list for Intelligent Octopus Go. Suppliers add and remove chargers, so we show the date we checked.
- **EV chargepoint grant:** A GOV.UK grant for people who rent, or own a flat, with private off-street parking. It can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500 (checked 4 October 2026).

## Sources and how we check

- [Sync Energy, EV Charger range and specification overview](https://sync.energy/range/1409126)
- [Sync Energy, online shop: EV Charger models](https://store.sync.energy/products/ev-chargers-7-4-22kw)
- [Sync Energy (Luceco plc), home page](https://sync.energy/)
- [Octopus Energy, Intelligent Octopus Go supported chargers](https://octopus.energy/smart/intelligent-octopus-go/)
- [E.ON Next, Next Drive Smart supported chargers](https://www.eonnext.com/tariffs/next-drive/smart)
- [OVO Energy, Charge Anytime compatible EVs and smart chargers](https://www.ovoenergy.com/electric-cars/charge-anytime-cars-and-chargers)

Cite as: Best Chargers, "Sync Energy EV Charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/sync-ev/
