
How fast does it charge?
7.4 kWAbout 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.
- 7.4 kW single-phase
The Hypervolt Home 3 Pro is a charger you have fitted at home to charge an electric car, and it can also use spare power from solar panels. It charges at 7.4 kW, the usual speed for a home charger: about 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in. Octopus, E.ON Next and OVO list it for their smart EV tariffs, which charge the car when electricity is cheap.
Updated . We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first. How we check

The questions most people start with, answered from Hypervolt's own documents.

About 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.

It comes with a fixed cable (5 m, 7.5 m or 10 m) that stays on the wall. Installers call a fixed cable "tethered" and a socket "untethered".

Octopus lists it, so Octopus can run its charging at cheap times for you. E.ON Next and OVO list it too. It works with any overnight tariff that only needs a timer, such as EDF GoElectric.
OctopusLists it
E.ON NextLists it
OVOLists it
It can charge your car with spare power from your panels, instead of sending it back to the grid.

It uses the Type 2 connector, which most electric cars sold in the UK use. Check the charging socket on your car, or ask your installer.

Hypervolt does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for it, so it charges the car only. Chargers with vehicle-to-grid hardware.

It connects by Wi-Fi or a network cable, and has no mobile data. Check your Wi-Fi reaches the driveway, or ask about running a cable.

It has a built-in safety feature (Hypervolt calls it PEN fault protection) that usually means no earth rod is needed. Your installer checks all of this first.

3 years, optional extension to 5 years.
As published by Hypervolt, checked October 2026.
| Power | 7.4 kW single-phase, 32 A maximum230 V AC, 50Hz |
|---|---|
| Connector | Tethered Type 2 (or Type 1) cable5 m standard; 7.5 m and 10 m options (10 m Type 2 only) |
| Charging modes | Boost, Eco (solar and grid), Super Eco (solar only) |
| Load management | Automatic load management; 1 CT clamp included, 2nd sold separately |
| Protection | Internal 6 mA DC RCD; integrated PEN fault protectionExternal Type A AC protection required |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz), Bluetooth LE 4.2, optional wired Ethernet |
| Dimensions (H x W x D) | 328 x 243 x 101 mm |
| Weight | 6.2 kg (5 m), 6.9 kg (7.5 m), 7.3 kg (10 m) |
| Ingress and impact | IP66, IK10 |
| Operating temperature | -25°C to 40°C |
| Standby power | 4.2 W to 8.4 W, depending on LED brightness |
| Colours | Ultra White, Space Grey, Ultra Black front covers |
| Mounting | Wall or pole |
| Warranty | 3 years; optional extension to 5 years |
The three that share the most charger types with it, then any charger you choose, spec by spec.

A 7 kW single-phase charger from Andersen with a 5.5 m cable that stores inside the housing, convenience lighting and a 7-year warranty.

Andersen's smallest charger, available at 7 kW or 22 kW with a socket or tethered cable, 11 colours and a 7-year warranty.

A 7.36 kW charger designed in the UK by Cord, with a socket or a 5 m, 8 m or 12 m tethered cable, Wi-Fi and 4G built in, and a 5-year product warranty.
| Feature | Hypervolt Home 3 Pro | Easee One | Andersen A3 | Andersen Quartz |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Max power | 7.4 kW | 7.4 kW | 7 kW | 7 kW / 22 kW |
| 22 kW three-phase version | No | No | No | Yes |
| Cable | Tethered 5 m, 7.5 m or 10 m | Type 2 socket with app-controlled cable lock | Tethered 5.5 m, stored inside the unit | Type 2 socket or tethered 5.5 m / 8.5 m (6.5 m on 22 kW) |
| Solar charging | Yes | Yes, with an extra accessory | Yes | Yes |
| Load management | Yes | With an extra accessory | Yes | Yes |
| PEN fault protection | Built in | Built in | Built in | Built in |
| Smart tariff lists (Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime); E.ON Next (Next Drive Smart) | Not listed | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Ethernet | Wi-Fi, 4G (eSIM, LTE Cat M1), Bluetooth | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (set-up only) | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (set-up only) |
| OCPP | Not stated | OCPP 1.6 | Not stated | Not stated |
| RFID | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
| Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-home | No | No | No | No |
| Ingress and impact rating | IP66, IK10 | IP54, IK10 | IP65 (enclosure) | IP65 (enclosure) |
| Dimensions | 328 x 243 x 101 mm | 256 x 193 x 106 mm | 430 x 310 x 148 mm | 286 x 172 x 110 mm |
| Warranty | 3 years | 3 years | 7 years | 7 years |
Every feature, from Hypervolt's datasheet, manual and product pages.
The Home 3 Pro is Hypervolt's current home charger. It is a 7.4 kW single-phase unit with a tethered cable, solar charging modes and automatic load management. Hypervolt no longer manufactures the earlier Home 2.0, and says the Home 3 Pro differs from the Home 3.0 in its IP66 and IK10 ratings, DIY-replaceable front cover, new mounting plate and fanless heat-sink design.
The Home 3 Pro is rated at 7.4 kW and 32 A maximum on a 230 V single-phase supply. Hypervolt does not sell a three-phase version. The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.
The Home 3 Pro is tethered only. The cable is 5 m as standard, with 7.5 m and 10 m options, and comes with a Type 2 connector or, up to 7.5 m, a Type 1 connector. A cable holster is included in the box.
Hypervolt lists these charging modes:
Hypervolt also lists Ultra Mode, which schedules charging for cheaper and lower-carbon times, and Battery Safe mode, which charges without drawing energy from a home battery. One CT clamp is included in the box; a second, used for home battery monitoring, is ordered separately.
Charging can be scheduled in the Hypervolt app, which also shows energy use and costs. Hypervolt lists "direct integration" with Intelligent Octopus Go and OVO Charge Anytime.
On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026):
Automatic load management reduces the charging rate in real time when other demand in the home rises, so total demand stays within the fuse limit. The charger has an internal 6 mA DC RCD and integrated PEN fault protection compliant with Amendment 2 of BS 7671:2018; external Type A AC protection is required, and Hypervolt recommends a 40 A B or C curve MCB or RCBO. Five thermal sensors adjust the charging rate at high temperatures.
The installation guide lists Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) and Bluetooth LE 4.2, and a wired Ethernet connection is optional. Hypervolt lists over-the-air updates.
The Home 3 Pro measures 328 x 243 x 101 mm (height x width x depth). Weight depends on the cable: 6.2 kg (5 m), 6.9 kg (7.5 m) or 7.3 kg (10 m). The enclosure is made from polycarbonate and glass-filled nylon, rated IP66 and IK10, with 95% UV protection, and operates from -25°C to 40°C. Front covers come in Ultra White, Space Grey and Ultra Black and can be swapped without an electrician. It can be wall or pole mounted.
The standard warranty is three years from installation when installed by a qualified electrician. Hypervolt sells a 24-month extension, taking cover to five years, which must be bought within 30 days of installation. The installation guide says the unit must be registered as installed within 48 hours to validate the warranty.
Pick your car, how far you drive and a tariff. We use your car's own figures from our electric car data, the 26.32p price cap average as the standard rate, and the Hypervolt Home 3 Pro's 7.4 kW for the charging time.
Charging 8,000 miles a year at home on Intelligent Octopus Go costs about £157, against £515 at the standard rate.
Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT; they vary by region and change often, so check with the supplier.
Three steps from here to your first charge at home.
You need somewhere to park off the street, such as a driveway or garage. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.
Browse EV charger installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating, and ask for the Hypervolt Home 3 Pro by name.
The installer checks your fuse box and earthing, fits the charger on its own circuit, tells your local network operator and connects it to the app.
Updated . We try to compare features of chargers and user experiences. We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first.
Cite this page: Best Chargers, "Hypervolt Home 3 Pro EV charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/hypervolt/. Also as Markdown and JSON.
Every charger we compare, A to Z. Swipe or use the arrows to browse.