
How fast does it charge?
7.4 kWAbout 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.
- 7.4 kW single-phase
The Sync Energy EV Charger is a charger you have fitted at home to charge an electric car, and it can also use spare power from solar panels. It charges at 7.4 kW, the usual speed for a home charger: about 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in. Octopus lists it for its smart EV tariffs, which charge the car when electricity is cheap.
Updated . We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first. How we check

The questions most people start with, answered from Sync Energy's own documents.

About 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.

You can choose a fixed cable (7.5 m), or a socket where you plug in your own cable. Installers call a fixed cable "tethered" and a socket "untethered".

Octopus lists it, so Octopus can run its charging at cheap times for you. E.ON Next and OVO do not list it. It works with any overnight tariff that only needs a timer, such as EDF GoElectric.
OctopusLists it
E.ON NextNot listed
OVONot listed
It can charge your car with spare power from your panels, instead of sending it back to the grid.

It uses the Type 2 connector, which most electric cars sold in the UK use. Check the charging socket on your car, or ask your installer.

Sync Energy does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for it, so it charges the car only. Chargers with vehicle-to-grid hardware.

It has mobile data built in (or as an option), so it can stay connected even if your Wi-Fi does not reach the driveway.

It has a built-in safety feature (Sync Energy calls it PEN fault protection) that usually means no earth rod is needed. Your installer checks all of this first.

3 years, on-site.
As published by Sync Energy, checked October 2026.
| Power | Dynamic charging up to 7.4 kW (32 A) |
|---|---|
| Models | EVWC2S7G, EVWC2S7GG (socket); EVWC2T7G, EVWC2T7GG (7.5 m tethered) |
| Connector | Type 2 socket with auto-lock, or tethered 7.5 m Type 2 |
| Protection | Integrated open PEN conductor protection; integrated 30 mA Type A RCD with 6 mA DC |
| Solar charging | Auto Solar Charging |
| Smart charging | Tariff Sense |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi and LAN; Wi-Fi, LAN and 4G on GG models |
| OCPP | OCPP 1.6J with free lifetime over-the-air updates |
| Faceplates | 9 colours, including a metal cover |
| Compliance | EV Smart Charge Regulations 2021 (Schedule 1) |
| Warranty | 3-year on-site |
The three that share the most charger types with it, then any charger you choose, spec by spec.

A 7.36 kW charger designed in the UK by Cord, with a socket or a 5 m, 8 m or 12 m tethered cable, Wi-Fi and 4G built in, and a 5-year product warranty.

A 7.4 kW single-phase charger from VCHRGD with a push-fit design, CT clamp, RFID reader and OCPP 1.6J, listed by Octopus for Intelligent Octopus Go.

Andersen's smallest charger, available at 7 kW or 22 kW with a socket or tethered cable, 11 colours and a 7-year warranty.
| Feature | Sync Energy EV Charger | Cord Zero | VCHRGD Seven Pro | Andersen Quartz |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Max power | 7.4 kW | 7.36 kW | 7.4 kW | 7 kW / 22 kW |
| 22 kW three-phase version | No | No | No | Yes |
| Cable | Type 2 socket or tethered 7.5 m | Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m / 8 m / 12 m | Type 2 socket or tethered 7.5 m | Type 2 socket or tethered 5.5 m / 8.5 m (6.5 m on 22 kW) |
| Solar charging | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Load management | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| PEN fault protection | Built in | Built in | Built in | Built in |
| Smart tariff lists (Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, 4G (selected models) | Wi-Fi, 4G | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, 4G (optional) | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (set-up only) |
| OCPP | OCPP 1.6J | OCPP 1.6 | OCPP 1.6J | Not stated |
| RFID | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-home | No | No | No | No |
| Ingress and impact rating | Not stated | IP54 (socket) / IP65 (tethered), IK08 | IP54, IK10 | IP65 (enclosure) |
| Dimensions | Not stated | 320 x 210 x 132 mm | 300 x 180 x 90 mm | 286 x 172 x 110 mm |
| Warranty | 3 years (on-site) | 5 years (product) | 3 years | 7 years |
Every feature, from Sync Energy's datasheet, manual and product pages.
The Sync Energy EV Charger is a home charger from Sync Energy, part of Luceco plc, which says it has supplied EV chargers since December 2019. Octopus and Hive refer to it as the Wall Charger 2. It comes socketed or with a 7.5 m tethered cable, with Wi-Fi and Ethernet on every model and 4G on selected models.
Sync Energy lists dynamic charging up to 7.4 kW (32 A) on a single-phase supply. Its online shop also lists a 22 kW three-phase socketed model (EVWC2S22GGR). The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.
The socketed models (EVWC2S7G and EVWC2S7GG) have a universal Type 2 socket with auto-lock. The tethered models (EVWC2T7G and EVWC2T7GG) have a built-in 7.5 m Type 2 cable. Nine faceplate colours are available, including a metal cover.
Auto Solar Charging is included as standard. Sync Energy says it uses excess solar energy for charging while making sure the car is ready when needed.
The Sync Energy app starts, stops and schedules charging, tracks costs and energy use, and includes Tariff Sense, which connects to your energy tariff to charge at the cheapest times. Sync Energy also lists demand flexibility rewards.
On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026):
Sync Energy lists integrated open PEN conductor protection, so no earth rod is required, and an integrated 30 mA Type A RCD with 6 mA DC protection. Its product page does not describe load management for this charger; Hive, which sells it, lists household load balancing.
All models have Wi-Fi and LAN (Ethernet); the GG models add 4G. The charger supports OCPP 1.6J and Sync Energy lists free lifetime over-the-air updates. Sync Energy lists compliance with the EV Smart Charge Regulations 2021 (Schedule 1).
Sync Energy's product page does not publish dimensions, weight, or ingress and impact ratings.
Sync Energy lists a 3-year on-site warranty.
Pick your car, how far you drive and a tariff. We use your car's own figures from our electric car data, the 26.32p price cap average as the standard rate, and the Sync Energy EV Charger's 7.4 kW for the charging time.
Charging 8,000 miles a year at home on Intelligent Octopus Go costs about £157, against £515 at the standard rate.
Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT; they vary by region and change often, so check with the supplier.
Three steps from here to your first charge at home.
You need somewhere to park off the street, such as a driveway or garage. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.
Browse EV charger installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating, and ask for the Sync Energy EV Charger by name.
The installer checks your fuse box and earthing, fits the charger on its own circuit, tells your local network operator and connects it to the app.
Updated . We try to compare features of chargers and user experiences. We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first.
Cite this page: Best Chargers, "Sync Energy EV Charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/sync-ev/. Also as Markdown and JSON.
Every charger we compare, A to Z. Swipe or use the arrows to browse.