
How fast does it charge?
7.4 kWAbout 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.
- 7.4 kW single-phase
The Humax MX7 is a charger you have fitted at home to charge an electric car, and it can also use spare power from solar panels. It charges at 7.4 kW, the usual speed for a home charger: about 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in. It works with overnight EV tariffs that only need a timer, but it is not on the Octopus, E.ON Next or OVO smart tariff lists.
Updated . We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first. How we check

The questions most people start with, answered from Humax's own documents.

About 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.

You can choose a fixed cable (5 m or 7.5 m), or a socket where you plug in your own cable. Installers call a fixed cable "tethered" and a socket "untethered".

Octopus does not list it as a charger, so Intelligent Octopus Go would need a car Octopus supports instead. E.ON Next and OVO do not list it either. It works with any overnight tariff that only needs a timer, such as EDF GoElectric.
OctopusNot listed
E.ON NextNot listed
OVONot listed
It can charge your car with spare power from your panels, instead of sending it back to the grid.

It uses the Type 2 connector, which most electric cars sold in the UK use. Check the charging socket on your car, or ask your installer.

Humax says its hardware is ready for vehicle-to-grid (V2G), but the feature is not active yet.

It connects by Wi-Fi and has no mobile data, so check your Wi-Fi reaches the driveway.

It has a built-in safety feature (Humax calls it PEN fault protection) that usually means no earth rod is needed. Your installer checks all of this first.

5 years, when registered online.
As published by Humax, checked October 2026.
| Power | 7.4 kW single-phase |
|---|---|
| Connector | Type 2 socket (H95-0132) or tethered Type 2, 5 m or 7.5 m (H95-0131) |
| Solar charging | SolarSmart (Auto Solar); CT clamp in the box |
| Load management | Dynamic load balancing |
| Protection | Built-in PEN fault protection; tamper switch; temperature sensor |
| Vehicle identification | Yes, via built-in PLC module |
| Bidirectional | V2G-ready hardware (PLC, ISO 15118); not yet commercially supported |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth |
| Access | Humax Charge app; 2 RFID cards supplied |
| Enclosure | ABS, IP65 |
| Colour | Black |
| Warranty | 5 years when registered online |
The three that share the most charger types with it, then any charger you choose, spec by spec.

Andersen's smallest charger, available at 7 kW or 22 kW with a socket or tethered cable, 11 colours and a 7-year warranty.

A 7.36 kW charger designed in the UK by Cord, with a socket or a 5 m, 8 m or 12 m tethered cable, Wi-Fi and 4G built in, and a 5-year product warranty.

A 7.2 kW single-phase charger from EO, the size of an A5 notepad, with CT clamps for solar and power balancing included and an app now run by ev.energy.
| Feature | Humax MX7 | Andersen Quartz | Cord Zero | EO Mini Pro 3 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Max power | 7.4 kW | 7 kW / 22 kW | 7.36 kW | 7.2 kW |
| 22 kW three-phase version | No | Yes | No | No |
| Cable | Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m / 7.5 m | Type 2 socket or tethered 5.5 m / 8.5 m (6.5 m on 22 kW) | Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m / 8 m / 12 m | Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m |
| Solar charging | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Load management | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| PEN fault protection | Built in | Built in | Built in | Built in |
| Smart tariff lists (Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next) | Not listed | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) | Not listed |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (set-up only) | Wi-Fi, 4G | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, GSM (mobile) |
| OCPP | Not stated | Not stated | OCPP 1.6 | OCPP (used for the ev.energy app) |
| RFID | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Not stated |
| Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-home | Hardware ready, not yet active | No | No | No |
| Ingress and impact rating | IP65 | IP65 (enclosure) | IP54 (socket) / IP65 (tethered), IK08 | IP56/IP54 (as stated by EO) |
| Dimensions | Not stated | 286 x 172 x 110 mm | 320 x 210 x 132 mm | 230 x 151 x 125 mm |
| Warranty | 5 years (when registered online) | 7 years | 5 years (product) | Not stated |
Every feature, from Humax's datasheet, manual and product pages.
The MX7 is a single-phase home charger from Humax, sold through Humax Direct with or without installation. It comes as a socket version or a tethered version with a 5 m or 7.5 m cable, in black. Its distinguishing features are vehicle identification, which uses a PLC module to recognise approved cars, and V2G-ready hardware that is not yet active.
The MX7 charges at up to 7.4 kW on a single-phase supply. There is no three-phase version. The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.
The socket version (SKU H95-0132) has a Type 2 socket. The tethered version (SKU H95-0131) has a Type 2 cable of 5 m or 7.5 m.
Humax calls its solar feature SolarSmart, or Auto Solar. It sends surplus solar power to the car once the home's own energy needs are met. A CT clamp and connector are supplied in the box.
Humax says the built-in PLC module recognises your car when it is plugged in, so only approved vehicles can charge, and that charging is blocked and you are notified if an unrecognised car is plugged in. Humax says this can also separate personal and company-car charging for reimbursement.
The MX7 includes a PLC module and supports the ISO 15118 protocol, which Humax describes as V2G-hardware ready. Humax also states that V2G and V2H are "currently not commercially supported": AC-based V2G and V2H need the car and charger to be approved by the network operator, and the software and certification are still in progress. Humax says the MX7 cannot currently provide home backup power during an outage.
The Humax Charge app starts and stops charging remotely, shows charging history and energy use, manages schedules and handles multiple vehicles. Humax says tariff management prioritises off-peak electricity rates.
On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026), Humax is not listed by Octopus for Intelligent Octopus Go, by OVO for Charge Anytime, or by E.ON Next for Next Drive Smart. Octopus and OVO can also connect through compatible cars rather than the charger.
Humax lists built-in dynamic load balancing to keep charging within the home's available supply, and built-in PEN fault protection, stating that no earth rod is required. The charger has a tamper switch and a built-in temperature sensor. Humax Direct's standard installation includes up to 10 m of cabling, mounting on a suitable wall, protection equipment, testing, commissioning and notifications.
The MX7 connects over Wi-Fi and Bluetooth. Humax recommends a stable Wi-Fi connection at the charger for app features, remote control and updates, and says basic charging works without an internet connection. Two RFID cards are supplied.
Humax lists an IP65 rating and an ABS body, with adjustable LED brightness and a digital security lock. Humax does not publish dimensions, weight or an impact rating on the product pages we checked.
Humax Direct lists a 5-year warranty when the product is registered online.
Pick your car, how far you drive and a tariff. We use your car's own figures from our electric car data, the 26.32p price cap average as the standard rate, and the Humax MX7's 7.4 kW for the charging time.
Charging 8,000 miles a year at home on Intelligent Octopus Go costs about £157, against £515 at the standard rate.
Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT; they vary by region and change often, so check with the supplier.
Three steps from here to your first charge at home.
You need somewhere to park off the street, such as a driveway or garage. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.
Browse EV charger installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating, and ask for the Humax MX7 by name.
The installer checks your fuse box and earthing, fits the charger on its own circuit, tells your local network operator and connects it to the app.
Updated . We try to compare features of chargers and user experiences. We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first.
Cite this page: Best Chargers, "Humax MX7 EV charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/humax-mx7/. Also as Markdown and JSON.
Every charger we compare, A to Z. Swipe or use the arrows to browse.