Rolec EVO EV charger review

The Rolec EVO is a charger you have fitted at home to charge an electric car, and it can also use spare power from solar panels. It charges at 7.4 kW, the usual speed for a home charger: about 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in. It works with overnight EV tariffs that only need a timer, but it is not on the Octopus, E.ON Next or OVO smart tariff lists.

Updated . We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first. How we check

Ask AI about this charger
Show me

Pick a view to shorten the page. Everything stays one tap away.

Charging speed
7.4 kW about 25 to 30 miles an hour
Cable
Untethered you plug in your own cable
Rolec EVO home EV charger
Solar charging
Yes from your panels
Smart tariffs
0 of 3 Octopus, E.ON Next, OVO

Is the Rolec EVO right for you?

The questions most people start with, answered from Rolec's own documents.

How fast does it charge?

7.4 kW

About 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars. The 22 kW version needs a three-phase supply, which most homes do not have.

  • 7.4 kW single-phase
  • 22 kW three-phase

Is the Rolec EVO tethered or untethered?

Untethered

It has a socket, so you will need your own charging cable (Type 2, the usual kind). Installers call a fixed cable "tethered" and a socket "untethered".

  • Socket for your own cable

Is the Rolec EVO compatible with Intelligent Octopus Go?

Not listed

Octopus does not list it as a charger, so Intelligent Octopus Go would need a car Octopus supports instead. E.ON Next and OVO do not list it either. It works with any overnight tariff that only needs a timer, such as EDF GoElectric.

  • OctopusNot listed
  • E.ON NextNot listed
  • OVONot listed

Can it charge from solar panels?

Yes

It can charge your car with spare power from your panels, instead of sending it back to the grid.

Does it work with all electric cars?

Type 2

It uses the Type 2 connector, which most electric cars sold in the UK use. Check the charging socket on your car, or ask your installer.

Does the Rolec EVO support V2H or V2G?

No

Rolec does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for it, so it charges the car only. Chargers with vehicle-to-grid hardware.

Can it stay connected without Wi-Fi?

Yes

It has mobile data built in (or as an option), so it can stay connected even if your Wi-Fi does not reach the driveway.

  • Wi-Fi
  • Network cable
  • Mobile data (4G)

Does the Rolec EVO need an earth rod?

Usually not

It has a built-in safety feature (Rolec calls it PEN fault protection) that usually means no earth rod is needed. The faster 22 kW version needs a three-phase supply, which most homes do not have; the standard version does not. Your installer checks all of this first.

How long is the warranty?

5 years

5 years.

07 years, the longest of the 26 chargers we cover

Rolec EVO specs and dimensions

As published by Rolec, checked October 2026.

Figures as published by the manufacturer, checked October 2026. Sources are listed at the end of the page. Also as Markdown and JSON.
Power7.4 kW (32 A, 230 V single-phase) or 22 kW (32 A, 400 V three-phase)Configurable down to 6 A if the supply is limited
ModelsROLEC5011 (7.4 kW), ROLEC5013 (22 kW)
ConnectorUniversal Type 2 socket with cable lock
Charging modesECO, ECO+, Charge Now
Load managementDynamic load balancing; CT clamp and cable included on single-phaseThree-phase needs the optional CT kit
ProtectionAC 30 mA Type A and DC 6 mA; PME fault detectionPME fault detection selectable at installation on the 22 kW model
ConnectivityWi-Fi 6 (2.4 GHz), Ethernet, 4G LTE (22 kW only, subscription), BLE 5.0 for installer set-up
OCPPOCPP 1.6J
AccessROLEC EVO app, 2 RFID cards, plug and go
Energy meteringOver 98% accuracy
Dimensions (W x H x D)260 x 260 x 112 mm
WeightUnder 3 kg
Ingress and impactIP54, IK10
Operating temperature-30°C to +50°C
Standby powerUnder 5 W
ColourDaytona Grey; other colours on request
Warranty5 years

Rolec EVO vs similar chargers

The three that share the most charger types with it, then any charger you choose, spec by spec.

  • Rolec Zura

    Rolec Zura

    A charger from Rolec with one or two outlets, in 7.4 kW single-phase or 22 kW three-phase versions, designed and manufactured in the UK.

    • 7.4 kW
    • Tethered or socket
    • 3 years warranty
    • Solar compatible
    Read our full review: Rolec Zura
  • Andersen Quartz

    Andersen Quartz

    Andersen's smallest charger, available at 7 kW or 22 kW with a socket or tethered cable, 11 colours and a 7-year warranty.

    • 7 kW
    • Tethered or socket
    • 7 years warranty
    • Solar compatible
    Read our full review: Andersen Quartz
  • Cord Zero

    Cord Zero

    A 7.36 kW charger designed in the UK by Cord, with a socket or a 5 m, 8 m or 12 m tethered cable, Wi-Fi and 4G built in, and a 5-year product warranty.

    • 7.36 kW
    • Tethered or socket
    • 5 years warranty
    • Solar compatible
    Read our full review: Cord Zero

Rolec EVO vs Rolec Zura, Andersen Quartz and Cord Zero

Choose any three of the 26 chargers we cover to set beside it, spec by spec.

FeatureRolec EVORolec ZuraAndersen QuartzCord Zero
Max power7.4 kW / 22 kW7.4 kW / 22 kW7 kW / 22 kW7.36 kW
22 kW three-phase versionYesYesYesNo
CableType 2 socket with cable lockType 2 socket(s) or tethered 5 m / 10 mType 2 socket or tethered 5.5 m / 8.5 m (6.5 m on 22 kW)Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m / 8 m / 12 m
Solar chargingYesYesYesYes
Load managementYesYesYesYes
PEN fault protectionBuilt inBuilt inBuilt inBuilt in
Smart tariff lists (Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next)Not listedNot listedOctopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime)Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime)
ConnectivityWi-Fi, Ethernet, 4G (22 kW model only, subscription)4G (subscription), Wi-Fi, EthernetWi-Fi, Bluetooth (set-up only)Wi-Fi, 4G
OCPPOCPP 1.6JOCPP 1.6JNot statedOCPP 1.6
RFIDYesYesNot statedYes
Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-homeNoNoNoNo
Ingress and impact ratingIP54, IK10IP65 enclosure, IP54 socket, IK08IP65 (enclosure)IP54 (socket) / IP65 (tethered), IK08
Dimensions260 x 260 x 112 mm260 x 410 x 157 mm286 x 172 x 110 mm320 x 210 x 132 mm
Warranty5 years3 years7 years5 years (product)

Rolec EVO features explained

Every feature, from Rolec's datasheet, manual and product pages.

What is the Rolec EVO?

The EVO is a home charger from Rolec Services, which is based in Boston, Lincolnshire. It comes in a 7.4 kW single-phase model (ROLEC5011) and a 22 kW three-phase model (ROLEC5013), both with a universal Type 2 socket, and Rolec says it suits domestic and light commercial installations.

Charging power: 7.4 kW single-phase, 22 kW three-phase

The single-phase model charges at up to 7.4 kW (32 A at 230 V) and the three-phase model at up to 22 kW (32 A per phase at 400 V). The 22 kW model needs a three-phase supply and can switch from three-phase to single-phase charging. If the supply is limited, either can be set to a lower output, down to 6 A. The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.

Untethered: a Type 2 socket

Both models have a universal Type 2 socket, so you use your own cable. A cable lock holds the cable in place, and the owner can lock it permanently. Rolec sells 5 m and 10 m Type 2 cables and a holster as accessories.

Solar charging with CT clamps

Rolec lists three charging modes:

  • ECO uses solar by day and scheduled grid power at night.
  • ECO+ only uses surplus solar power, for what Rolec calls a 100% renewable charge.
  • Charge Now charges at maximum power at any time.

Smart charging with Octopus, E.ON Next and OVO

The free ROLEC EVO app sets charging schedules and off-peak charging, and Rolec says it can integrate with smart tariffs. The EVO is also OCPP 1.6J compliant, so it can be connected to another OCPP app or charge point management system instead.

On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026), Rolec is not listed by Octopus for Intelligent Octopus Go, by OVO for Charge Anytime, or by E.ON Next for Next Drive Smart.

Load balancing, earthing and installation

The EVO supports dynamic load balancing. A CT clamp and cable are included with single-phase models; three-phase models need an optional CT kit. Built-in protection is AC 30 mA Type A and DC 6 mA residual current protection (with a test button), plus surge and over-temperature protection. PME fault detection is built in, so Rolec says no earth rod is required; on the 22 kW model it is selectable at installation. Rolec lists installation in under 15 minutes and wall or post mounting.

App, Wi-Fi and connectivity

Both models have Wi-Fi 6 (2.4 GHz) and RJ45 Ethernet. The 22 kW model also has 4G LTE through a built-in nano SIM, which needs a subscription. Bluetooth LE 5.0 is used by installers for configuration. Two RFID cards are included, and the EVO also works as plug and go. Rolec lists tamper and breach notifications and over-the-air updates.

Size and dimensions: 260 x 260 x 112 mm

The EVO measures 260 x 260 x 112 mm (width x height x depth) and weighs under 3 kg. The PC/ABS enclosure is rated IP54 and IK10, with an aluminium heat sink, and operates from -30°C to +50°C. Standby consumption is under 5 W and energy metering is listed at over 98% accuracy. The standard colour is Daytona Grey, with other colours on request. Rolec lists compliance with the Smart Charge Points regulations (SI 2021/1467).

Warranty: 5 years

Rolec's data sheet lists a 5-year warranty as standard.

Rolec EVO charging time and costs

Pick your car, how far you drive and a tariff. We use your car's own figures from our electric car data, the 26.32p price cap average as the standard rate, and the Rolec EVO's 7.4 kW for the charging time.

8,000
You would pay about this much less £359

Charging 8,000 miles a year at home on Intelligent Octopus Go costs about £157, against £515 at the standard rate.

Intelligent Octopus Go, 8p£157 a year
Standard rate, 26.32p£515 a year
A 30% to 80% top-up on the Rolec EVO
5h 21m at 7.4 kW, adding about 162 miles

Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT; they vary by region and change often, so check with the supplier.

Rolec EVO installation

Three steps from here to your first charge at home.

  1. Check you can have one

    You need somewhere to park off the street, such as a driveway or garage. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.

  2. Find a local installer

    Browse EV charger installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating, and ask for the Rolec EVO by name.

  3. They fit it and set it up

    The installer checks your fuse box and earthing, fits the charger on its own circuit, tells your local network operator and connects it to the app.

Find EV charger installers near you

Installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating.

By city: London Manchester Birmingham Leeds Glasgow Bristol

Find installers

Rolec EVO FAQs

How long does the Rolec EVO take to charge a car?
At 7.4 kW it adds about 25 to 30 miles of range an hour. A typical top-up of about 162 miles takes about 5h 21m, so it fits in a night. A full charge from empty takes about 10 to 11 hours for most cars. Your car's battery size changes this.
Do I need solar panels to use it?
No. It charges like any home charger without them. Using spare solar power is an extra for homes that have panels.
Is there a grant for a home EV charger?
If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500. Check on GOV.UK (checked 4 October 2026). Homeowners in houses are not eligible.
Who can install the Rolec EVO?
A qualified electrician who installs EV chargers. They check your fuse box and earthing, fit it on its own circuit, tell your local network operator, and set it up in the app. Our directory lists EV charger installers in 50 UK cities with their Google ratings.
Is there a tethered Rolec EVO?
No. Both EVO models have a universal Type 2 socket with a cable lock, which the owner can set to lock the cable in permanently. Rolec sells Type 2 cables as accessories.
Can the Rolec EVO charge from solar?
Yes. Rolec lists three modes: ECO uses solar by day and scheduled grid power at night, ECO+ only uses surplus solar, and Charge Now charges at maximum power at any time.
Does the Rolec EVO have 4G?
Only the 22 kW three-phase model has 4G, through a built-in nano SIM that needs a subscription. Both models have Wi-Fi and Ethernet.
Does the Rolec EVO need an earth rod?
Rolec says the EVO has built-in PME fault detection, so no earth rod is required. On the 22 kW model it is selectable at installation.
How much does the Rolec EVO cost?
We do not list prices, because they change often and most people buy a charger fitted, so the price depends on the installer and your home. Ask two or three installers for a fitted price for the Rolec EVO by name. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.

Sources and how we check

Updated . We try to compare features of chargers and user experiences. We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first.

Cite this page: Best Chargers, "Rolec EVO EV charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/rolec-evo/. Also as Markdown and JSON.

Home EV chargers, A to Z

Every charger we compare, A to Z. Swipe or use the arrows to browse.

Show me

Pick a view
Essential
Needed for the site to work. Always on.