The Wallbox Pulsar Max is a charger you have fitted at home to charge an electric car, and it can use spare power from solar panels with an extra part. It charges at 7.4 kW, the usual speed for a home charger: about 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in. Octopus lists it for its smart EV tariffs, which charge the car when electricity is cheap.
Updated . We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first. How we check
The questions most people start with, answered from Wallbox's own documents.
How fast does it charge?
7.4 kW
About 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars. The 11 kW or 22 kW version needs a three-phase supply, which most homes do not have.
7.4 kW single-phase
11 kW three-phase
22 kW three-phase
Is the Wallbox Pulsar Max tethered or untethered?
Both
You can choose a fixed cable (5 m or 7 m), or a socket where you plug in your own cable. Installers call a fixed cable "tethered" and a socket "untethered".
Fixed cable, 5 m
Fixed cable, 7 m
Socket for your own cable
Is the Wallbox Pulsar Max compatible with Intelligent Octopus Go?
Yes, listed
Octopus lists it, so Octopus can run its charging at cheap times for you. E.ON Next and OVO do not list it. It works with any overnight tariff that only needs a timer, such as EDF GoElectric.
OctopusLists it
E.ON NextNot listed
OVONot listed
Can it charge from solar panels?
With an extra part
It can use spare solar power, but only with an extra part that is sold separately.
Does it work with all electric cars?
Type 2
It uses the Type 2 connector, which most electric cars sold in the UK use. Check the charging socket on your car, or ask your installer.
Does the Wallbox Pulsar Max support V2H or V2G?
No
Wallbox does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for it, so it charges the car only. Chargers with vehicle-to-grid hardware.
Can it stay connected without Wi-Fi?
No
It connects by Wi-Fi and has no mobile data, so check your Wi-Fi reaches the driveway.
Wi-Fi
Network cable
Mobile data (4G)
Does the Wallbox Pulsar Max need an earth rod?
Ask your installer
Wallbox does not list the built-in safety feature that usually avoids an earth rod, so ask your installer about earthing. The faster 22 kW version needs a three-phase supply, which most homes do not have; the standard version does not. Your installer checks all of this first.
How long is the warranty?
5 years
5 years.
07 years, the longest of the 26 chargers we cover
Wallbox Pulsar Max specs
As published by Wallbox, checked October 2026.
Figures as published by the manufacturer, checked October 2026. Sources are listed at the end of the page. Also as Markdown and JSON.
Power
7.4 kW (230 V, 32 A, single-phase), 11 kW (400 V, 16 A, three-phase) or 22 kW (400 V, 32 A, three-phase)Current configurable from 6 A
Connector
Tethered Type 2 (5 m or 7 m) or Type 2 socket with shutter
Protection
6 mA DC residual current detection; external Type A RCCB requiredUK O-PEN protection is a part-number option
Load management
Static load management included; dynamic needs an external meter
Solar charging
Requires a Wallbox power meter
Connectivity
Wi-Fi, Bluetooth
Integrations
OCPP, partner API and SDK
Status light
Halo RGB LED
Dimensions
Tethered 198 x 201 x 99 mm (without cable); socket 204.3 x 313 x 142.5 mm
Weight
Tethered 1.3 kg (without cable); socket 2.5 kg
Ingress and impact
IP55, IK10
Operating temperature
-30°C to 50°CFull capacity up to 40°C; derating may apply above
Colours
White, black
Warranty
5 years
Wallbox Pulsar Max vs similar chargers
The three that share the most charger types with it, then any charger you choose, spec by spec.
A 7 kW or 22 kW home charger from myenergi with three charging modes, two of which use surplus solar generation, and a grid current sensor supplied in the box.
A 7.36 kW charger designed in the UK by Cord, with a socket or a 5 m, 8 m or 12 m tethered cable, Wi-Fi and 4G built in, and a 5-year product warranty.
Type 2 socket or tethered 5.5 m / 8.5 m (6.5 m on 22 kW)
Tethered 6.5 m or Type 2 socket
Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m / 8 m / 12 m
Solar charging
Yes, with an extra accessory
Yes
Yes
Yes
Load management
With an extra accessory
Yes
Yes
Yes
PEN fault protection
Not stated
Built in
Built in
Built in
Smart tariff lists (Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next)
Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go)
Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime)
Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime); E.ON Next (Next Drive Smart)
Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime)
Connectivity
Wi-Fi, Bluetooth
Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (set-up only)
Wi-Fi, Ethernet
Wi-Fi, 4G
OCPP
OCPP
Not stated
OCPP 1.6J (via myenergi cloud)
OCPP 1.6
RFID
Not stated
Not stated
Not stated
Yes
Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-home
No
No
No
No
Ingress and impact rating
IP55, IK10
IP65 (enclosure)
IP65, IK10
IP54 (socket) / IP65 (tethered), IK08
Dimensions
198 x 201 x 99 mm (tethered, without cable)
286 x 172 x 110 mm
438 x 282 x 122 mm
320 x 210 x 132 mm
Warranty
5 years
7 years
3 years
5 years (product)
Wallbox Pulsar Max features explained
Every feature, from Wallbox's datasheet, manual and product pages.
What is the Wallbox Pulsar Max?
The Pulsar Max is a compact home charger from Wallbox, which says it builds on its Pulsar Plus. It comes in 7.4 kW single-phase and 11 kW or 22 kW three-phase versions, tethered or with a Type 2 socket, in white or black.
Charging power: 7.4 kW single-phase, 11 or 22 kW three-phase
Wallbox's UK datasheet lists 7.4 kW at 230 V and 32 A on a single-phase supply, 11 kW at 400 V and 16 A on three-phase, and 22 kW at 400 V and 32 A on three-phase. The three-phase versions need a three-phase supply. Current is configurable from 6 A up to the rated current. The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.
Tethered or untethered: the cable options
The tethered version has a 5 m or 7 m Type 2 cable. The socket version has a Type 2 socket with a shutter; Wallbox says the cable can be locked temporarily so it works as a tethered unit, and that a socket suits anyone who needs a cable longer than 7 m.
Solar charging with an add-on sensor
Wallbox says solar charging needs one of its power meters. With a meter installed, you can charge with 100% solar energy or a mix of solar and grid, set in the Wallbox app. For three-phase Pulsar units, Wallbox's Solar Charging 3P Optimisation switches charging to single-phase when the solar surplus is too low for three-phase charging.
Smart charging with Octopus, E.ON Next and OVO
The Wallbox app schedules charging, sets departure times and target battery levels, and monitors energy use; it connects over Bluetooth nearby or Wi-Fi remotely.
On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026):
Octopus Energy lists the Wallbox Pulsar Max as supported for Intelligent Octopus Go.
OVO Energy does not list Wallbox for Charge Anytime.
E.ON Next does not list Wallbox for Next Drive Smart.
Load balancing, earthing and installation
Static load management is included. Dynamic load management, solar charging and external MID metering need an external meter, according to the datasheet. The charger provides 6 mA DC residual current detection, and an external Type A RCCB is required. Wallbox's UK part number structure includes "UK O-PEN protection" as an option, so PEN fault protection depends on the model ordered. Wallbox says the Pulsar Max is designed to be installed in 10 minutes.
App, Wi-Fi and connectivity
The Pulsar Max connects over Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, and shows its status with a halo RGB LED. It supports OCPP and Wallbox's partner API and SDK.
Size, dimensions and weatherproofing
The tethered version measures 198 x 201 x 99 mm without its cable and weighs 1.3 kg without the cable. The socket version measures 204.3 x 313 x 142.5 mm and weighs 2.5 kg. Both are rated IP55 and IK10 and operate from -30°C to 50°C, at full capacity up to 40°C. The datasheet lists compliance with the UK Smart Charging Regulations.
Warranty: 5 years
Wallbox lists a 5-year warranty for the Pulsar Max.
8 more sections, about 2 minutes to read
Wallbox Pulsar Max charging time and costs
Pick your car, how far you drive and a tariff. We use your car's own figures from our electric car data, the 26.32p price cap average as the standard rate, and the Wallbox Pulsar Max's 7.4 kW for the charging time.
You would pay about this much less£359
Charging 8,000 miles a year at home on Intelligent Octopus Go costs about £157, against £515 at the standard rate.
Intelligent Octopus Go, 8p£157 a year
Standard rate, 26.32p£515 a year
A 30% to 80% top-up on the Wallbox Pulsar Max
5h 21m at 7.4 kW, adding about 162 miles
Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT; they vary by region and change often, so check with the supplier.
Wallbox Pulsar Max installation
Three steps from here to your first charge at home.
Check you can have one
You need somewhere to park off the street, such as a driveway or garage. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.
Find a local installer
Browse EV charger installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating, and ask for the Wallbox Pulsar Max by name.
They fit it and set it up
The installer checks your fuse box and earthing, fits the charger on its own circuit, tells your local network operator and connects it to the app.
Find EV charger installers near you
Installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating.
How long does the Wallbox Pulsar Max take to charge a car?
At 7.4 kW it adds about 25 to 30 miles of range an hour. A typical top-up of about 162 miles takes about 5h 21m, so it fits in a night. A full charge from empty takes about 10 to 11 hours for most cars. Your car's battery size changes this.
Do I need solar panels to use it?
No. It charges like any home charger without them. Using spare solar power is an extra for homes that have panels.
Is there a grant for a home EV charger?
If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500. Check on GOV.UK (checked 4 October 2026). Homeowners in houses are not eligible.
Who can install the Wallbox Pulsar Max?
A qualified electrician who installs EV chargers. They check your fuse box and earthing, fit it on its own circuit, tell your local network operator, and set it up in the app. Our directory lists EV charger installers in 50 UK cities with their Google ratings.
Can the Wallbox Pulsar Max charge from solar?
Yes, with an extra part. Wallbox says solar charging needs one of its power meters, which also enables dynamic load management. Once fitted, you choose 100% solar or a mix of solar and grid in the Wallbox app.
Is the Pulsar Max tethered or untethered?
Both are available. The tethered version has a 5 m or 7 m Type 2 cable. The socket version has a Type 2 socket with a shutter, and Wallbox says the cable can be locked temporarily so it works as a tethered unit.
Does the Pulsar Max have PEN fault protection?
Wallbox's UK datasheet lists 'UK O-PEN protection' as an option in the part number structure, so it depends on the model ordered. Ask your installer to confirm which part number is being fitted.
Does the Pulsar Max work with Intelligent Octopus Go?
Yes. Octopus lists the Wallbox Pulsar Max as supported for Intelligent Octopus Go (checked 4 October 2026). Wallbox is not on OVO's Charge Anytime list or E.ON Next's Next Drive Smart list on the same date.
How much does the Wallbox Pulsar Max cost?
We do not list prices, because they change often and most people buy a charger fitted, so the price depends on the installer and your home. Ask two or three installers for a fitted price for the Wallbox Pulsar Max by name. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.
Sources and how we check
Updated . We try to compare features of chargers and user experiences. We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first.
Cite this page: Best Chargers, "Wallbox Pulsar Max EV charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/pulsar-max/. Also as Markdown and JSON.
Home EV chargers, A to Z
Every charger we compare, A to Z. Swipe or use the arrows to browse.
A 7.36 kW charger designed in the UK by Cord, with a socket or a 5 m, 8 m or 12 m tethered cable, Wi-Fi and 4G built in, and a 5-year product warranty.
A 7.4 kW socket charger developed by Easee for the UK market, with a cable lock that makes it tethered or untethered, a built-in eSIM and integrated open PEN protection.
A 7.2 kW single-phase charger from EO, the size of an A5 notepad, with CT clamps for solar and power balancing included and an app now run by ev.energy.
A 7 kW tethered solar-diverting charger from GivEnergy. GivEnergy Ltd has been in administration since 9 April 2026; check warranty and support before buying.
Hive's home EV charger is the Sync Energy Wall Charger 2, sold with installation by Hive's installers and controlled in the Hive app, with Power+ for British Gas customers.
A 7.4 kW single-phase charger from Humax with vehicle identification, solar charging and V2G-ready hardware that Humax says is not yet commercially supported.
A 7.4 kW tethered charger with solar charging modes, automatic load management and a CT clamp in the box, listed by Octopus, OVO and E.ON Next for their smart tariffs.
A 7.4 kW untethered charger designed and built in the UK by Indra, with solar matching, house fuse protection and listings with Octopus, OVO and E.ON Next.
A 7.4 kW single-phase charger from Masterplug, part of Luceco plc, controlled through the Sync Energy app, with a load management clamp and PEN protection.
A 7 kW or 22 kW home charger from myenergi with three charging modes, two of which use surplus solar generation, and a grid current sensor supplied in the box.
A screen-free 7 kW single-phase charger from myenergi, controlled through the app, with an RFID access key and a Smart Mode that can use surplus solar.
A 7.4 kW untethered charger from Ohme with a Type 2 socket and a built-in mobile data SIM, which Octopus lists as supported for Intelligent Octopus Go.
A 7.4 kW single-phase charger designed and manufactured in the UK by Rolec, with socket or tethered versions, 4G, Wi-Fi and Ethernet, and MID-approved metering.
The Sync Energy EV Charger from Luceco plc, sold socketed or with a 7.5 m cable, with Wi-Fi, Ethernet and optional 4G, and listed by Octopus for Intelligent Octopus Go.
A compact charger from Wallbox in 7.4 kW, 11 kW and 22 kW versions, tethered or with a socket, with a 5-year warranty and listing for Intelligent Octopus Go.
Wallbox's bidirectional home charger, which can power a home from a compatible car's battery. Wallbox's UK page offers a 'keep me updated' sign-up rather than a quote.
A 1.3 kg socketed charger designed and made in Norway by Zaptec, up to 7.4 kW single-phase or 22 kW three-phase, with Wi-Fi, 4G LTE-M and a 5-year guarantee.