
How fast does it charge?
7.4 kWAbout 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.
- 7.4 kW single-phase
The Masterplug Smart EV Charger is a charger you have fitted at home to charge an electric car, and it can also use spare power from solar panels. It charges at 7.4 kW, the usual speed for a home charger: about 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in. It works with overnight EV tariffs that only need a timer, but it is not on the Octopus, E.ON Next or OVO smart tariff lists.
Updated . We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first. How we check

The questions most people start with, answered from Masterplug's own documents.

About 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.

You can choose a fixed cable (5 m), or a socket where you plug in your own cable. Installers call a fixed cable "tethered" and a socket "untethered".

Octopus does not list it as a charger, so Intelligent Octopus Go would need a car Octopus supports instead. E.ON Next and OVO do not list it either. It works with any overnight tariff that only needs a timer, such as EDF GoElectric.
OctopusNot listed
E.ON NextNot listed
OVONot listed
It can charge your car with spare power from your panels, instead of sending it back to the grid.

It uses the Type 2 connector, which most electric cars sold in the UK use. Check the charging socket on your car, or ask your installer.

Masterplug does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for it, so it charges the car only. Chargers with vehicle-to-grid hardware.

It connects by Wi-Fi or a network cable, and has no mobile data. Check your Wi-Fi reaches the driveway, or ask about running a cable.

It has a built-in safety feature (Masterplug calls it PEN fault protection) that usually means no earth rod is needed. Your installer checks all of this first.

3 years.
As published by Masterplug, checked October 2026.
| Power | Up to 7.4 kW (32 A), configurable 6 A to 32 A220 V to 240 V, 50/60Hz, single-phase |
|---|---|
| Models | EVCM3SS7B / EVCM3SS7 W (socket); EVCM3ST7B / EVCM3ST7 W (5 m tethered) |
| Connector | Type 2 socket with auto-lock, or 5 m tethered Type 2 |
| Protection | Integrated Type A RCD (30 mA AC, 6 mA DC); integrated PEN protection |
| Load management | Load management clamp supplied (circuits up to 120 A) |
| Solar charging | Auto solar charging via the Sync Energy app |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz), Ethernet (RJ45); Bluetooth for set-up |
| OCPP | OCPP 1.6J |
| Metering | Internal meter, 2% (Class C equivalent); supports external RS485 Modbus meter |
| Dimensions | 304 x 236 x 129 mm |
| Ingress and impact | IP65, IK08 |
| Operating temperature | -25°C to +50°C |
| Colours | Black or white |
| Warranty | 3 years |
The three that share the most charger types with it, then any charger you choose, spec by spec.

Andersen's smallest charger, available at 7 kW or 22 kW with a socket or tethered cable, 11 colours and a 7-year warranty.

A 7.36 kW charger designed in the UK by Cord, with a socket or a 5 m, 8 m or 12 m tethered cable, Wi-Fi and 4G built in, and a 5-year product warranty.

A 7.2 kW single-phase charger from EO, the size of an A5 notepad, with CT clamps for solar and power balancing included and an app now run by ev.energy.
| Feature | Masterplug Smart EV Charger | Andersen Quartz | Cord Zero | EO Mini Pro 3 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Max power | 7.4 kW | 7 kW / 22 kW | 7.36 kW | 7.2 kW |
| 22 kW three-phase version | No | Yes | No | No |
| Cable | Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m | Type 2 socket or tethered 5.5 m / 8.5 m (6.5 m on 22 kW) | Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m / 8 m / 12 m | Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m |
| Solar charging | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Load management | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| PEN fault protection | Built in | Built in | Built in | Built in |
| Smart tariff lists (Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next) | Not listed | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) | Not listed |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, Bluetooth (set-up) | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (set-up only) | Wi-Fi, 4G | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, GSM (mobile) |
| OCPP | OCPP 1.6J | Not stated | OCPP 1.6 | OCPP (used for the ev.energy app) |
| RFID | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated |
| Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-home | No | No | No | No |
| Ingress and impact rating | IP65, IK08 | IP65 (enclosure) | IP54 (socket) / IP65 (tethered), IK08 | IP56/IP54 (as stated by EO) |
| Dimensions | 304 x 236 x 129 mm | 286 x 172 x 110 mm | 320 x 210 x 132 mm | 230 x 151 x 125 mm |
| Warranty | 3 years | 7 years | 5 years (product) | Not stated |
Every feature, from Masterplug's datasheet, manual and product pages.
Masterplug, a brand of Luceco plc, sells a Mode 3 smart wall charger in socketed and 5 m tethered versions, in black or white. It charges at up to 7.4 kW on a single-phase supply and is controlled through the Sync Energy app; Sync Energy is another Luceco brand.
The charger delivers up to 7.4 kW (32 A), configurable from 6 A to 32 A, on a 220 V to 240 V single-phase supply. There is no three-phase version. The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.
Four models are listed: socketed (EVCM3SS7B black, EVCM3SS7 W white) with a Type 2 auto-locking socket, and tethered (EVCM3ST7B black, EVCM3ST7 W white) with a 5 m Type 2 cable. The unit has integrated cable storage.
Masterplug says the charger supports solar charging with no additional cost or subscription. Its specification sheet describes auto solar charging in the Sync Energy app, and a load management clamp is supplied with the charger.
The Sync Energy app provides Tariff Sense, which schedules charging according to your tariff's rates, tracks costs in real time and lets you control the charger remotely.
On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026), Masterplug is not listed by Octopus for Intelligent Octopus Go, by OVO for Charge Anytime, or by E.ON Next for Next Drive Smart.
A load management clamp is supplied, supporting circuits up to 120 A. The specification sheet lists integrated PEN protection (earth disconnection) and states that an earth rod is not required; it supports TT, TN-C-S and PME earthing. Residual current protection is an integrated Type A RCD with 30 mA AC and 6 mA DC detection. Masterplug lists a 40 A MCB or 30 mA Type A RCBO for the consumer unit, depending on cable type and route.
The charger connects over Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) or Ethernet and supports OCPP 1.6J. Bluetooth is used for set-up through the installer app. It has an internal meter (2%, Class C equivalent) and supports an external RS485 Modbus meter, with an RGB LED and buzzer for status.
The charger measures 304 x 236 x 129 mm. The UV-resistant polycarbonate enclosure is rated IP65 and IK08 in the specification sheet and product page (Masterplug's EV landing page gives IP55), and operates from -25°C to +50°C with integrated thermal protection. Masterplug lists compliance with the Electric Vehicles (Smart Charge Points) Regulations 2021, including Schedule 1.
Masterplug gives a 3-year standard warranty on the charger.
Pick your car, how far you drive and a tariff. We use your car's own figures from our electric car data, the 26.32p price cap average as the standard rate, and the Masterplug Smart EV Charger's 7.4 kW for the charging time.
Charging 8,000 miles a year at home on Intelligent Octopus Go costs about £157, against £515 at the standard rate.
Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT; they vary by region and change often, so check with the supplier.
Three steps from here to your first charge at home.
You need somewhere to park off the street, such as a driveway or garage. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.
Browse EV charger installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating, and ask for the Masterplug Smart EV Charger by name.
The installer checks your fuse box and earthing, fits the charger on its own circuit, tells your local network operator and connects it to the app.
Updated . We try to compare features of chargers and user experiences. We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first.
Cite this page: Best Chargers, "Masterplug Smart EV Charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/masterplug-ev/. Also as Markdown and JSON.
Every charger we compare, A to Z. Swipe or use the arrows to browse.