
How fast does it charge?
7.4 kWAbout 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.
- 7.4 kW single-phase
The Indra Smart LUX is a charger you have fitted at home to charge an electric car, and it can also use spare power from solar panels. It charges at 7.4 kW, the usual speed for a home charger: about 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in. Octopus, E.ON Next and OVO list it for their smart EV tariffs, which charge the car when electricity is cheap.
Updated . We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first. How we check

The questions most people start with, answered from Indra's own documents.

About 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.

It comes with a fixed cable (6 m or 10 m) that stays on the wall. Installers call a fixed cable "tethered" and a socket "untethered".

Octopus lists it, so Octopus can run its charging at cheap times for you. E.ON Next and OVO list it too. It works with any overnight tariff that only needs a timer, such as EDF GoElectric.
OctopusLists it
E.ON NextLists it
OVOLists it
It can charge your car with spare power from your panels, instead of sending it back to the grid.

It uses the Type 2 connector, which most electric cars sold in the UK use. Check the charging socket on your car, or ask your installer.

Indra does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for it, so it charges the car only. Chargers with vehicle-to-grid hardware.

It has mobile data built in (or as an option), so it can stay connected even if your Wi-Fi does not reach the driveway.

It has a built-in safety feature (Indra calls it PEN fault protection) that usually means no earth rod is needed. Your installer checks all of this first.

3 years.
As published by Indra, checked October 2026.
| Power | 7.4 kW single-phase230 V AC, 6 A to 32 A variable, 50Hz |
|---|---|
| Connector | Tethered Type 2 cable, 6 m or 10 m |
| Protection | 6 mA DC leakage detection, O-PEN fault detection |
| Solar charging | Yes |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi; Ethernet or cellular at additional cost |
| User interface | Membrane panel and Indra app |
| Dimensions (W x H x D) | 201 x 306 x 78 mm |
| Weight | 3.6 kg (6 m cable) |
| Ingress and impact | IP67, IK10 |
| Operating temperature | -20°C to 50°C |
| Standby power | 5 W |
| Colours | Indra White, Symphony Black, Malvern Stone, Elgar Grey |
| Warranty | 3 years |
The three that share the most charger types with it, then any charger you choose, spec by spec.

A 7.36 kW charger designed in the UK by Cord, with a socket or a 5 m, 8 m or 12 m tethered cable, Wi-Fi and 4G built in, and a 5-year product warranty.

A 7.4 kW tethered charger from Ohme with a colour screen and a built-in mobile data SIM, which Octopus lists as supported for Intelligent Octopus Go.

The Sync Energy EV Charger from Luceco plc, sold socketed or with a 7.5 m cable, with Wi-Fi, Ethernet and optional 4G, and listed by Octopus for Intelligent Octopus Go.
| Feature | Indra Smart LUX | Cord Zero | Ohme Home Pro | Sync Energy EV Charger |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Max power | 7.4 kW | 7.36 kW | 7.4 kW | 7.4 kW |
| 22 kW three-phase version | No | No | No | No |
| Cable | Tethered 6 m or 10 m | Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m / 8 m / 12 m | Tethered 5 m (8 m option) | Type 2 socket or tethered 7.5 m |
| Solar charging | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Load management | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| PEN fault protection | Built in | Built in | Built in | Built in |
| Smart tariff lists (Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime); E.ON Next (Next Drive Smart) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go) |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi, Ethernet (extra cost), Cellular (extra cost) | Wi-Fi, 4G | 4G (multi-network SIM) | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, 4G (selected models) |
| OCPP | Not stated | OCPP 1.6 | Not stated | OCPP 1.6J |
| RFID | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
| Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-home | No | No | No | No |
| Ingress and impact rating | IP67, IK10 | IP54 (socket) / IP65 (tethered), IK08 | IP55, IK08 | Not stated |
| Dimensions | 201 x 306 x 78 mm | 320 x 210 x 132 mm | 170 x 200 x 100 mm | Not stated |
| Warranty | 3 years | 5 years (product) | 3 years | 3 years (on-site) |
Every feature, from Indra's datasheet, manual and product pages.
The Smart LUX is Indra's tethered home charger. It charges at up to 7.4 kW on a single-phase supply, has a built-in 6 m or 10 m cable and is 78 mm deep. It comes in Indra White, Symphony Black, Malvern Stone and Elgar Grey. Indra, based in Malvern, Worcestershire, says it designs and builds every product in the UK.
Indra lists a maximum output of 7.4 kW on a 230 V single-phase supply, with output current variable from 6 A to 32 A. There is no three-phase version. The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.
The Smart LUX is tethered only, with a Type 2 cable of 6 m or 10 m. Indra says the recessed profile lets the cable wrap around the unit. Indra's untethered charger is the Smart PRO.
Indra lists solar charging for the Smart LUX, using surplus energy from solar panels to charge the car, managed in the Indra app.
The Indra app sets charging schedules, locks or unlocks the charger remotely, has a Boost function and tracks costs.
On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026):
Indra lists the Smart LUX's protection as 6 mA DC leakage detection and O-PEN fault detection, and includes G100 in its list of compliance standards. Installation is included in Indra's own fully installed price for a standard installation.
The Smart LUX connects over Wi-Fi as standard; Ethernet or a cellular connection is available at additional cost. The user interface is a membrane panel and the Indra app. Indra lists automatic over-the-air updates. Status lights on the front change colour with the charging state.
The Smart LUX measures 201 x 306 x 78 mm (width x height x depth) and weighs 3.6 kg with the 6 m cable. It is rated IP67 and IK10, operates from -20°C to 50°C and uses 5 W on standby. Indra lists compliance with the Electric Vehicles (Smart Charge Points) Regulations 2021.
Indra lists a 3-year warranty.
Pick your car, how far you drive and a tariff. We use your car's own figures from our electric car data, the 26.32p price cap average as the standard rate, and the Indra Smart LUX's 7.4 kW for the charging time.
Charging 8,000 miles a year at home on Intelligent Octopus Go costs about £157, against £515 at the standard rate.
Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT; they vary by region and change often, so check with the supplier.
Three steps from here to your first charge at home.
You need somewhere to park off the street, such as a driveway or garage. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.
Browse EV charger installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating, and ask for the Indra Smart LUX by name.
The installer checks your fuse box and earthing, fits the charger on its own circuit, tells your local network operator and connects it to the app.
Updated . We try to compare features of chargers and user experiences. We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first.
Cite this page: Best Chargers, "Indra Smart LUX EV charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/indra-smart-lux/. Also as Markdown and JSON.
Every charger we compare, A to Z. Swipe or use the arrows to browse.