
How fast does it charge?
7 kWAbout 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 12 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.
- 7 kW single-phase
The GivEnergy EV Charger is a charger you have fitted at home to charge an electric car, and it can also use spare power from solar panels. It charges at 7 kW, the usual speed for a home charger: about 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in. It works with overnight EV tariffs that only need a timer, but it is not on the Octopus, E.ON Next or OVO smart tariff lists.
Check before you buy. GivEnergy Ltd (company number 11571089) entered administration on 9 April 2026, according to Companies House. Industry reports say the company stopped trading and that the administrator said hardware warranties would not be honoured. GivEnergy's website still lists this charger with a 3-year warranty. Check who will honour the warranty and provide support before you buy, and speak to your installer if you already own one.
Updated . We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first. How we check

The questions most people start with, answered from GivEnergy's own documents.

About 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 12 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.

It comes with a fixed cable (5 m) that stays on the wall. Installers call a fixed cable "tethered" and a socket "untethered".

Octopus does not list it as a charger, so Intelligent Octopus Go would need a car Octopus supports instead. E.ON Next and OVO do not list it either. It works with any overnight tariff that only needs a timer, such as EDF GoElectric.
OctopusNot listed
E.ON NextNot listed
OVONot listed
It can charge your car with spare power from your panels, instead of sending it back to the grid.

It uses the Type 2 connector, which most electric cars sold in the UK use. Check the charging socket on your car, or ask your installer.

GivEnergy does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for it, so it charges the car only. Chargers with vehicle-to-grid hardware.

It connects by Wi-Fi or a network cable, and has no mobile data. Check your Wi-Fi reaches the driveway, or ask about running a cable.

It has a built-in safety feature (GivEnergy calls it PEN fault protection) that usually means no earth rod is needed. Your installer checks all of this first.

3 years, listed (see administration notice).
As published by GivEnergy, checked October 2026.
| Power | 7 kW / 32 A single-phase230 V AC input, 50/60Hz |
|---|---|
| Connector | Tethered Type 2 (IEC 62196-2), 5 m cable |
| Solar charging | Solar diversion for zero-export charging |
| Protection | Integrated Type B RCD and PEN fault detection |
| Connectivity | LAN and Wi-Fi |
| OCPP | OCPP 1.6J |
| Dimensions (H x W x D) | 288 x 260 x 112 mm |
| Weight | 4.5 kg |
| Ingress | IP65 |
| Operating temperature | -30°C to +55°C |
| Enclosure | PC and ASA; natural convection cooling |
| Warranty | 3 years listed by GivEnergy; see the administration notice |
The three that share the most charger types with it, then any charger you choose, spec by spec.

A 7 kW single-phase charger from Andersen with a 5.5 m cable that stores inside the housing, convenience lighting and a 7-year warranty.

Andersen's smallest charger, available at 7 kW or 22 kW with a socket or tethered cable, 11 colours and a 7-year warranty.

A 7.36 kW charger designed in the UK by Cord, with a socket or a 5 m, 8 m or 12 m tethered cable, Wi-Fi and 4G built in, and a 5-year product warranty.
| Feature | GivEnergy EV Charger | Andersen A3 | Andersen Quartz | Cord Zero |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Max power | 7 kW | 7 kW | 7 kW / 22 kW | 7.36 kW |
| 22 kW three-phase version | No | No | Yes | No |
| Cable | Tethered 5 m | Tethered 5.5 m, stored inside the unit | Type 2 socket or tethered 5.5 m / 8.5 m (6.5 m on 22 kW) | Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m / 8 m / 12 m |
| Solar charging | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Load management | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| PEN fault protection | Built in | Built in | Built in | Built in |
| Smart tariff lists (Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next) | Not listed | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi, Ethernet (LAN) | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (set-up only) | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (set-up only) | Wi-Fi, 4G |
| OCPP | OCPP 1.6J | Not stated | Not stated | OCPP 1.6 |
| RFID | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes |
| Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-home | No | No | No | No |
| Ingress and impact rating | IP65 | IP65 (enclosure) | IP65 (enclosure) | IP54 (socket) / IP65 (tethered), IK08 |
| Dimensions | 288 x 260 x 112 mm | 430 x 310 x 148 mm | 286 x 172 x 110 mm | 320 x 210 x 132 mm |
| Warranty | 3 years listed (see administration notice) | 7 years | 7 years | 5 years (product) |
Every feature, from GivEnergy's datasheet, manual and product pages.
GivEnergy Ltd (company number 11571089) has been in administration since 9 April 2026, according to Companies House, with Christopher Brooksbank appointed. Industry reports from April and July 2026 say the company stopped trading, made its staff redundant, and that the administrator said it would not honour further hardware warranties. They also report that the GivEnergy app is run by a separate company, GivEnergy Software Ltd, which was not placed in administration.
GivEnergy's website still lists the EV Charger with a 3-year warranty. If you are considering one, check who will honour the warranty and provide support before you buy. If you already own one, your installer or the seller is the first point of contact; you may also have rights under the Consumer Rights Act 2015 against the seller, and under Section 75 if you paid by credit card.
The GivEnergy EV Charger is a 7 kW single-phase charger with a tethered 5 m cable. GivEnergy describes it as a solar-diverting smart charger that can charge from excess solar, from the grid, or from a connected GivEnergy battery system.
GivEnergy lists an output of 7 kW / 32 A from a 230 V single-phase supply. There is no three-phase version. The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.
The charger has a tethered Type 2 (IEC 62196-2) connector on a 5 m cable.
GivEnergy lists solar diversion for zero-export charging, and says the charger can draw on excess solar, wind or hydro generation, or on a connected GivEnergy battery.
GivEnergy says charging can be scheduled for cheaper off-peak periods through the GivEnergy app. On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026), GivEnergy is not listed by Octopus for Intelligent Octopus Go, by OVO for Charge Anytime, or by E.ON Next for Next Drive Smart.
GivEnergy lists an integrated Type B RCD and PEN fault detection. The charger connects over LAN or Wi-Fi and is OCPP 1.6J compliant.
The charger measures 288 x 260 x 112 mm (height x width x depth) and weighs 4.5 kg. The PC and ASA enclosure is rated IP65, is cooled by natural convection and operates from -30°C to +55°C.
GivEnergy's product page lists a 3-year warranty. See the company status section above before relying on it.
Pick your car, how far you drive and a tariff. We use your car's own figures from our electric car data, the 26.32p price cap average as the standard rate, and the GivEnergy EV Charger's 7 kW for the charging time.
Charging 8,000 miles a year at home on Intelligent Octopus Go costs about £157, against £515 at the standard rate.
Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT; they vary by region and change often, so check with the supplier.
Three steps from here to your first charge at home.
You need somewhere to park off the street, such as a driveway or garage. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.
Browse EV charger installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating, and ask for the GivEnergy EV Charger by name.
The installer checks your fuse box and earthing, fits the charger on its own circuit, tells your local network operator and connects it to the app.
Updated . We try to compare features of chargers and user experiences. We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first.
Cite this page: Best Chargers, "GivEnergy EV Charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/givenergy-ev/. Also as Markdown and JSON.
Every charger we compare, A to Z. Swipe or use the arrows to browse.