myenergi zappi EV charger review

The myenergi zappi is a charger you have fitted at home to charge an electric car, and it can also use spare power from solar panels. It charges at 7 kW, the usual speed for a home charger: about 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in. Octopus, E.ON Next and OVO list it for their smart EV tariffs, which charge the car when electricity is cheap.

Updated . We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first. How we check

Ask AI about this charger
Show me

Pick a view to shorten the page. Everything stays one tap away.

Charging speed
7 kW about 25 to 30 miles an hour
Cable
Tethered or untethered 6.5 m fixed cable, or plug in your own
myenergi zappi home EV charger
Solar charging
Yes from your panels
Smart tariffs
3 of 3 Octopus, E.ON Next, OVO

Is the myenergi zappi right for you?

The questions most people start with, answered from myenergi's own documents.

How fast does it charge?

7 kW

About 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 12 hours for a full charge for most cars. The 22 kW version needs a three-phase supply, which most homes do not have.

  • 7 kW single-phase
  • 22 kW three-phase

Is the myenergi zappi tethered or untethered?

Both

You can choose a fixed cable (6.5 m), or a socket where you plug in your own cable. Installers call a fixed cable "tethered" and a socket "untethered".

  • Fixed cable, 6.5 m
  • Socket for your own cable

Is the myenergi zappi compatible with Intelligent Octopus Go?

Yes, listed

Octopus lists it, so Octopus can run its charging at cheap times for you. E.ON Next and OVO list it too. It works with any overnight tariff that only needs a timer, such as EDF GoElectric.

  • OctopusLists it
  • E.ON NextLists it
  • OVOLists it

Can it charge from solar panels?

Yes

It can charge your car with spare power from your panels, instead of sending it back to the grid.

Does it work with all electric cars?

Type 2

It uses the Type 2 connector, which most electric cars sold in the UK use. Check the charging socket on your car, or ask your installer.

Does the myenergi zappi support V2H or V2G?

No

myenergi does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for it, so it charges the car only. Chargers with vehicle-to-grid hardware.

Can it stay connected without Wi-Fi?

No

It connects by Wi-Fi or a network cable, and has no mobile data. Check your Wi-Fi reaches the driveway, or ask about running a cable.

  • Wi-Fi
  • Network cable
  • Mobile data (4G)

Does the myenergi zappi need an earth rod?

Usually not

It has a built-in safety feature (myenergi calls it PEN fault protection) that usually means no earth rod is needed. The faster 22 kW version needs a three-phase supply, which most homes do not have; the standard version does not. Your installer checks all of this first.

How long is the warranty?

3 years

3 years, extendable to 5.

07 years, the longest of the 26 chargers we cover

myenergi zappi specs and dimensions

As published by myenergi, checked October 2026.

Figures as published by the manufacturer, checked October 2026. Sources are listed at the end of the page. Also as Markdown and JSON.
Power7 kW single-phase (230 V) or 22 kW three-phase (400 V)32 A maximum, adjustable from 6 A to 32 A
ConnectorTethered Type 2 cable (6.5 m) or Type 2 socket with locking
Charging modesECO, ECO+ and FAST
Solar chargingYes, with the grid sensor supplied
Load managementOptional limit on current drawn from the supply or grid
Protection6 mA DC residual current protection (RDC-DD, EN 62955)GB models include PEN fault detection
ConnectivityWi-Fi (2.4 GHz), Ethernet, 868 MHz radio for myenergi sensors
OCPPOCPP 1.6J via the myenergi cloud
DisplayBacklit graphical LCD
Dimensions438 x 282 x 122 mm
Ingress and impactIP65, IK10
Operating temperature-25°C to +40°C, out of direct sunlight
Standby power3 W
ColoursWhite or black
Warranty3 years, extendable to 5

myenergi zappi vs similar chargers

The three that share the most charger types with it, then any charger you choose, spec by spec.

  • Andersen Quartz

    Andersen Quartz

    Andersen's smallest charger, available at 7 kW or 22 kW with a socket or tethered cable, 11 colours and a 7-year warranty.

    • 7 kW
    • Tethered or socket
    • 7 years warranty
    • Solar compatible
    Read our full review: Andersen Quartz
  • Wallbox Pulsar Max

    Wallbox Pulsar Max

    A compact charger from Wallbox in 7.4 kW, 11 kW and 22 kW versions, tethered or with a socket, with a 5-year warranty and listing for Intelligent Octopus Go.

    • 7.4 kW
    • Tethered or socket
    • 5 years warranty
    • Solar compatible
    Read our full review: Wallbox Pulsar Max
  • Cord Zero

    Cord Zero

    A 7.36 kW charger designed in the UK by Cord, with a socket or a 5 m, 8 m or 12 m tethered cable, Wi-Fi and 4G built in, and a 5-year product warranty.

    • 7.36 kW
    • Tethered or socket
    • 5 years warranty
    • Solar compatible
    Read our full review: Cord Zero

myenergi zappi vs myenergi zappi GLO, EO Mini Pro 3 and Andersen Quartz

In searches that reach us, people most often compare the myenergi zappi with the myenergi zappi GLO and the EO Mini Pro 3, so they sit beside it first. Choose any three of the 26 chargers we cover to set beside it, spec by spec.

Featuremyenergi zappimyenergi zappi GLOEO Mini Pro 3Andersen Quartz
Max power7 kW / 22 kW7 kW7.2 kW7 kW / 22 kW
22 kW three-phase versionYesNoNoYes
CableTethered 6.5 m or Type 2 socketTethered 6.5 m or Type 2 socketType 2 socket or tethered 5 mType 2 socket or tethered 5.5 m / 8.5 m (6.5 m on 22 kW)
Solar chargingYesYesYesYes
Load managementYesYesYesYes
PEN fault protectionBuilt inBuilt inBuilt inBuilt in
Smart tariff lists (Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next)Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime); E.ON Next (Next Drive Smart)Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime); E.ON Next (Next Drive Smart)Not listedOctopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime)
ConnectivityWi-Fi, EthernetWi-Fi, BluetoothWi-Fi, Ethernet, GSM (mobile)Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (set-up only)
OCPPOCPP 1.6J (via myenergi cloud)OCPP 1.6J (via myenergi backend)OCPP (used for the ev.energy app)Not stated
RFIDNot statedYesNot statedNot stated
Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-homeNoNoNoNo
Ingress and impact ratingIP65, IK10IP65, IK10IP56/IP54 (as stated by EO)IP65 (enclosure)
Dimensions438 x 282 x 122 mm350 x 170 x 160 mm230 x 151 x 125 mm286 x 172 x 110 mm
Warranty3 years3 yearsNot stated7 years

myenergi zappi features explained

Every feature, from myenergi's datasheet, manual and product pages.

What is the myenergi zappi?

The zappi is a home EV charger from myenergi, a UK company based in Stallingborough, Lincolnshire, which says the zappi is designed and manufactured in-house in the UK. The current model is the zappi 2.1. It comes in a 7 kW single-phase or 22 kW three-phase version, each with either a tethered 6.5 m Type 2 cable or a Type 2 socket, in white or black.

Its defining feature is a set of three charging modes. Two of them, ECO and ECO+, adjust the charging current to match surplus generation from solar panels or a wind turbine, using a current sensor on your electricity supply. The third, FAST, charges at the full rate available.

Charging power: 7 kW single-phase, 22 kW three-phase

On a single-phase supply the zappi charges at up to 7 kW (32 A at 230 V). The three-phase model charges at up to 22 kW on a 400 V three-phase supply. Most UK homes have a single-phase supply; the 22 kW model needs a three-phase supply to charge at that rate. Charging current is variable from 6 A to 32 A.

The rate your car actually charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger. Many cars accept 7 kW or 11 kW on AC.

Tethered or untethered: the cable options

The tethered model has a 6.5 m Type 2 cable and an integral cable holster. The untethered model has a Type 2 socket with a locking system, so you use your own cable.

Solar charging

myenergi's datasheet describes the three modes as follows:

  • ECO charges from a mix of surplus generation and grid power. If the surplus falls short, it takes up to 1.4 kW from the grid so that charging continues.
  • ECO+ only uses generation that would otherwise be exported. Charging pauses when the surplus falls below the car's minimum charging level and resumes when it rises again.
  • FAST charges at the maximum available rate from any source. Without solar or wind generation, this is how the zappi behaves as a standard charger.

A clip-on grid current sensor is supplied in the box with a 5 m cable. myenergi also sells a wireless sensor, harvi, which links to the zappi over an 868 MHz radio connection.

Smart charging with Octopus, E.ON Next and OVO

Charging can be scheduled from the unit or in the myenergi app. The zappi also has an eSense input that can respond to an off-peak signal.

Three energy suppliers list the zappi on their own compatibility lists (checked 4 October 2026):

  • Octopus Energy lists "zappi (all models)" as a supported charger for Intelligent Octopus Go.
  • OVO Energy lists myenergi as a compatible smart charger for Charge Anytime.
  • E.ON Next lists zappi as a supported charger for Next Drive Smart.

Load balancing, earthing and installation

The datasheet lists an optional setting that limits the current drawn from the unit's supply or from the grid, so charging can be reduced when the rest of the home is using power.

The zappi has integral 6 mA DC residual current protection (RDC-DD, to EN 62955). The GB (-G) models comply with the UK smart charge point regulations; the international (-T) models are listed without PEN fault and tamper detection. myenergi states that no earth rod is required. Supply cable entry is from the rear or the bottom.

App, Wi-Fi and connectivity

The zappi has built-in Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) and an Ethernet port. It supports OCPP 1.6J through the myenergi cloud, which lets it connect to a third-party charge point management platform. Firmware updates are checked automatically, and charge and event logs are kept.

Size and dimensions: 438 x 282 x 122 mm

The enclosure measures 438 x 282 x 122 mm and is rated IP65 (dust tight and protected against water jets) and IK10 for impact. It is made from PC/ASA and is rated for -25°C to +40°C when out of direct sunlight. Standby consumption is 3 W. The front has a backlit graphical LCD and buttons.

Warranty: 3 years

The zappi has a 3-year warranty as standard. myenergi sells an extended warranty that takes the total cover to 5 years; it must be bought no later than three months after the standard warranty expires.

myenergi zappi charging time and costs

Pick your car, how far you drive and a tariff. We use your car's own figures from our electric car data, the 26.32p price cap average as the standard rate, and the myenergi zappi's 7 kW for the charging time.

8,000
You would pay about this much less £359

Charging 8,000 miles a year at home on Intelligent Octopus Go costs about £157, against £515 at the standard rate.

Intelligent Octopus Go, 8p£157 a year
Standard rate, 26.32p£515 a year
A 30% to 80% top-up on the myenergi zappi
5h 39m at 7 kW, adding about 162 miles

Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT; they vary by region and change often, so check with the supplier.

myenergi zappi installation

Three steps from here to your first charge at home.

  1. Check you can have one

    You need somewhere to park off the street, such as a driveway or garage. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.

  2. Find a local installer

    Browse EV charger installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating, and ask for the myenergi zappi by name.

  3. They fit it and set it up

    The installer checks your fuse box and earthing, fits the charger on its own circuit, tells your local network operator and connects it to the app.

Find EV charger installers near you

Installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating.

By city: London Manchester Birmingham Leeds Glasgow Bristol

Find installers

myenergi zappi FAQs

How long does the myenergi zappi take to charge a car?
At 7 kW it adds about 25 to 30 miles of range an hour. A typical top-up of about 162 miles takes about 5h 39m, so it fits in a night. A full charge from empty takes about 10 to 12 hours for most cars. Your car's battery size changes this.
Do I need solar panels to use it?
No. It charges like any home charger without them. Using spare solar power is an extra for homes that have panels.
Is there a grant for a home EV charger?
If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500. Check on GOV.UK (checked 4 October 2026). Homeowners in houses are not eligible.
Who can install the myenergi zappi?
A qualified electrician who installs EV chargers. They check your fuse box and earthing, fit it on its own circuit, tell your local network operator, and set it up in the app. Our directory lists EV charger installers in 50 UK cities with their Google ratings.
Does the zappi need an earth rod?
myenergi says no earth rod is required. Its datasheet states that the GB (-G) models comply with the UK smart charge point regulations, while the international (-T) models have no PEN fault and tamper detection. Your installer still has to confirm the earthing arrangement for your property.
What is the difference between ECO and ECO+ on the zappi?
According to myenergi's datasheet, ECO charges from a mix of surplus generation and grid power and takes up to 1.4 kW from the grid to keep charging going. ECO+ only uses generation that would otherwise be exported, and pauses when the surplus drops below the car's minimum charging level. FAST charges at the maximum available rate from any source.
Does the zappi work with Intelligent Octopus Go?
Yes. Octopus lists 'zappi (all models)' as a supported charger for Intelligent Octopus Go (checked 4 October 2026). OVO also lists myenergi for Charge Anytime, and E.ON Next lists zappi for Next Drive Smart.
Is there a 22 kW zappi?
Yes. The zappi is sold as a 7 kW single-phase or 22 kW three-phase unit. The 22 kW version needs a three-phase electricity supply.
How much does the myenergi zappi cost?
We do not list prices, because they change often and most people buy a charger fitted, so the price depends on the installer and your home. Ask two or three installers for a fitted price for the myenergi zappi by name. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.

Sources and how we check

Updated . We try to compare features of chargers and user experiences. We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first.

Cite this page: Best Chargers, "myenergi zappi EV charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/zappi-charger/. Also as Markdown and JSON.

Home EV chargers, A to Z

Every charger we compare, A to Z. Swipe or use the arrows to browse.

Show me

Pick a view
Essential
Needed for the site to work. Always on.