Solar EV chargers
Chargers with a mode that charges the car from surplus solar generation, measured by a current sensor on your supply.
24 chargers listed A to Z. We do not rank chargers.
Which chargers are listed
The manufacturer publishes a solar charging mode for UK installations. Where it needs an extra sensor or meter that is sold separately, the listing says so.
3 of the 24 need an extra sensor or meter, sold separately, for solar charging; their listing says which.
Every fact on this page comes from each charger's review, which lists its sources. Facts were checked on 4 October 2026.
-
AndersenAndersen A3
A 7kW single-phase charger from Andersen with a 5.5m cable that stores inside the housing, convenience lighting and a 7-year warranty.
Solar charging: Basic mode with the supplied CT clamp; advanced mode needs an extra solar CT clamp
- Power
- 7kW
- Cable
- Tethered
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 7 years
-
AndersenAndersen Quartz
Andersen's smallest charger, available at 7kW or 22kW with a socket or tethered cable, 11 colours and a 7-year warranty.
Solar charging: Basic mode with the grid CT clamp; advanced mode needs an extra solar CT clamp (not on 22kW)
- Power
- 7kW / 22kW
- Cable
- Tethered or socket
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 7 years
-
CordCord Zero
A 7.36kW charger designed in the UK by Cord, with a socket or a 5m, 8m or 12m tethered cable, Wi-Fi and 4G built in, and a 5-year product warranty.
Solar charging: Solar compatible; home battery compatible
- Power
- 7.36kW
- Cable
- Tethered or socket
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 5 years (product)
-
EaseeEasee One
A 7.4kW socket charger developed by Easee for the UK market, with a cable lock that makes it tethered or untethered, a built-in eSIM and integrated open PEN protection.
Solar charging: Requires the Easee Equalizer
- Power
- 7.4kW
- Cable
- Socket (untethered)
- Solar
- Yes, with an extra accessory
- Warranty
- 3 years
-
EO ChargingEO Charging EO Mini Pro 3
A 7.2kW single-phase charger from EO, the size of an A5 notepad, with CT clamps for solar and power balancing included and an app now run by ev.energy.
Solar charging: Yes, CT clamps included
- Power
- 7.2kW
- Cable
- Tethered or socket
- Solar
- Yes
-
GivEnergyGivEnergy EV Charger
Read the important notice on the review before buying.
A 7kW tethered solar-diverting charger from GivEnergy. GivEnergy Ltd has been in administration since 9 April 2026; check warranty and support before buying.
Solar charging: Solar diversion for zero-export charging
- Power
- 7kW
- Cable
- Tethered
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 3 years listed (see administration notice)
-
HiveHive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2)
Hive's home EV charger is the Sync Energy Wall Charger 2, sold with installation by Hive's installers and controlled in the Hive app, with Power+ for British Gas customers.
Solar charging: Yes
- Power
- 7.4kW
- Cable
- Socket (untethered)
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 3 years with Hive installation (2 years without)
-
HumaxHumax MX7
A 7.4kW single-phase charger from Humax with vehicle identification, solar charging and V2G-ready hardware that Humax says is not yet commercially supported.
Solar charging: SolarSmart (Auto Solar); CT clamp in the box
- Power
- 7.4kW
- Cable
- Tethered or socket
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 5 years (when registered online)
-
HypervoltHypervolt Home 3 Pro
A 7.4kW tethered charger with solar charging modes, automatic load management and a CT clamp in the box, listed by Octopus, OVO and E.ON Next for their smart tariffs.
Solar charging: Boost, Eco (solar and grid), Super Eco (solar only)
- Power
- 7.4kW
- Cable
- Tethered
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 3 years
-
IndraIndra Smart LUX
A 7.4kW tethered charger from Indra, 78mm deep, with a 6m or 10m cable, O-PEN fault detection and listings with Octopus, OVO and E.ON Next.
Solar charging: Yes
- Power
- 7.4kW
- Cable
- Tethered
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 3 years
-
IndraIndra Smart PRO
A 7.4kW untethered charger designed and built in the UK by Indra, with solar matching, house fuse protection and listings with Octopus, OVO and E.ON Next.
Solar charging: Solar matching, surplus above 1.4kW
- Power
- 7.4kW
- Cable
- Socket (untethered)
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 3 years
-
MasterplugMasterplug Smart EV Charger
A 7.4kW single-phase charger from Masterplug, part of Luceco plc, controlled through the Sync Energy app, with a load management clamp and PEN protection.
Solar charging: Auto solar charging via the Sync Energy app
- Power
- 7.4kW
- Cable
- Tethered or socket
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 3 years
-
myenergimyenergi zappi
A 7kW or 22kW home charger from myenergi with three charging modes, two of which use surplus solar generation, and a grid current sensor supplied in the box.
Solar charging: ECO, ECO+ and FAST
- Power
- 7kW / 22kW
- Cable
- Tethered or socket
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 3 years
-
myenergimyenergi zappi GLO
A screen-free 7kW single-phase charger from myenergi, controlled through the app, with an RFID access key and a Smart Mode that can use surplus solar.
Solar charging: Yes, in Smart Mode
- Power
- 7kW
- Cable
- Tethered or socket
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 3 years
-
OhmeOhme ePod
A 7.4kW untethered charger from Ohme with a Type 2 socket and a built-in mobile data SIM, which Octopus lists as supported for Intelligent Octopus Go.
Solar charging: Enabled with a working CT clamp
- Power
- 7.4kW
- Cable
- Socket (untethered)
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 3 years
-
OhmeOhme Home Pro
A 7.4kW tethered charger from Ohme with a colour screen and a built-in mobile data SIM, which Octopus lists as supported for Intelligent Octopus Go.
Solar charging: Enabled with a working CT clamp
- Power
- 7.4kW
- Cable
- Tethered
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 3 years
-
Pod PointPod Point Solo 3S
Pod Point's home charger, sold untethered or with a 6.5m cable, with a power balancing sensor that must be fitted and built-in PME fault protection.
Solar charging: Yes, using the power balancing sensor
- Power
- Up to 7.4kW
- Cable
- Tethered or socket
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- Up to 5 years
-
RolecRolec EVO
A socketed charger from Rolec in 7.4kW and 22kW versions, with solar modes, dynamic load balancing, RFID cards and a 5-year warranty.
Solar charging: ECO, ECO+, Charge Now
- Power
- 7.4kW / 22kW
- Cable
- Socket (untethered)
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 5 years
-
RolecRolec WallPod
A 7.4kW single-phase charger designed and manufactured in the UK by Rolec, with socket or tethered versions, 4G, Wi-Fi and Ethernet, and MID-approved metering.
Solar charging: Solar PV, battery or wind integration (app dependent)
- Power
- 7.4kW
- Cable
- Tethered or socket
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 3 years
-
RolecRolec Zura
A charger from Rolec with one or two outlets, in 7.4kW single-phase or 22kW three-phase versions, designed and manufactured in the UK.
Solar charging: Solar PV, battery or wind integration
- Power
- 7.4kW / 22kW
- Cable
- Tethered or socket
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 3 years
-
Sync EnergySync Energy EV Charger
The Sync Energy EV Charger from Luceco plc, sold socketed or with a 7.5m cable, with Wi-Fi, Ethernet and optional 4G, and listed by Octopus for Intelligent Octopus Go.
Solar charging: Auto Solar Charging
- Power
- 7.4kW
- Cable
- Tethered or socket
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 3 years (on-site)
-
VCHRGDVCHRGD Seven Pro
A 7.4kW single-phase charger from VCHRGD with a push-fit design, CT clamp, RFID reader and OCPP 1.6J, listed by Octopus for Intelligent Octopus Go.
Solar charging: Yes, via one or two CT inputs
- Power
- 7.4kW
- Cable
- Tethered or socket
- Solar
- Yes
- Warranty
- 3 years
-
WallboxWallbox Pulsar Max
A compact charger from Wallbox in 7.4kW, 11kW and 22kW versions, tethered or with a socket, with a 5-year warranty and listing for Intelligent Octopus Go.
Solar charging: Requires a Wallbox power meter
- Power
- 7.4kW / 11kW / 22kW
- Cable
- Tethered or socket
- Solar
- Yes, with an extra accessory
- Warranty
- 5 years
-
WallboxWallbox Quasar 2
Read the important notice on the review before buying.
Wallbox's bidirectional home charger, which can power a home from a compatible car's battery. Wallbox's UK page offers a 'keep me updated' sign-up rather than a quote.
Solar charging: Requires a Wallbox power meter
- Power
- Not published for the UK
- Cable
- Tethered
- Solar
- Yes, with an extra accessory
Solar EV chargers compared
| Charger | Power | Cable | Solar charging | 22kW version | Smart tariff lists | Warranty | Review |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Andersen A3 Andersen | 7kW | Tethered | Yes | No | Octopus, OVO | 7 years | Specs for the Andersen A3 |
| Andersen Quartz Andersen | 7kW / 22kW | Tethered or socket | Yes | Yes | Octopus, OVO | 7 years | Specs for the Andersen Quartz |
| Cord Zero Cord | 7.36kW | Tethered or socket | Yes | No | Octopus, OVO | 5 years (product) | Specs for the Cord Zero |
| Easee One Easee | 7.4kW | Socket (untethered) | Yes, with an extra accessory | No | Not listed | 3 years | Specs for the Easee One |
| EO Charging EO Mini Pro 3 EO Charging | 7.2kW | Tethered or socket | Yes | No | Not listed | Not stated | Specs for the EO Charging EO Mini Pro 3 |
| GivEnergy EV Charger GivEnergy | 7kW | Tethered | Yes | No | Not listed | 3 years listed (see administration notice) | Specs for the GivEnergy EV Charger |
| 7.4kW | Socket (untethered) | Yes | No | Octopus | 3 years with Hive installation (2 years without) | Specs for the Hive EV Charger (Sync Energy Wall Charger 2) | |
| Humax MX7 Humax | 7.4kW | Tethered or socket | Yes | No | Not listed | 5 years (when registered online) | Specs for the Humax MX7 |
| Hypervolt Home 3 Pro Hypervolt | 7.4kW | Tethered | Yes | No | Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next | 3 years | Specs for the Hypervolt Home 3 Pro |
| Indra Smart LUX Indra | 7.4kW | Tethered | Yes | No | Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next | 3 years | Specs for the Indra Smart LUX |
| Indra Smart PRO Indra | 7.4kW | Socket (untethered) | Yes | No | Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next | 3 years | Specs for the Indra Smart PRO |
| Masterplug Smart EV Charger Masterplug | 7.4kW | Tethered or socket | Yes | No | Not listed | 3 years | Specs for the Masterplug Smart EV Charger |
| myenergi zappi myenergi | 7kW / 22kW | Tethered or socket | Yes | Yes | Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next | 3 years | Specs for the myenergi zappi |
| myenergi zappi GLO myenergi | 7kW | Tethered or socket | Yes | No | Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next | 3 years | Specs for the myenergi zappi GLO |
| Ohme ePod Ohme | 7.4kW | Socket (untethered) | Yes | No | Octopus | 3 years | Specs for the Ohme ePod |
| Ohme Home Pro Ohme | 7.4kW | Tethered | Yes | No | Octopus | 3 years | Specs for the Ohme Home Pro |
| Pod Point Solo 3S Pod Point | Up to 7.4kW | Tethered or socket | Yes | No | Not listed | Up to 5 years | Specs for the Pod Point Solo 3S |
| Rolec EVO Rolec | 7.4kW / 22kW | Socket (untethered) | Yes | Yes | Not listed | 5 years | Specs for the Rolec EVO |
| Rolec WallPod Rolec | 7.4kW | Tethered or socket | Yes | No | Not listed | 3 years | Specs for the Rolec WallPod |
| Rolec Zura Rolec | 7.4kW / 22kW | Tethered or socket | Yes | Yes | Not listed | 3 years | Specs for the Rolec Zura |
| Sync Energy EV Charger Sync Energy | 7.4kW | Tethered or socket | Yes | No | Octopus | 3 years (on-site) | Specs for the Sync Energy EV Charger |
| VCHRGD Seven Pro VCHRGD | 7.4kW | Tethered or socket | Yes | No | Octopus | 3 years | Specs for the VCHRGD Seven Pro |
| Wallbox Pulsar Max Wallbox | 7.4kW / 11kW / 22kW | Tethered or socket | Yes, with an extra accessory | Yes | Octopus | 5 years | Specs for the Wallbox Pulsar Max |
| Wallbox Quasar 2 Wallbox | Not published for the UK | Tethered | Yes, with an extra accessory | No | Not listed | Not stated | Specs for the Wallbox Quasar 2 |
Listed alphabetically. We do not rank chargers. Smart tariff lists show which of Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go), OVO (Charge Anytime) and E.ON Next (Next Drive Smart) list the charger as supported, checked 4 October 2026.
How solar EV charging works
A solar-capable charger measures the current flowing in or out of your home with a sensor, usually a clamp (a current transformer, or CT clamp) fitted around the supply cable. When your panels produce more than the home is using, the charger turns that surplus into charging current for the car instead of letting it export to the grid.
Cars on a single-phase supply need a minimum charging current, typically 6A, which is about 1.4kW. Several manufacturers, including myenergi, Hypervolt and Indra, build their solar modes around that figure: a "solar only" mode pauses when the surplus falls below it, while a mixed mode tops up from the grid to keep charging going.
Included sensor or extra accessory
Some chargers ship with the sensor they need. Others need a meter or a separate device that is sold on its own, such as the Easee Equalizer or a Wallbox power meter. Each listing below says which applies.
Your installer has to fit the sensor in the right place, normally on the incoming supply and upstream of the solar inverter and any battery, for the charger to measure surplus correctly.
Other charger types
Solar EV chargers: questions
Do I need a solar charger to charge from my solar panels?
Any charger will use solar power that happens to be generated while the car is charging, because the home uses its own generation first. A solar-capable charger goes further: it measures the surplus and adjusts the charging rate to match it, so less energy is exported and less is imported.
Why does solar charging pause on cloudy days?
Most cars need at least 6A (about 1.4kW on a single-phase supply) to charge. In a solar-only mode, the charger pauses when the surplus drops below that level and restarts when it rises again. Mixed modes keep charging by drawing the shortfall from the grid.
Can a solar charger also use a cheap overnight tariff?
Yes. The chargers listed here also support scheduled charging, so they can charge from surplus solar during the day and from the grid in an off-peak window. Check whether your energy supplier lists the charger if you want the supplier to control charging directly.