The Simpson & Partners Home Plus is a charger you have fitted at home to charge an electric car. It charges at 7.4 kW, the usual speed for a home charger: about 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in. Octopus lists it for its smart EV tariffs, which charge the car when electricity is cheap.
Updated . We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first. How we check
Is the Simpson & Partners Home Plus right for you?
The questions most people start with, answered from Simpson & Partners's own documents.
How fast does it charge?
7.4 kW
About 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars. The 22 kW version needs a three-phase supply, which most homes do not have.
7.4 kW single-phase
22 kW three-phase
Is the Simpson & Partners Home Plus tethered or untethered?
Both
You can choose a fixed cable (6.8 m or 9.6 m), or a socket where you plug in your own cable. Installers call a fixed cable "tethered" and a socket "untethered".
Fixed cable, 6.8 m
Fixed cable, 9.6 m
Socket for your own cable
Is the Simpson & Partners Home Plus compatible with Intelligent Octopus Go?
Yes, listed
Octopus lists it, so Octopus can run its charging at cheap times for you. E.ON Next and OVO do not list it. It works with any overnight tariff that only needs a timer, such as EDF GoElectric.
OctopusLists it
E.ON NextNot listed
OVONot listed
Can it charge from solar panels?
No
Simpson & Partners does not offer solar charging for UK homes on this charger. If you have panels, look at chargers that do. Chargers that use solar power.
Does it work with all electric cars?
Type 2
It uses the Type 2 connector, which most electric cars sold in the UK use. Check the charging socket on your car, or ask your installer.
Does the Simpson & Partners Home Plus support V2H or V2G?
No
Simpson & Partners does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for it, so it charges the car only. Chargers with vehicle-to-grid hardware.
Can it stay connected without Wi-Fi?
No
It connects by Wi-Fi or a network cable, and has no mobile data. Check your Wi-Fi reaches the driveway, or ask about running a cable.
Wi-Fi
Network cable
Mobile data (4G)
Does the Simpson & Partners Home Plus need an earth rod?
Ask your installer
Simpson & Partners does not list the built-in safety feature that usually avoids an earth rod, so ask your installer about earthing. The faster 22 kW version needs a three-phase supply, which most homes do not have; the standard version does not. Your installer checks all of this first.
How long is the warranty?
5 years
5 years, electronics, 10 years enclosure.
07 years, the longest of the 26 chargers we cover
Simpson & Partners Home Plus specs and dimensions
As published by Simpson & Partners, checked October 2026.
Figures as published by the manufacturer, checked October 2026. Sources are listed at the end of the page. Also as Markdown and JSON.
Power
Home 7 kW: 7.4 kW / 32 A; Home 22 kW: 22 kW / 32 ANominal supply 230 V AC, 50Hz
Connector
Type 2 socket with integrated locking, or tethered Type 2 cable 6.8 m (9.6 m optional)
Load management
Home load balancing with a wired or wireless energy managerMonitoring all three phases needs the optional wireless energy manager
Control
App (online), Bluetooth app (offline), buttons, OCPP 1.6J client
Connectivity
Wi-Fi, Bluetooth; Ethernet optional
Dimensions (H x W x D)
286 x 196 x 111 mm
Weight
3.3 kg
Ingress and impact
IP54, IK10
Operating temperature
-15°C to 45°CCharging may slow when the unit is above 25°C
A 7 kW or 22 kW home charger from myenergi with three charging modes, two of which use surplus solar generation, and a grid current sensor supplied in the box.
A compact charger from Wallbox in 7.4 kW, 11 kW and 22 kW versions, tethered or with a socket, with a 5-year warranty and listing for Intelligent Octopus Go.
Type 2 socket or tethered 5.5 m / 8.5 m (6.5 m on 22 kW)
Tethered 6.5 m or Type 2 socket
Tethered 5 m or 7 m, or Type 2 socket
Solar charging
No
Yes
Yes
Yes, with an extra accessory
Load management
Supported
Yes
Yes
With an extra accessory
PEN fault protection
Not stated
Built in
Built in
Not stated
Smart tariff lists (Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next)
Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go)
Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime)
Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime); E.ON Next (Next Drive Smart)
Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go)
Connectivity
Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Ethernet (optional)
Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (set-up only)
Wi-Fi, Ethernet
Wi-Fi, Bluetooth
OCPP
OCPP 1.6J
Not stated
OCPP 1.6J (via myenergi cloud)
OCPP
RFID
Not stated
Not stated
Not stated
Not stated
Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-home
No
No
No
No
Ingress and impact rating
IP54, IK10
IP65 (enclosure)
IP65, IK10
IP55, IK10
Dimensions
286 x 196 x 111 mm
286 x 172 x 110 mm
438 x 282 x 122 mm
198 x 201 x 99 mm (tethered, without cable)
Warranty
5 years electronics, 10 years enclosure
7 years
3 years
5 years
Simpson & Partners Home Plus features explained
Every feature, from Simpson & Partners's datasheet, manual and product pages.
What is the Simpson & Partners Home Plus?
Simpson & Partners makes home chargers that it says are built and hand finished in the Cotswolds. Its current home model is the Home Plus Wall Mount V3, sold in 7 kW and 22 kW versions with a Type 2 socket or a tethered cable. The front is cast aluminium, hand painted, and the lid can be aluminium, Accoya wood or plastic, giving 132 colour and finish combinations. The company selling the chargers is Simpson & Partners (EV) Ltd, based at Kemble Business Park near Malmesbury, and its website is now simpson-partners.com.
The Home 7 kW model charges at up to 7.4 kW (32 A) and the Home 22 kW model at up to 22 kW (32 A per phase). The 22 kW model needs a three-phase supply. The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.
Tethered or untethered: the cable options
The socket version has a Type 2 socket with an integrated locking system. The cable version has a 6.8 m Type 2 cable, with a 9.6 m cable as an optional upgrade.
Solar charging: not offered
Simpson & Partners' product pages do not mention solar charging, so it is not listed here as a feature.
Smart charging with Octopus, E.ON Next and OVO
Simpson & Partners lists energy tariff integration and dynamic smart charging. The charger can be controlled online through the app, offline through the app over Bluetooth, with buttons on the charger, or by a third-party system through its native OCPP 1.6J client.
On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026):
Octopus Energy lists Simpson & Partners Home Basic and Home Plus as supported for Intelligent Octopus Go.
OVO Energy does not list Simpson & Partners for Charge Anytime.
E.ON Next does not list Simpson & Partners for Next Drive Smart.
Load balancing, earthing and installation
Home load balancing is supported through a wired or wireless energy manager. Simpson & Partners notes that a single current sensor (CT) can manage single-phase and three-phase supplies, but monitoring all three phases needs the optional wireless energy manager. It describes its own "S1 safety chip" and a patent-pending advanced safety protection system, but its product page does not list specific protection ratings such as RCD type or PEN fault detection.
App, Wi-Fi and connectivity
The charger has Wi-Fi and Bluetooth; Ethernet is an optional upgrade. It receives over-the-air software updates, and an optional Charge Doctor feature monitors charging automatically.
Size and dimensions: 286 x 196 x 111 mm
The Home Plus Wall Mount V3 measures 286 x 196 x 111 mm (height x width x depth) and weighs 3.3 kg. It is rated IP54 and IK10 and operates from -15°C to 45°C; charging speed may be reduced when the unit is above 25°C. Simpson & Partners says the modular design means parts can be repaired, upgraded or recoloured without replacing the whole charger, and that hardware upgrades such as vehicle-to-grid compatibility could be added later.
Warranty: 5 years
Simpson & Partners gives a 10-year warranty on the enclosure and a 5-year warranty on the electronics.
8 more sections, about 2 minutes to read
Simpson & Partners Home Plus charging time and costs
Pick your car, how far you drive and a tariff. We use your car's own figures from our electric car data, the 26.32p price cap average as the standard rate, and the Simpson & Partners Home Plus's 7.4 kW for the charging time.
You would pay about this much less£359
Charging 8,000 miles a year at home on Intelligent Octopus Go costs about £157, against £515 at the standard rate.
Intelligent Octopus Go, 8p£157 a year
Standard rate, 26.32p£515 a year
A 30% to 80% top-up on the Simpson & Partners Home Plus
5h 21m at 7.4 kW, adding about 162 miles
Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT; they vary by region and change often, so check with the supplier.
Simpson & Partners Home Plus installation
Three steps from here to your first charge at home.
Check you can have one
You need somewhere to park off the street, such as a driveway or garage. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.
Find a local installer
Browse EV charger installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating, and ask for the Simpson & Partners Home Plus by name.
They fit it and set it up
The installer checks your fuse box and earthing, fits the charger on its own circuit, tells your local network operator and connects it to the app.
Find EV charger installers near you
Installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating.
How long does the Simpson & Partners Home Plus take to charge a car?
At 7.4 kW it adds about 25 to 30 miles of range an hour. A typical top-up of about 162 miles takes about 5h 21m, so it fits in a night. A full charge from empty takes about 10 to 11 hours for most cars. Your car's battery size changes this.
Is there a grant for a home EV charger?
If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500. Check on GOV.UK (checked 4 October 2026). Homeowners in houses are not eligible.
Who can install the Simpson & Partners Home Plus?
A qualified electrician who installs EV chargers. They check your fuse box and earthing, fit it on its own circuit, tell your local network operator, and set it up in the app. Our directory lists EV charger installers in 50 UK cities with their Google ratings.
What is the Simpson & Partners Home 7?
Simpson & Partners' current home charger is the Home Plus Wall Mount V3, sold in 7 kW (7.4 kW, 32 A) and 22 kW versions. Octopus's supported charger list names the Home Basic and Home Plus models.
Does the Simpson & Partners charger work with Intelligent Octopus Go?
Yes. Octopus lists Simpson & Partners Home Basic and Home Plus as supported for Intelligent Octopus Go (checked 4 October 2026), and Simpson & Partners describes the Home Series as Intelligent Octopus Go compatible.
Can the Simpson & Partners charger charge from solar?
Simpson & Partners' product pages do not mention solar charging. Ask Simpson & Partners directly if you need it.
Where are Simpson & Partners chargers made?
Simpson & Partners says its chargers are built and hand finished in the Cotswolds. The company selling them is Simpson & Partners (EV) Ltd, based at Kemble Business Park near Malmesbury.
How much does the Simpson & Partners Home Plus cost?
We do not list prices, because they change often and most people buy a charger fitted, so the price depends on the installer and your home. Ask two or three installers for a fitted price for the Simpson & Partners Home Plus by name. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.
Sources and how we check
Updated . We try to compare features of chargers and user experiences. We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first.
Cite this page: Best Chargers, "Simpson & Partners Home Plus EV charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/simpson-partners-home-7/. Also as Markdown and JSON.
Home EV chargers, A to Z
Every charger we compare, A to Z. Swipe or use the arrows to browse.
A 7.36 kW charger designed in the UK by Cord, with a socket or a 5 m, 8 m or 12 m tethered cable, Wi-Fi and 4G built in, and a 5-year product warranty.
A 7.4 kW socket charger developed by Easee for the UK market, with a cable lock that makes it tethered or untethered, a built-in eSIM and integrated open PEN protection.
A 7.2 kW single-phase charger from EO, the size of an A5 notepad, with CT clamps for solar and power balancing included and an app now run by ev.energy.
A 7 kW tethered solar-diverting charger from GivEnergy. GivEnergy Ltd has been in administration since 9 April 2026; check warranty and support before buying.
Hive's home EV charger is the Sync Energy Wall Charger 2, sold with installation by Hive's installers and controlled in the Hive app, with Power+ for British Gas customers.
A 7.4 kW single-phase charger from Humax with vehicle identification, solar charging and V2G-ready hardware that Humax says is not yet commercially supported.
A 7.4 kW tethered charger with solar charging modes, automatic load management and a CT clamp in the box, listed by Octopus, OVO and E.ON Next for their smart tariffs.
A 7.4 kW untethered charger designed and built in the UK by Indra, with solar matching, house fuse protection and listings with Octopus, OVO and E.ON Next.
A 7.4 kW single-phase charger from Masterplug, part of Luceco plc, controlled through the Sync Energy app, with a load management clamp and PEN protection.
A 7 kW or 22 kW home charger from myenergi with three charging modes, two of which use surplus solar generation, and a grid current sensor supplied in the box.
A screen-free 7 kW single-phase charger from myenergi, controlled through the app, with an RFID access key and a Smart Mode that can use surplus solar.
A 7.4 kW untethered charger from Ohme with a Type 2 socket and a built-in mobile data SIM, which Octopus lists as supported for Intelligent Octopus Go.
A 7.4 kW single-phase charger designed and manufactured in the UK by Rolec, with socket or tethered versions, 4G, Wi-Fi and Ethernet, and MID-approved metering.
The Sync Energy EV Charger from Luceco plc, sold socketed or with a 7.5 m cable, with Wi-Fi, Ethernet and optional 4G, and listed by Octopus for Intelligent Octopus Go.
A compact charger from Wallbox in 7.4 kW, 11 kW and 22 kW versions, tethered or with a socket, with a 5-year warranty and listing for Intelligent Octopus Go.
Wallbox's bidirectional home charger, which can power a home from a compatible car's battery. Wallbox's UK page offers a 'keep me updated' sign-up rather than a quote.
A 1.3 kg socketed charger designed and made in Norway by Zaptec, up to 7.4 kW single-phase or 22 kW three-phase, with Wi-Fi, 4G LTE-M and a 5-year guarantee.