
How fast does it charge?
7.36 kWAbout 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 12 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.
- 7.36 kW single-phase
The Cord Zero is a charger you have fitted at home to charge an electric car, and it can also use spare power from solar panels. It charges at 7.36 kW, the usual speed for a home charger: about 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in. Octopus and OVO list it for their smart EV tariffs, which charge the car when electricity is cheap.
Updated . We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first. How we check

The questions most people start with, answered from Cord's own documents.

About 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 12 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.

You can choose a fixed cable (5 m, 8 m or 12 m), or a socket where you plug in your own cable. Installers call a fixed cable "tethered" and a socket "untethered".

Octopus lists it, so Octopus can run its charging at cheap times for you. OVO lists it too. It works with any overnight tariff that only needs a timer, such as EDF GoElectric.
OctopusLists it
E.ON NextNot listed
OVOLists it
It can charge your car with spare power from your panels, instead of sending it back to the grid.

It uses the Type 2 connector, which most electric cars sold in the UK use. Check the charging socket on your car, or ask your installer.

Cord does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for it, so it charges the car only. Chargers with vehicle-to-grid hardware.

It has mobile data built in (or as an option), so it can stay connected even if your Wi-Fi does not reach the driveway.

It has a built-in safety feature (Cord calls it PEN fault protection) that usually means no earth rod is needed. Your installer checks all of this first.

5 years, product.
As published by Cord, checked October 2026.
| Power | 7.36 kW, 32 A single-phase230 V AC, 50/60Hz |
|---|---|
| Connector | Type 2 socket (app cable lock) or tethered Type 2 cable 5 m, 8 m or 12 m |
| Protection | Type A RCD with 6 mA DC; PEN fault, surge, over/under voltage, over/under frequency and over-temperature protection |
| Load management | Dynamic load balancing; CT clamp included |
| Solar charging | Solar compatible; home battery compatible |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) and 4G, automatic switching |
| OCPP | OCPP 1.6 |
| Access | RFID (13.56 MHz) |
| Dimensions (L x W x D) | 320 x 210 x 132 mm |
| Enclosure | PC943; RGB LED |
| Ingress and impact | IP54 socketed, IP65 tethered; IK08 |
| Operating temperature | -30°C to +50°C |
| Mounting | Wall; post at extra cost |
| Warranty | 5-year product warranty |
The three that share the most charger types with it, then any charger you choose, spec by spec.

The Sync Energy EV Charger from Luceco plc, sold socketed or with a 7.5 m cable, with Wi-Fi, Ethernet and optional 4G, and listed by Octopus for Intelligent Octopus Go.

A 7.4 kW single-phase charger from VCHRGD with a push-fit design, CT clamp, RFID reader and OCPP 1.6J, listed by Octopus for Intelligent Octopus Go.

Andersen's smallest charger, available at 7 kW or 22 kW with a socket or tethered cable, 11 colours and a 7-year warranty.
| Feature | Cord Zero | Sync Energy EV Charger | VCHRGD Seven Pro | Andersen Quartz |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Max power | 7.36 kW | 7.4 kW | 7.4 kW | 7 kW / 22 kW |
| 22 kW three-phase version | No | No | No | Yes |
| Cable | Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m / 8 m / 12 m | Type 2 socket or tethered 7.5 m | Type 2 socket or tethered 7.5 m | Type 2 socket or tethered 5.5 m / 8.5 m (6.5 m on 22 kW) |
| Solar charging | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Load management | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
| PEN fault protection | Built in | Built in | Built in | Built in |
| Smart tariff lists (Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi, 4G | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, 4G (selected models) | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, 4G (optional) | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (set-up only) |
| OCPP | OCPP 1.6 | OCPP 1.6J | OCPP 1.6J | Not stated |
| RFID | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Not stated |
| Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-home | No | No | No | No |
| Ingress and impact rating | IP54 (socket) / IP65 (tethered), IK08 | Not stated | IP54, IK10 | IP65 (enclosure) |
| Dimensions | 320 x 210 x 132 mm | Not stated | 300 x 180 x 90 mm | 286 x 172 x 110 mm |
| Warranty | 5 years (product) | 3 years (on-site) | 3 years | 7 years |
Every feature, from Cord's datasheet, manual and product pages.
The Cord Zero is a home charger designed in the UK by Cord, a company set up in 2023 that sells chargers, cables and installation. It comes socketed (untethered) or tethered with a 5 m, 8 m or 12 m cable, in black, with Wi-Fi and 4G built in.
Cord's specification lists a maximum output of 7.36 kW and 32 A on a 230 V single-phase supply. There is no three-phase Cord Zero. The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.
The socketed version has a Type 2 socket. Cord says you can lock your cable into it from the app, and that with the right cable it suits Type 1 cars as well as Type 2. The tethered version has a Type 2 cable of 5 m, 8 m or 12 m.
Cord lists the Cord Zero as solar compatible and home battery compatible.
The Cord app schedules charging into your tariff's cheap window, starts or stops charging remotely over Wi-Fi or 4G, and tracks the cost of each charge, with Allstar and Rightcharge integration for business mileage. Cord also runs Cord Rewards, powered by Raya, which pays for charging overnight; Cord says rewards are not guaranteed.
On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026):
Cord lists dynamic load balancing, and a CT clamp is included with the charger. Built-in protection covers residual current (Type A RCD with 6 mA DC protection), PEN faults, surges, over and under voltage, over and under frequency, and over-temperature. Cord's standard installation includes fitting the CT clamp and a surge protection device (SPD) and applying to the network operator. The charger mounts on a wall, or on a post at extra cost.
The Cord Zero has Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) and 4G built in and switches between them automatically. It supports OCPP 1.6 and has an RFID reader; Cord supplies RFID fobs, which can authorise charging without an internet connection.
The Cord Zero measures 320 x 210 x 132 mm (length x width x depth). The PC943 enclosure is rated IK08; the socketed version is rated IP54 and the tethered version IP65. It operates from -30°C to +50°C and shows its status with an RGB LED.
Cord gives a 5-year product warranty with every Cord Zero. Cord's standard installation carries a 3-year installation warranty.
Pick your car, how far you drive and a tariff. We use your car's own figures from our electric car data, the 26.32p price cap average as the standard rate, and the Cord Zero's 7.36 kW for the charging time.
Charging 8,000 miles a year at home on Intelligent Octopus Go costs about £157, against £515 at the standard rate.
Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT; they vary by region and change often, so check with the supplier.
Three steps from here to your first charge at home.
You need somewhere to park off the street, such as a driveway or garage. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.
Browse EV charger installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating, and ask for the Cord Zero by name.
The installer checks your fuse box and earthing, fits the charger on its own circuit, tells your local network operator and connects it to the app.
Updated . We try to compare features of chargers and user experiences. We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first.
Cite this page: Best Chargers, "Cord Zero EV charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/cord-zero/. Also as Markdown and JSON.
Every charger we compare, A to Z. Swipe or use the arrows to browse.