
How fast does it charge?
7 kWAbout 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 12 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.
- 7 kW single-phase
The Andersen A3 is a charger you have fitted at home to charge an electric car, and it can also use spare power from solar panels. It charges at 7 kW, the usual speed for a home charger: about 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in. Octopus and OVO list it for their smart EV tariffs, which charge the car when electricity is cheap.
Updated . We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first. How we check

The questions most people start with, answered from Andersen's own documents.

About 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 12 hours for a full charge for most cars. There is no 22 kW version.

It comes with a fixed cable (5.5 m) that stays on the wall. Installers call a fixed cable "tethered" and a socket "untethered".

Octopus lists it, so Octopus can run its charging at cheap times for you. OVO lists it too. It works with any overnight tariff that only needs a timer, such as EDF GoElectric.
OctopusLists it
E.ON NextNot listed
OVOLists it
It can charge your car with spare power from your panels, instead of sending it back to the grid.

It uses the Type 2 connector, which most electric cars sold in the UK use. Check the charging socket on your car, or ask your installer.

Andersen does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for it, so it charges the car only. Chargers with vehicle-to-grid hardware.

It connects by Wi-Fi and has no mobile data, so check your Wi-Fi reaches the driveway.

It has a built-in safety feature (Andersen calls it PEN fault protection) that usually means no earth rod is needed. Your installer checks all of this first.

7 years, Andersen Care Cover.
As published by Andersen, checked October 2026.
| Power | 7 kW single-phaseInstaller manual: 7.2 kW, 230 V, 32 A, adjustable from 6 A to 32 A |
|---|---|
| Connector | Tethered Type 2 cable, 5.5 m, stored inside the unit |
| Load management | Adaptive Fuse CT clamp included |
| Solar charging | Basic mode with the supplied CT clamp; advanced mode needs an extra solar CT clamp |
| Protection | Internal 6 mA DC (EN 62955) and 30 mA AC; PEN fault detection |
| Monitoring | Earth, welded contactor and PME monitoring; start-up self-test |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz); Bluetooth LE 5 for set-up only |
| Lighting | RGB status lights and white convenience (amenity) light |
| Dimensions (unboxed) | 430 x 310 x 148 mm |
| Installed weight | 9.5 kg to 11.2 kg |
| Ingress protection | IP65 enclosure core, IP44 Type 2 cable |
| Operating temperature | -25°C to +40°C |
| Standby power | 10 W |
| Warranty | 7 years (Andersen Care Cover) |
The three that share the most charger types with it, then any charger you choose, spec by spec.

Andersen's smallest charger, available at 7 kW or 22 kW with a socket or tethered cable, 11 colours and a 7-year warranty.

A 7.36 kW charger designed in the UK by Cord, with a socket or a 5 m, 8 m or 12 m tethered cable, Wi-Fi and 4G built in, and a 5-year product warranty.

A 7.4 kW tethered charger with solar charging modes, automatic load management and a CT clamp in the box, listed by Octopus, OVO and E.ON Next for their smart tariffs.
| Feature | Andersen A3 | Andersen Quartz | Cord Zero | Hypervolt Home 3 Pro |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Max power | 7 kW | 7 kW / 22 kW | 7.36 kW | 7.4 kW |
| 22 kW three-phase version | No | Yes | No | No |
| Cable | Tethered 5.5 m, stored inside the unit | Type 2 socket or tethered 5.5 m / 8.5 m (6.5 m on 22 kW) | Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m / 8 m / 12 m | Tethered 5 m, 7.5 m or 10 m |
| Solar charging | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Load management | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| PEN fault protection | Built in | Built in | Built in | Built in |
| Smart tariff lists (Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime); E.ON Next (Next Drive Smart) |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (set-up only) | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (set-up only) | Wi-Fi, 4G | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Ethernet |
| OCPP | Not stated | Not stated | OCPP 1.6 | Not stated |
| RFID | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated |
| Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-home | No | No | No | No |
| Ingress and impact rating | IP65 (enclosure) | IP65 (enclosure) | IP54 (socket) / IP65 (tethered), IK08 | IP66, IK10 |
| Dimensions | 430 x 310 x 148 mm | 286 x 172 x 110 mm | 320 x 210 x 132 mm | 328 x 243 x 101 mm |
| Warranty | 7 years | 7 years | 5 years (product) | 3 years |
Every feature, from Andersen's datasheet, manual and product pages.
The A3 is a single-phase home charger from Andersen EV, a company based in Bedfordshire. Its 5.5 m tethered cable is stored inside the housing when it is not in use, and the front comes in 13 colours as standard, with Accoya wood and special-edition finishes at extra cost. Andersen also sells the Quartz (smaller, with socket or tethered versions) and the A2 (hidden cable, with three-phase and longer-cable options).
Andersen markets the A3 as a 7 kW charger for single-phase homes. Its installer manual rates it at 7.2 kW, 32 A at 230 V, adjustable from 6 A to 32 A. There is no three-phase A3. The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.
The A3 has a 5.5 m tethered Type 2 cable that stores inside the unit. It is not available with a socket or a longer cable; Andersen points customers who need an 8.5 m cable to the A2.
Andersen lists the A3 as solar compatible. The installer manual describes two configurations:
In the Andersen app, the Power Source settings let you top up solar charging with grid power using a slider. Solar monitoring needs a CT clamp to be installed and configured.
Charging can be scheduled and the charger locked remotely in the Andersen app. Andersen's comparison table lists smart tariff integration with Intelligent Octopus Go, OVO Charge Anytime and EDF GoElectric.
On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026):
An Adaptive Fuse CT clamp is included as standard; the installer manual lists the charging current as CT-monitored and adjustable between 6 A and 32 A. It also lists PEN fault detection conforming to BS 7671 regulation 722.411.4.1, internal 6 mA DC protection (EN 62955) and 30 mA AC protection, plus earth, welded contactor and PME monitoring. Andersen says there is no earth rod requirement. The manual recommends upstream protection of a 40 A RCBO, or a Type A RCD with a 40 A B curve MCB.
The A3 connects over Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz); Bluetooth LE 5 is used for set-up only. The app supports remote locking, and Andersen lists 128-bit encryption for its smart connectivity.
The A3 measures 430 x 310 x 148 mm unboxed and weighs 9.5 kg to 11.2 kg installed. The enclosure core is polycarbonate blend, rated IP65; the Type 2 cable is rated IP44. The front is nylon-coated aluminium or Accoya wood. It operates from -25°C to +40°C, has RGB status lights and a white convenience light that lights the ground as you approach, and uses 10 W on standby. The manual lists compliance with the Electric Vehicles (Smart Charge Points) Regulations 2021.
Andersen gives seven years of Andersen Care Cover following installation, subject to its warranty terms.
Pick your car, how far you drive and a tariff. We use your car's own figures from our electric car data, the 26.32p price cap average as the standard rate, and the Andersen A3's 7 kW for the charging time.
Charging 8,000 miles a year at home on Intelligent Octopus Go costs about £157, against £515 at the standard rate.
Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT; they vary by region and change often, so check with the supplier.
Three steps from here to your first charge at home.
You need somewhere to park off the street, such as a driveway or garage. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.
Browse EV charger installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating, and ask for the Andersen A3 by name.
The installer checks your fuse box and earthing, fits the charger on its own circuit, tells your local network operator and connects it to the app.
Updated . We try to compare features of chargers and user experiences. We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first.
Cite this page: Best Chargers, "Andersen A3 EV charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/andersen-a3/. Also as Markdown and JSON.
Every charger we compare, A to Z. Swipe or use the arrows to browse.