Andersen Quartz EV charger review

The Andersen Quartz is a charger you have fitted at home to charge an electric car, and it can also use spare power from solar panels. It charges at 7 kW, the usual speed for a home charger: about 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in. Octopus and OVO list it for their smart EV tariffs, which charge the car when electricity is cheap.

Updated . We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first. How we check

Ask AI about this charger
Show me

Pick a view to shorten the page. Everything stays one tap away.

Charging speed
7 kW about 25 to 30 miles an hour
Cable
Tethered or untethered 5.5 m, 8.5 m or 6.5 m fixed cable, or plug in your own
Andersen Quartz home EV charger
Solar charging
Yes from your panels
Smart tariffs
2 of 3 Octopus, OVO

Is the Andersen Quartz right for you?

The questions most people start with, answered from Andersen's own documents.

How fast does it charge?

7 kW

About 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 12 hours for a full charge for most cars. The 22 kW version needs a three-phase supply, which most homes do not have.

  • 7 kW single-phase
  • 22 kW three-phase

Is the Andersen Quartz tethered or untethered?

Both

You can choose a fixed cable (5.5 m, 8.5 m or 6.5 m), or a socket where you plug in your own cable. Installers call a fixed cable "tethered" and a socket "untethered".

  • Fixed cable, 5.5 m
  • Fixed cable, 8.5 m
  • Fixed cable, 6.5 m
  • Socket for your own cable

Is the Andersen Quartz compatible with Intelligent Octopus Go?

Yes, listed

Octopus lists it, so Octopus can run its charging at cheap times for you. OVO lists it too. It works with any overnight tariff that only needs a timer, such as EDF GoElectric.

  • OctopusLists it
  • E.ON NextNot listed
  • OVOLists it

Can it charge from solar panels?

Yes

It can charge your car with spare power from your panels, instead of sending it back to the grid.

Does it work with all electric cars?

Type 2

It uses the Type 2 connector, which most electric cars sold in the UK use. Check the charging socket on your car, or ask your installer.

Does the Andersen Quartz support V2H or V2G?

No

Andersen does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for it, so it charges the car only. Chargers with vehicle-to-grid hardware.

Can it stay connected without Wi-Fi?

No

It connects by Wi-Fi and has no mobile data, so check your Wi-Fi reaches the driveway.

  • Wi-Fi
  • Network cable
  • Mobile data (4G)

Does the Andersen Quartz need an earth rod?

Usually not

It has a built-in safety feature (Andersen calls it PEN fault protection) that usually means no earth rod is needed. The faster 22 kW version needs a three-phase supply, which most homes do not have; the standard version does not. Your installer checks all of this first.

How long is the warranty?

7 years

7 years, Andersen Care Cover.

07 years, the longest of the 26 chargers we cover

Andersen Quartz specs and dimensions

As published by Andersen, checked October 2026.

Figures as published by the manufacturer, checked October 2026. Sources are listed at the end of the page. Also as Markdown and JSON.
Power7 kW single-phase or 22 kW three-phaseInstaller manual: 7.2 kW (1-phase) or 22 kW (3-phase), 32 A, adjustable from 6 A per phase
ConnectorType 2 socket, or tethered Type 2 cableTethered: 5.5 m or 8.5 m (7 kW), 6.5 m (22 kW)
Load managementAdaptive Fuse CT clamp included on 7 kW; 3 grid CT clamps with 22 kW
Solar chargingBasic mode with the grid CT clamp; advanced mode needs an extra solar CT clamp (not on 22 kW)
ProtectionInternal 6 mA DC (EN 62955) and 30 mA AC; PEN fault detection
ConnectivityWi-Fi (2.4 GHz); Bluetooth LE 5 for set-up only
DisplayNone; Quartz Vision adds a 4.3-inch LCD
Dimensions (unboxed)286 x 172 x 110 mm
Installed weight3.4 kg to 5.2 kg
Ingress protectionIP65 enclosure core, IP44 Type 2 cable
Operating temperature-25°C to +40°C
Standby power10 W
Colours11 colours (4 standard, 7 premium metallic); optional Accoya wood or limited-edition fascias
Warranty7 years (Andersen Care Cover)

Andersen Quartz vs similar chargers

The three that share the most charger types with it, then any charger you choose, spec by spec.

  • myenergi zappi

    myenergi zappi

    A 7 kW or 22 kW home charger from myenergi with three charging modes, two of which use surplus solar generation, and a grid current sensor supplied in the box.

    • 7 kW
    • Tethered or socket
    • 3 years warranty
    • Solar compatible
    Read our full review: myenergi zappi
  • Wallbox Pulsar Max

    Wallbox Pulsar Max

    A compact charger from Wallbox in 7.4 kW, 11 kW and 22 kW versions, tethered or with a socket, with a 5-year warranty and listing for Intelligent Octopus Go.

    • 7.4 kW
    • Tethered or socket
    • 5 years warranty
    • Solar compatible
    Read our full review: Wallbox Pulsar Max
  • Cord Zero

    Cord Zero

    A 7.36 kW charger designed in the UK by Cord, with a socket or a 5 m, 8 m or 12 m tethered cable, Wi-Fi and 4G built in, and a 5-year product warranty.

    • 7.36 kW
    • Tethered or socket
    • 5 years warranty
    • Solar compatible
    Read our full review: Cord Zero

Andersen Quartz vs myenergi zappi, Wallbox Pulsar Max and Cord Zero

Choose any three of the 26 chargers we cover to set beside it, spec by spec.

FeatureAndersen Quartzmyenergi zappiWallbox Pulsar MaxCord Zero
Max power7 kW / 22 kW7 kW / 22 kW7.4 kW / 11 kW / 22 kW7.36 kW
22 kW three-phase versionYesYesYesNo
CableType 2 socket or tethered 5.5 m / 8.5 m (6.5 m on 22 kW)Tethered 6.5 m or Type 2 socketTethered 5 m or 7 m, or Type 2 socketType 2 socket or tethered 5 m / 8 m / 12 m
Solar chargingYesYesYes, with an extra accessoryYes
Load managementYesYesWith an extra accessoryYes
PEN fault protectionBuilt inBuilt inNot statedBuilt in
Smart tariff lists (Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next)Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime)Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime); E.ON Next (Next Drive Smart)Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go)Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime)
ConnectivityWi-Fi, Bluetooth (set-up only)Wi-Fi, EthernetWi-Fi, BluetoothWi-Fi, 4G
OCPPNot statedOCPP 1.6J (via myenergi cloud)OCPPOCPP 1.6
RFIDNot statedNot statedNot statedYes
Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-homeNoNoNoNo
Ingress and impact ratingIP65 (enclosure)IP65, IK10IP55, IK10IP54 (socket) / IP65 (tethered), IK08
Dimensions286 x 172 x 110 mm438 x 282 x 122 mm198 x 201 x 99 mm (tethered, without cable)320 x 210 x 132 mm
Warranty7 years3 years5 years5 years (product)

Andersen Quartz features explained

Every feature, from Andersen's datasheet, manual and product pages.

What is the Andersen Quartz?

The Quartz is Andersen EV's most compact charger. It is available as a 7 kW single-phase or 22 kW three-phase unit, with a Type 2 socket or a tethered cable, in 11 colours. A Quartz Vision version adds a 4.3-inch display. Unlike Andersen's A3 and A2, the Quartz does not store its cable inside the housing.

Charging power: 7 kW single-phase, 22 kW three-phase

Andersen markets the Quartz at 7 kW for single-phase homes and 22 kW for three-phase homes. The installer manual rates the single-phase version at 7.2 kW, with 32 A maximum, adjustable from 6 A per phase. The 22 kW version needs a three-phase supply. The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.

Tethered or untethered: the cable options

The socket version uses your own Type 2 cable. Tethered 7 kW units have a 5.5 m or 8.5 m cable; tethered 22 kW units have a 6.5 m cable. Andersen offers an optional cable hook (16 cm x 7 cm) in the casing colour for tethered units.

Solar charging with CT clamps

Andersen lists the Quartz as solar compatible. The installer manual describes a basic solar mode, which uses the grid CT clamp to monitor the whole property and any export, and an advanced mode, which uses a separately purchased solar CT clamp on the generation circuit. The advanced solar CT clamp is not applicable to the 22 kW unit. In the Andersen app, you can choose how much grid power to add to solar with a slider.

Smart charging with Octopus, E.ON Next and OVO

The Andersen app handles schedules, remote locking and charging history, including solar and grid energy used. Andersen's comparison table lists smart tariff integration with Intelligent Octopus Go, OVO Charge Anytime and EDF GoElectric.

On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026):

  • Octopus Energy lists the Andersen Quartz as supported for Intelligent Octopus Go.
  • OVO Energy lists Andersen as a compatible smart charger for Charge Anytime.
  • E.ON Next does not list Andersen for Next Drive Smart.

Load balancing, earthing and installation

An Adaptive Fuse CT clamp is included as standard with 7 kW units; 22 kW units ship with three grid CT clamps. The installer manual lists PEN fault detection conforming to BS 7671 regulation 722.411.4.1, internal 6 mA DC protection (EN 62955) and 30 mA AC protection, and earth, welded contactor and PME monitoring. Andersen says there is no need for earth rods. The manual recommends upstream protection of a 40 A RCBO, or a Type A RCD with a 40 A B curve MCB.

App, Wi-Fi and connectivity

The Quartz connects over Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz); Bluetooth LE 5 is used for set-up only. The app supports remote locking, and Andersen lists 128-bit encryption for its smart connectivity.

Size and dimensions: 286 x 172 x 110 mm

The Quartz measures 286 x 172 x 110 mm unboxed and weighs 3.4 kg to 5.2 kg installed. The core is polycarbonate blend, rated IP65, with an IP44-rated Type 2 cable; the front is coated aluminium with an optional Accoya wood insert. It operates from -25°C to +40°C and uses 10 W on standby. Andersen offers 11 colour choices (four standard and seven premium metallic) and says there are over 100 colour and finish combinations. The manual lists compliance with the Electric Vehicles (Smart Charge Points) Regulations 2021.

Warranty: 7 years

Andersen gives seven years of Andersen Care Cover, subject to its warranty terms.

Andersen Quartz charging time and costs

Pick your car, how far you drive and a tariff. We use your car's own figures from our electric car data, the 26.32p price cap average as the standard rate, and the Andersen Quartz's 7 kW for the charging time.

8,000
You would pay about this much less £359

Charging 8,000 miles a year at home on Intelligent Octopus Go costs about £157, against £515 at the standard rate.

Intelligent Octopus Go, 8p£157 a year
Standard rate, 26.32p£515 a year
A 30% to 80% top-up on the Andersen Quartz
5h 39m at 7 kW, adding about 162 miles

Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT; they vary by region and change often, so check with the supplier.

Andersen Quartz installation

Three steps from here to your first charge at home.

  1. Check you can have one

    You need somewhere to park off the street, such as a driveway or garage. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.

  2. Find a local installer

    Browse EV charger installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating, and ask for the Andersen Quartz by name.

  3. They fit it and set it up

    The installer checks your fuse box and earthing, fits the charger on its own circuit, tells your local network operator and connects it to the app.

Find EV charger installers near you

Installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating.

By city: London Manchester Birmingham Leeds Glasgow Bristol

Find installers

Andersen Quartz FAQs

How long does the Andersen Quartz take to charge a car?
At 7 kW it adds about 25 to 30 miles of range an hour. A typical top-up of about 162 miles takes about 5h 39m, so it fits in a night. A full charge from empty takes about 10 to 12 hours for most cars. Your car's battery size changes this.
Do I need solar panels to use it?
No. It charges like any home charger without them. Using spare solar power is an extra for homes that have panels.
Is there a grant for a home EV charger?
If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500. Check on GOV.UK (checked 4 October 2026). Homeowners in houses are not eligible.
Who can install the Andersen Quartz?
A qualified electrician who installs EV chargers. They check your fuse box and earthing, fit it on its own circuit, tell your local network operator, and set it up in the app. Our directory lists EV charger installers in 50 UK cities with their Google ratings.
What is the difference between the Andersen Quartz and the A3?
The Quartz is smaller (286 x 172 x 110 mm against 430 x 310 x 148 mm), is available at 7 kW or 22 kW, and comes as a socket or tethered unit. The A3 is 7 kW only and has a 5.5 m cable stored inside the housing, plus convenience lighting. Both have a 7-year warranty.
What cable lengths does the Andersen Quartz come with?
Tethered 7 kW units have a 5.5 m or 8.5 m cable; tethered 22 kW units have a 6.5 m cable. The socket version uses your own cable. A cable hook in the casing colour can be added to tethered units.
Can the Andersen Quartz charge from solar?
Andersen lists the Quartz as solar compatible. The installer manual describes a basic solar mode using the grid CT clamp and an advanced mode that needs a separately bought solar CT clamp; advanced solar is not available on the 22 kW unit.
Does the Andersen Quartz work with Intelligent Octopus Go?
Yes. Octopus lists the Andersen Quartz as supported for Intelligent Octopus Go, and OVO lists Andersen for Charge Anytime (both checked 4 October 2026). Andersen says all Quartz chargers have been integrated with Intelligent Octopus Go since September 2025.
How much does the Andersen Quartz cost?
We do not list prices, because they change often and most people buy a charger fitted, so the price depends on the installer and your home. Ask two or three installers for a fitted price for the Andersen Quartz by name. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.

Sources and how we check

Updated . We try to compare features of chargers and user experiences. We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first.

Cite this page: Best Chargers, "Andersen Quartz EV charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/andersen-quartz/. Also as Markdown and JSON.

Home EV chargers, A to Z

Every charger we compare, A to Z. Swipe or use the arrows to browse.

Show me

Pick a view
Essential
Needed for the site to work. Always on.