Rolec Zura EV charger review

The Rolec Zura is a charger you have fitted at home to charge an electric car, and it can also use spare power from solar panels. It charges at 7.4 kW, the usual speed for a home charger: about 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in. It works with overnight EV tariffs that only need a timer, but it is not on the Octopus, E.ON Next or OVO smart tariff lists.

Updated . We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first. How we check

Ask AI about this charger
Show me

Pick a view to shorten the page. Everything stays one tap away.

Charging speed
7.4 kW about 25 to 30 miles an hour
Cable
Tethered or untethered 5 m or 10 m fixed cable, or plug in your own
Rolec Zura home EV charger
Solar charging
Yes from your panels
Smart tariffs
0 of 3 Octopus, E.ON Next, OVO

Is the Rolec Zura right for you?

The questions most people start with, answered from Rolec's own documents.

How fast does it charge?

7.4 kW

About 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars. The 22 kW version needs a three-phase supply, which most homes do not have.

  • 7.4 kW single-phase
  • 22 kW three-phase

Is the Rolec Zura tethered or untethered?

Both

You can choose a fixed cable (5 m or 10 m), or a socket where you plug in your own cable. Installers call a fixed cable "tethered" and a socket "untethered".

  • Fixed cable, 5 m
  • Fixed cable, 10 m
  • Socket for your own cable

Is the Rolec Zura compatible with Intelligent Octopus Go?

Not listed

Octopus does not list it as a charger, so Intelligent Octopus Go would need a car Octopus supports instead. E.ON Next and OVO do not list it either. It works with any overnight tariff that only needs a timer, such as EDF GoElectric.

  • OctopusNot listed
  • E.ON NextNot listed
  • OVONot listed

Can it charge from solar panels?

Yes

It can charge your car with spare power from your panels, instead of sending it back to the grid.

Does it work with all electric cars?

Type 2

It uses the Type 2 connector, which most electric cars sold in the UK use. Check the charging socket on your car, or ask your installer.

Does the Rolec Zura support V2H or V2G?

No

Rolec does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for it, so it charges the car only. Chargers with vehicle-to-grid hardware.

Can it stay connected without Wi-Fi?

Yes

It has mobile data built in (or as an option), so it can stay connected even if your Wi-Fi does not reach the driveway.

  • Wi-Fi
  • Network cable
  • Mobile data (4G)

Does the Rolec Zura need an earth rod?

Usually not

It has a built-in safety feature (Rolec calls it PEN fault protection) that usually means no earth rod is needed. It also needs a safety switch (an RCD) fitted in your fuse box. The faster 22 kW version needs a three-phase supply, which most homes do not have; the standard version does not. Your installer checks all of this first.

How long is the warranty?

3 years

3 years.

07 years, the longest of the 26 chargers we cover

Rolec Zura specs and dimensions

As published by Rolec, checked October 2026.

Figures as published by the manufacturer, checked October 2026. Sources are listed at the end of the page. Also as Markdown and JSON.
PowerUp to 7.4 kW per outlet single-phase; 22 kW three-phase
Single-phase models1 socket ROLEC3020B; 2 sockets ROLEC3030B; 1x 5 m ROLEC3140B; 2x 5 m ROLEC3150B; 1x 10 m ROLEC3145B; 2x 10 m ROLEC3155B
Three-phase models1 socket ROLEC3046B; 1x 5 m tethered ROLEC3156B
Load managementDynamic load balancing; CT clamp included on single-phaseThree-phase needs optional CT kit ACSR0325
Solar chargingSolar PV, battery or wind integration
ProtectionPME fault detection; DC 6 mA (single-outlet single-phase) or AC 30 mA Type A and DC 6 mA (other models)
Connectivity4G LTE (nano SIM, subscription), Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz), Ethernet, BLE 4.1 for installer set-up
OCPPOCPP 1.6J
AccessMonta app, integrated RFID reader, plug and go
Energy meteringIntegrated Class 1 MID-compliant meter
Dimensions (W x H x D)260 x 410 x 157 mm
WeightUnder 5.5 kg to under 13 kg, model dependent
Ingress and impactEnclosure IP65, socket IP54; IK08
Operating temperature-30°C to +50°C
ColourBlack; branded or custom fascias available
Warranty3 years

Rolec Zura vs similar chargers

The three that share the most charger types with it, then any charger you choose, spec by spec.

  • Andersen Quartz

    Andersen Quartz

    Andersen's smallest charger, available at 7 kW or 22 kW with a socket or tethered cable, 11 colours and a 7-year warranty.

    • 7 kW
    • Tethered or socket
    • 7 years warranty
    • Solar compatible
    Read our full review: Andersen Quartz
  • Cord Zero

    Cord Zero

    A 7.36 kW charger designed in the UK by Cord, with a socket or a 5 m, 8 m or 12 m tethered cable, Wi-Fi and 4G built in, and a 5-year product warranty.

    • 7.36 kW
    • Tethered or socket
    • 5 years warranty
    • Solar compatible
    Read our full review: Cord Zero
  • EO Mini Pro 3

    EO Mini Pro 3

    A 7.2 kW single-phase charger from EO, the size of an A5 notepad, with CT clamps for solar and power balancing included and an app now run by ev.energy.

    • 7.2 kW
    • Tethered or socket
    • Solar compatible
    Read our full review: EO Mini Pro 3

Rolec Zura vs Andersen Quartz, Cord Zero and EO Mini Pro 3

Choose any three of the 26 chargers we cover to set beside it, spec by spec.

FeatureRolec ZuraAndersen QuartzCord ZeroEO Mini Pro 3
Max power7.4 kW / 22 kW7 kW / 22 kW7.36 kW7.2 kW
22 kW three-phase versionYesYesNoNo
CableType 2 socket(s) or tethered 5 m / 10 mType 2 socket or tethered 5.5 m / 8.5 m (6.5 m on 22 kW)Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m / 8 m / 12 mType 2 socket or tethered 5 m
Solar chargingYesYesYesYes
Load managementYesYesYesYes
PEN fault protectionBuilt inBuilt inBuilt inBuilt in
Smart tariff lists (Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next)Not listedOctopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime)Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime)Not listed
Connectivity4G (subscription), Wi-Fi, EthernetWi-Fi, Bluetooth (set-up only)Wi-Fi, 4GWi-Fi, Ethernet, GSM (mobile)
OCPPOCPP 1.6JNot statedOCPP 1.6OCPP (used for the ev.energy app)
RFIDYesNot statedYesNot stated
Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-homeNoNoNoNo
Ingress and impact ratingIP65 enclosure, IP54 socket, IK08IP65 (enclosure)IP54 (socket) / IP65 (tethered), IK08IP56/IP54 (as stated by EO)
Dimensions260 x 410 x 157 mm286 x 172 x 110 mm320 x 210 x 132 mm230 x 151 x 125 mm
Warranty3 years7 years5 years (product)Not stated

Rolec Zura features explained

Every feature, from Rolec's datasheet, manual and product pages.

What is the Rolec Zura?

The Zura is a charger from Rolec Services of Boston, Lincolnshire, which says it designs and manufactures its EV chargers in the UK. It comes with one or two outlets, each a Type 2 socket or a tethered lead, in single-phase (7.4 kW per outlet) and three-phase (22 kW) versions. Rolec says it suits domestic and commercial installations.

Charging power: 7.4 kW single-phase, 22 kW three-phase

Single-phase models charge at up to 7.4 kW (32 A) per outlet at 230 V. Single-outlet models need up to a 32 A supply; dual-outlet models up to 63 A. Three-phase models charge at up to 22 kW (32 A per phase at 400 V) from a single outlet and need a three-phase supply. The chargers reduce their output if the supply is lower. The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.

Tethered or untethered: the cable options

Versions are available with one or two universal Type 2 sockets, or one or two tethered Type 2 leads of 5 m or 10 m. Rolec notes that roughly 4.5 m of a 5 m lead, and 9.5 m of a 10 m lead, is outside the unit. Sockets have a cable lock that the owner can set permanently.

Solar charging with CT clamps

Rolec lists solar PV, battery storage and wind turbine integration for the Zura.

Smart charging with Octopus, E.ON Next and OVO

Rolec lists the Monta app with an RFID card or fob as the Zura's control method. The Zura is OCPP 1.6J compliant, so it can be run from another OCPP back-office system, and it can also be set up as plug and go.

On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026), Rolec is not listed by Octopus for Intelligent Octopus Go, by OVO for Charge Anytime, or by E.ON Next for Next Drive Smart.

Load balancing, earthing and installation

Dynamic load balancing is supported. A CT clamp and cable are included with single-phase models; three-phase models need the optional CT kit (ACSR0325). PME fault detection is built in, so Rolec says no earth rod is required. Single-outlet single-phase models have DC 6 mA fault protection and need a 30 mA Type A RCBO at source; dual-outlet and three-phase models have AC 30 mA Type A and DC 6 mA residual current protection. All models have surge and over-temperature protection. The Zura has an independent back plate for wall or post mounting.

App, Wi-Fi and connectivity

The Zura has 4G LTE through a built-in nano SIM (subscription required), Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) and RJ45 Ethernet, with Bluetooth LE 4.1 for installer configuration. It has an integrated RFID reader, OCPP 1.6J with TLS 1.2 encryption, over-the-air updates, dual tamper and breach notifications and an integrated Class 1 MID-compliant meter.

Size and dimensions: 260 x 410 x 157 mm

The Zura measures 260 x 410 x 157 mm (width x height x depth) and weighs from under 5.5 kg to under 13 kg depending on the model. The polycarbonate unit and fascia are rated IP65 (the socket IP54) and IK08, on a steel back plate, and operate from -30°C to +50°C. The unit is black, with branded or custom fascias available. Rolec lists compliance with the Smart Charge Points regulations (SI 2021/1467).

Warranty: 3 years

Rolec lists a 3-year warranty as standard.

Rolec Zura charging time and costs

Pick your car, how far you drive and a tariff. We use your car's own figures from our electric car data, the 26.32p price cap average as the standard rate, and the Rolec Zura's 7.4 kW for the charging time.

8,000
You would pay about this much less £359

Charging 8,000 miles a year at home on Intelligent Octopus Go costs about £157, against £515 at the standard rate.

Intelligent Octopus Go, 8p£157 a year
Standard rate, 26.32p£515 a year
A 30% to 80% top-up on the Rolec Zura
5h 21m at 7.4 kW, adding about 162 miles

Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT; they vary by region and change often, so check with the supplier.

Rolec Zura installation

Three steps from here to your first charge at home.

  1. Check you can have one

    You need somewhere to park off the street, such as a driveway or garage. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.

  2. Find a local installer

    Browse EV charger installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating, and ask for the Rolec Zura by name.

  3. They fit it and set it up

    The installer checks your fuse box and earthing, fits the charger on its own circuit, tells your local network operator and connects it to the app.

Find EV charger installers near you

Installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating.

By city: London Manchester Birmingham Leeds Glasgow Bristol

Find installers

Rolec Zura FAQs

How long does the Rolec Zura take to charge a car?
At 7.4 kW it adds about 25 to 30 miles of range an hour. A typical top-up of about 162 miles takes about 5h 21m, so it fits in a night. A full charge from empty takes about 10 to 11 hours for most cars. Your car's battery size changes this.
Do I need solar panels to use it?
No. It charges like any home charger without them. Using spare solar power is an extra for homes that have panels.
Is there a grant for a home EV charger?
If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500. Check on GOV.UK (checked 4 October 2026). Homeowners in houses are not eligible.
Who can install the Rolec Zura?
A qualified electrician who installs EV chargers. They check your fuse box and earthing, fit it on its own circuit, tell your local network operator, and set it up in the app. Our directory lists EV charger installers in 50 UK cities with their Google ratings.
Can the Rolec Zura charge two cars?
Yes, the dual versions have two sockets or two tethered leads, each up to 7.4 kW, on a single-phase supply of up to 63 A. The 22 kW three-phase models have one outlet.
Which app does the Rolec Zura use?
Rolec lists the Monta app with an RFID card or fob. The Zura is OCPP 1.6J compliant, so it can also be run from another OCPP back office.
Can the Rolec Zura charge from solar?
Rolec lists solar PV, battery storage and wind turbine integration for the Zura.
Does the Rolec Zura need an earth rod?
Rolec says the Zura has built-in PME fault detection, so no earth rod is required.
How much does the Rolec Zura cost?
We do not list prices, because they change often and most people buy a charger fitted, so the price depends on the installer and your home. Ask two or three installers for a fitted price for the Rolec Zura by name. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.

Sources and how we check

Updated . We try to compare features of chargers and user experiences. We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first.

Cite this page: Best Chargers, "Rolec Zura EV charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/rolec-zura/. Also as Markdown and JSON.

Home EV chargers, A to Z

Every charger we compare, A to Z. Swipe or use the arrows to browse.

Show me

Pick a view
Essential
Needed for the site to work. Always on.