
How fast does it charge?
7.4 kWAbout 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.
- 7.4 kW single-phase
The Rolec WallPod is a charger you have fitted at home to charge an electric car, and it can also use spare power from solar panels. It charges at 7.4 kW, the usual speed for a home charger: about 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in. It works with overnight EV tariffs that only need a timer, but it is not on the Octopus, E.ON Next or OVO smart tariff lists.
Updated . We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first. How we check

The questions most people start with, answered from Rolec's own documents.

About 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.

You can choose a fixed cable (5 m or 10 m), or a socket where you plug in your own cable. Installers call a fixed cable "tethered" and a socket "untethered".

Octopus does not list it as a charger, so Intelligent Octopus Go would need a car Octopus supports instead. E.ON Next and OVO do not list it either. It works with any overnight tariff that only needs a timer, such as EDF GoElectric.
OctopusNot listed
E.ON NextNot listed
OVONot listed
It can charge your car with spare power from your panels, instead of sending it back to the grid.

It uses the Type 2 connector, which most electric cars sold in the UK use. Check the charging socket on your car, or ask your installer.

Rolec does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for it, so it charges the car only. Chargers with vehicle-to-grid hardware.

It has mobile data built in (or as an option), so it can stay connected even if your Wi-Fi does not reach the driveway.

It has a built-in safety feature (Rolec calls it PEN fault protection) that usually means no earth rod is needed. It also needs a safety switch (an RCD) fitted in your fuse box. Your installer checks all of this first.

3 years.
As published by Rolec, checked October 2026.
| Power | 7.4 kW single-phase (32 A, 230 V) |
|---|---|
| Models | Socket ROLEC4020 (G/W/B); 5 m tethered ROLEC4140; 10 m tethered ROLEC4145 |
| Connector | Universal Type 2 socket or tethered Type 2 lead (5 m or 10 m)About 4.5 m or 9.5 m of lead outside the unit |
| Load management | Dynamic load balancing, CT clamp and cable included; static load management |
| Solar charging | Solar PV, battery or wind integration (app dependent) |
| Protection | 6 mA DC fault protection; PME fault detection; surge and over-temperature protection30 mA Type A RCBO required at source |
| Connectivity | 4G LTE (nano SIM, subscription), Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz), Ethernet, BLE 4.1 for installer set-up |
| OCPP | OCPP 1.6J |
| Access | Monta app, RFID card or fob, plug and go |
| Energy metering | Integrated Class 1 MID-compliant meter |
| Dimensions (W x H x D) | 179 x 367 x 142 mm |
| Weight | Under 3 kg to under 7 kg, model dependent |
| Ingress and impact | Enclosure IP65, socket IP54; IK10 |
| Operating temperature | -30°C to +50°C |
| Colours | Black, grey, white |
| Warranty | 3 years |
The three that share the most charger types with it, then any charger you choose, spec by spec.

A 7.36 kW charger designed in the UK by Cord, with a socket or a 5 m, 8 m or 12 m tethered cable, Wi-Fi and 4G built in, and a 5-year product warranty.

A 7.2 kW single-phase charger from EO, the size of an A5 notepad, with CT clamps for solar and power balancing included and an app now run by ev.energy.

A charger from Rolec with one or two outlets, in 7.4 kW single-phase or 22 kW three-phase versions, designed and manufactured in the UK.
| Feature | Rolec WallPod | Cord Zero | EO Mini Pro 3 | Rolec Zura |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Max power | 7.4 kW | 7.36 kW | 7.2 kW | 7.4 kW / 22 kW |
| 22 kW three-phase version | No | No | No | Yes |
| Cable | Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m / 10 m | Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m / 8 m / 12 m | Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m | Type 2 socket(s) or tethered 5 m / 10 m |
| Solar charging | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Load management | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| PEN fault protection | Built in | Built in | Built in | Built in |
| Smart tariff lists (Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next) | Not listed | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) | Not listed | Not listed |
| Connectivity | 4G (subscription), Wi-Fi, Ethernet | Wi-Fi, 4G | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, GSM (mobile) | 4G (subscription), Wi-Fi, Ethernet |
| OCPP | OCPP 1.6J | OCPP 1.6 | OCPP (used for the ev.energy app) | OCPP 1.6J |
| RFID | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-home | No | No | No | No |
| Ingress and impact rating | IP65 enclosure, IP54 socket, IK10 | IP54 (socket) / IP65 (tethered), IK08 | IP56/IP54 (as stated by EO) | IP65 enclosure, IP54 socket, IK08 |
| Dimensions | 179 x 367 x 142 mm | 320 x 210 x 132 mm | 230 x 151 x 125 mm | 260 x 410 x 157 mm |
| Warranty | 3 years | 5 years (product) | Not stated | 3 years |
Every feature, from Rolec's datasheet, manual and product pages.
The WallPod is a single-phase charger from Rolec Services of Boston, Lincolnshire, which says it designs and manufactures its EV chargers in the UK. It comes with a universal Type 2 socket or a tethered 5 m or 10 m lead, in black, grey or white, and Rolec says it suits both domestic and commercial sites.
The WallPod charges at up to 7.4 kW (32 A at 230 V) on a single-phase supply and will reduce its output if the supply is lower. There is no three-phase WallPod. The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.
The socket version (ROLEC4020) uses your own cable and has a cable lock that the owner can set permanently. The tethered versions have a 5 m lead (ROLEC4140) or 10 m lead (ROLEC4145); Rolec notes that roughly 4.5 m and 9.5 m respectively is outside the unit.
Rolec lists solar PV, battery storage and wind turbine integration for zero-cost charging, and marks it as an app-dependent feature.
Rolec lists the Monta app with an RFID card or fob as the WallPod's control method. The WallPod is OCPP 1.6J compliant, so it can also be run from another OCPP back-office system, and can be set up as plug and go.
On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026), Rolec is not listed by Octopus for Intelligent Octopus Go, by OVO for Charge Anytime, or by E.ON Next for Next Drive Smart.
Dynamic load balancing is supported, with a CT clamp and cable included; Rolec's technical data notes it may require additional hardware. Static load management is software configurable. The WallPod has built-in 6 mA DC fault protection, surge protection and over-temperature protection that reduces output when needed. PME fault detection is built in, so Rolec says no earth rod is required. A suitably rated 30 mA Type A RCBO, or equivalent, is required at source.
The WallPod has 4G LTE through a built-in nano SIM (subscription required), Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) and RJ45 Ethernet. Bluetooth LE 4.1 is used by installers for configuration. It supports OCPP 1.6J with TLS 1.2 encryption, over-the-air updates and dual tamper and breach notifications, and has an integrated Class 1 MID-compliant meter.
The WallPod measures 179 x 367 x 142 mm (width x height x depth) and weighs from under 3 kg to under 7 kg depending on the model. The polycarbonate enclosure is rated IP65 (the socket IP54) and IK10, and operates from -30°C to +50°C. Standby consumption is under 7.5 W. Rolec lists compliance with the Smart Charge Points regulations (SI 2021/1467).
Rolec's data sheet lists a 3-year warranty as standard.
Pick your car, how far you drive and a tariff. We use your car's own figures from our electric car data, the 26.32p price cap average as the standard rate, and the Rolec WallPod's 7.4 kW for the charging time.
Charging 8,000 miles a year at home on Intelligent Octopus Go costs about £157, against £515 at the standard rate.
Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT; they vary by region and change often, so check with the supplier.
Three steps from here to your first charge at home.
You need somewhere to park off the street, such as a driveway or garage. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.
Browse EV charger installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating, and ask for the Rolec WallPod by name.
The installer checks your fuse box and earthing, fits the charger on its own circuit, tells your local network operator and connects it to the app.
Updated . We try to compare features of chargers and user experiences. We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first.
Cite this page: Best Chargers, "Rolec WallPod EV charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/rolec-wallpod/. Also as Markdown and JSON.
Every charger we compare, A to Z. Swipe or use the arrows to browse.