
How fast does it charge?
7.4 kWAbout 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.
- 7.4 kW single-phase
The VCHRGD Seven Pro is a charger you have fitted at home to charge an electric car, and it can also use spare power from solar panels. It charges at 7.4 kW, the usual speed for a home charger: about 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in. Octopus lists it for its smart EV tariffs, which charge the car when electricity is cheap.
Updated . We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first. How we check

The questions most people start with, answered from VCHRGD's own documents.

About 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.

You can choose a fixed cable (7.5 m), or a socket where you plug in your own cable. Installers call a fixed cable "tethered" and a socket "untethered".

Octopus lists it, so Octopus can run its charging at cheap times for you. E.ON Next and OVO do not list it. It works with any overnight tariff that only needs a timer, such as EDF GoElectric.
OctopusLists it
E.ON NextNot listed
OVONot listed
It can charge your car with spare power from your panels, instead of sending it back to the grid.

It uses the Type 2 connector, which most electric cars sold in the UK use. Check the charging socket on your car, or ask your installer.

VCHRGD does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for it, so it charges the car only. Chargers with vehicle-to-grid hardware.

It has mobile data built in (or as an option), so it can stay connected even if your Wi-Fi does not reach the driveway.

It has a built-in safety feature (VCHRGD calls it PEN fault protection) that usually means no earth rod is needed. It also needs a safety switch (an RCD) fitted in your fuse box. Your installer checks all of this first.

3 years.
As published by VCHRGD, checked October 2026.
| Power | 7.4 kW (32 A) single-phase, 230 VAdjustable from 6 A to 32 A; datasheet table states 'up to 32 A (7 kW)' |
|---|---|
| Connector | Universal Type 2 socket or tethered Type 2 cable (7.5 m) |
| Load management | Hard-wired dynamic load balancing; CT clamp supplied (Eastron 120 A) |
| Solar charging | Yes, via one or two CT inputs |
| Protection | PEN protection (BS 7671 722.411.4.1); 6 mA DC leakage (RDC-DD); under and over voltage, temperature and current2-pole Type A RCBO required |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz), Bluetooth, RFID; 4G optional |
| OCPP | OCPP 1.6J |
| Dimensions | 300 x 180 x 90 mm (datasheet table)The datasheet's dimension drawing shows 319 x 180 x 105 mm |
| Weight | About 3 kg without cable, 4 kg with cable |
| Ingress and impact | IP54, IK10 |
| Operating temperature | -25°C to 50°C |
| Standby power | Under 2.5 W |
| Warranty | 3 years |
The three that share the most charger types with it, then any charger you choose, spec by spec.

A 7.36 kW charger designed in the UK by Cord, with a socket or a 5 m, 8 m or 12 m tethered cable, Wi-Fi and 4G built in, and a 5-year product warranty.

The Sync Energy EV Charger from Luceco plc, sold socketed or with a 7.5 m cable, with Wi-Fi, Ethernet and optional 4G, and listed by Octopus for Intelligent Octopus Go.

Andersen's smallest charger, available at 7 kW or 22 kW with a socket or tethered cable, 11 colours and a 7-year warranty.
| Feature | VCHRGD Seven Pro | Cord Zero | Sync Energy EV Charger | Andersen Quartz |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Max power | 7.4 kW | 7.36 kW | 7.4 kW | 7 kW / 22 kW |
| 22 kW three-phase version | No | No | No | Yes |
| Cable | Type 2 socket or tethered 7.5 m | Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m / 8 m / 12 m | Type 2 socket or tethered 7.5 m | Type 2 socket or tethered 5.5 m / 8.5 m (6.5 m on 22 kW) |
| Solar charging | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Load management | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| PEN fault protection | Built in | Built in | Built in | Built in |
| Smart tariff lists (Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, 4G (optional) | Wi-Fi, 4G | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, 4G (selected models) | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (set-up only) |
| OCPP | OCPP 1.6J | OCPP 1.6 | OCPP 1.6J | Not stated |
| RFID | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
| Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-home | No | No | No | No |
| Ingress and impact rating | IP54, IK10 | IP54 (socket) / IP65 (tethered), IK08 | Not stated | IP65 (enclosure) |
| Dimensions | 300 x 180 x 90 mm | 320 x 210 x 132 mm | Not stated | 286 x 172 x 110 mm |
| Warranty | 3 years | 5 years (product) | 3 years (on-site) | 7 years |
Every feature, from VCHRGD's datasheet, manual and product pages.
The Seven Pro is a single-phase home charger from VCHRGD Technologies, based in Bourne End, Buckinghamshire. It comes untethered with a Type 2 socket or tethered with a 7.5 m cable, in a two-tone matte and gloss black finish, and uses a modular push-fit design that VCHRGD says simplifies installation and maintenance.
VCHRGD lists 7.4 kW smart charging at 32 A on a 230 V single-phase supply, adjustable from 6 A to 32 A. There is no three-phase Seven Pro; VCHRGD also sells a model called the TwentyTwo Pro. The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.
The untethered version has a universal Type 2 socket with a cable lock, which VCHRGD says turns it into a tethered charger at the touch of a button. The tethered version has a 7.5 m Type 2 cable. (The datasheet's feature page also mentions a 5 m option.)
The datasheet says the charger monitors solar export so you can charge from surplus solar, using one or two CT inputs. One CT clamp is supplied as standard and a second can be ordered.
The Seven Pro is controlled through the VCHRGD Home app. It is OCPP 1.6J compliant, and VCHRGD lists compatibility with the WEVO, Fuuse, Powerverse, Clenergy and Tap Electric platforms.
On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026):
The Seven Pro has hard-wired dynamic load balancing using the supplied CT clamp. Built-in protection covers PEN faults (to BS 7671 regulation 722.411.4.1), 6 mA DC leakage (RDC-DD), and under and over voltage, temperature and current. A 2-pole Type A RCBO is required on the supply. It can be wall or pedestal mounted.
The charger has Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz, WPA2), encrypted Bluetooth and an RFID reader; 4G is optional. Two RFID cards are supplied, which authorise charging with the app or in standalone RFID mode when there is no data connection.
The datasheet's specification table gives dimensions of 300 x 180 x 90 mm, while its dimension drawing shows 319 x 180 x 105 mm. It weighs about 3 kg without a cable and 4 kg with one. The ABS casing is rated IP54 and IK10, and operates from -25°C to 50°C. Standby consumption is under 2.5 W.
VCHRGD gives a 3-year warranty and offers warranty registration online.
Pick your car, how far you drive and a tariff. We use your car's own figures from our electric car data, the 26.32p price cap average as the standard rate, and the VCHRGD Seven Pro's 7.4 kW for the charging time.
Charging 8,000 miles a year at home on Intelligent Octopus Go costs about £157, against £515 at the standard rate.
Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT; they vary by region and change often, so check with the supplier.
Three steps from here to your first charge at home.
You need somewhere to park off the street, such as a driveway or garage. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.
Browse EV charger installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating, and ask for the VCHRGD Seven Pro by name.
The installer checks your fuse box and earthing, fits the charger on its own circuit, tells your local network operator and connects it to the app.
Updated . We try to compare features of chargers and user experiences. We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first.
Cite this page: Best Chargers, "VCHRGD Seven Pro EV charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/vchrgd-seven-pro/. Also as Markdown and JSON.
Every charger we compare, A to Z. Swipe or use the arrows to browse.