Charger types Facts checked

22 kW three-phase EV chargers, compared

Seven of the 26 home EV chargers we cover have a 22 kW three-phase version. You need a three-phase supply, which most UK homes do not have, and your car decides the speed: none of the 46 cars we cover takes more than 11 kW on AC. Listed A to Z, not ranked.

chargers we cover have a 22 kW version
7 of 26
the most any of the 46 cars we cover takes on AC
11 kW
cars take 11 kW, so gain on three-phase
37 of 46
Ask AI which one suits your home

A to Z, not ranked

All 7 chargers with a 22 kW version we cover

Chargers with a three-phase version rated up to 22kW. These need a three-phase electricity supply, which most UK homes do not have. Our rule: the manufacturer sells a three-phase model rated at up to 22kW.

  • Andersen

    Andersen Quartz

    • 22 kW three-phase22 kW three-phase version
    • Fixed cable
    • Socket
    • Solar
    • Tariff lists
    In the maker’s words

    “Rated Power 7.2kW (1-phase) 22kW (3 -phase”

  • myenergi

    myenergi zappi

    • 22 kW three-phase22 kW three-phase models (ZAPPI-2H22xx-G)
    • Fixed cable
    • Socket
    • Solar
    • Tariff lists
    In the maker’s words

    “ZAPPI-2H22TB-G 22kW Tethered Black”

    “Available in both 7kW (1ph) and 22kW (3ph) model variants”

  • Rolec

    Rolec EVO

    • 22 kW three-phaseThe 22 kW model (ROLEC5013), which can also switch from three phase to single phase
    • Socket
    • Solar
    • PEN protection
    In the maker’s words

    “Three Phase Units 1x Universal charging socket Up to 22kW (32A)”

    “Three to Single Phase switching (22kW model only)”

  • Rolec

    Rolec Zura

    • 22 kW three-phaseTwo three phase models: a socket (ROLEC3046) and a 5 m tethered lead (ROLEC3156)
    • Fixed cable
    • Socket
    • Solar
    • PEN protection
    In the maker’s words

    “Three Phase Units 1x Universal charging socket Up to 22kW (32A)”

    “1x Type 2 5m tethered lead** Up to 22kW (32A) per tethered lead”

  • Simpson & Partners

    Simpson & Partners Home Plus

    • 22 kW three-phaseThe Home 22 kW model
    • Fixed cable
    • Socket
    • Solar
    • Tariff lists
    In the maker’s words

    “Home 22kW: Power output/max current: 22kW/32A”

    “22 kW three phase charging”

  • Sync Energy

    Sync Energy EV Charger

    • 22 kW three-phase22 kW three-phase socketed model EVWC2S22GGR-03, sold as a commercial charger
    • Fixed cable
    • Socket
    • Solar
    • Tariff lists
    In the maker’s words

    “Socketed 7.4 & 22kW versions also available”

    “EVWC2S22GGR-03 Three Phase 22kW / WI-FI / LAN / 4G / RFID Type 2 with Autolock 22kW”

  • Wallbox

    Wallbox Pulsar Max

    • 22 kW three-phase22 kW three-phase models
    • Fixed cable
    • Socket
    • Solar
    • Tariff lists
    In the maker’s words

    “Maximum charging power (3-phase) 1 × 22 kW Maximum charging power (1-phase) 1 × 7,4 kW”

Not on this list: 19 of the 26 chargers we cover

How it works

What three-phase changes

A 22 kW charger needs three live supply cables into your home, and only speeds things up for cars that can take more than 7.4 kW on AC.

  1. 1

    Check your supply

    Most UK homes have a single-phase supply: one live cable, which tops out at 7.4 kW for a charger. Three-phase needs a supply your network operator would have to fit or upgrade.

  2. 2

    Check your car

    Your car’s onboard charger sets the AC limit. Of the 46 cars we cover, 37 take 11 kW and none takes 22 kW.

  3. 3

    Then pick a charger

    Seven chargers here have a 22 kW version. On a single-phase supply they charge at up to 7.4 kW like any other.

11 kW Single phase: one live cable up to 7.4 kW 11 kW Three phase: three live cables up to 22 kW Car’s onboard charger Battery
Most homes have one live supply cable, and a home charger tops out at 7.4 kW on it. A three-phase supply has three, so a 22 kW charger can offer 22 kW, but the car's onboard charger sets the speed: the most any of the cars we cover takes on AC is 11 kW.

Charging speed

How fast would your car charge?

Pick your car to see what it would draw from a 7.4 kW single-phase charger and a 22 kW three-phase one.

The MG4 EV SE Long Range takes up to 11 kW on AC.

On a 7.4 kW single-phase charger

Charging at
7.4 kW
20 to 80%
5 h 50 min
Miles an hour
About 33

On a 22 kW three-phase charger

Charging at
11 kW
20 to 80%
3 h 56 min
Miles an hour
About 49

On three-phase the MG4 EV SE Long Range charges at 11 kW instead of 7.4 kW, so 20 to 80% takes 3 h 56 min instead of 5 h 50 min.

Usable battery, AC limit and miles per kWh from our electric car data. 20 to 80% is 60% of the usable battery at the power shown, ignoring charging losses; it assumes the car accepts the full 7.4 kW on a single-phase supply, so check your car's handbook.

Side by side

Compare all 7

Scroll the table sideways on a phone. Every value comes from the maker’s own documents; open a charger for the detail by model.

All 7 side by side, A to Z, checked against the makers' documents in October 2026. Each value covers every model the maker sells; the charger's own page splits them by model.
Charger22 kWCableSolarTariff lists4GPEN protection
Andersen QuartzYes5.5 m, 6.5 m or 8.5 m cable or socketIn the boxOctopus, OVONoBuilt in
myenergi zappiYes6.5 m cable or socketIn the boxOctopus, E.ON, OVONoBuilt in
Rolec EVOYesSocketYes, kit not statedNoneSubscriptionBuilt in
Rolec ZuraYes5 m or 10 m cable or socketYes, kit not statedNoneSubscriptionBuilt in
Simpson & Partners Home PlusYes6.8 m or 9.6 m cable or socketIn the boxOctopus, E.ONNoBuilt in
Sync Energy EV ChargerYes7.5 m cable or socketIn the boxOctopusStandardBuilt in
Wallbox Pulsar MaxYes5 m cable or socketWith an accessoryOctopusNoBuilt in

Compare any two chargers in detail

Installing

Getting one fitted

  • Ask your installer which supply you have

    Three-phase homes have a different meter and fuse arrangement. If you are single phase, an upgrade goes through your network operator.

  • Load management on three phases

    On their 22 kW models the Rolec EVO, Rolec Zura, Sync Energy EV Charger and Wallbox Pulsar Max need extra sensors or a meter, sold separately, for load management. Ask your installer what yours needs.

If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500. The EV chargepoint grant on GOV.UK (checked October 2026).

Quick answers

Questions people ask

Which home EV chargers have a 22 kW three-phase version?

Seven of the 26 we cover: the Andersen Quartz, myenergi zappi, Rolec EVO, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, Sync Energy EV Charger and Wallbox Pulsar Max.

Do I need a three-phase supply for a 22 kW charger?

Yes. 22 kW needs three live supply cables. Most UK homes have single phase, where a home charger tops out at 7.4 kW. Your installer can tell you which you have.

Will a 22 kW charger charge my car faster?

Only up to your car’s AC limit. None of the 46 cars we cover takes 22 kW on AC: 37 take 11 kW, so on three-phase they charge at 11 kW rather than 7.4 kW. The rest take 7.4 kW, 7 kW and 6.6 kW.

Can a three-phase charger also use solar?

All seven have a solar mode on at least one model: the Andersen Quartz, myenergi zappi, Rolec EVO, Rolec Zura, Simpson & Partners Home Plus, Sync Energy EV Charger and Wallbox Pulsar Max. On the 22 kW models, the solar sensor is in the box for the Andersen Quartz, myenergi zappi, Simpson & Partners Home Plus and Sync Energy EV Charger; the Rolec EVO and Wallbox Pulsar Max need an accessory sold separately; and for the Rolec Zura the maker does not say what is needed.

Terms on this page

Three-phase supply
An electricity supply with three live cables, common in commercial buildings and some newer homes.
Single phase
One live cable, as in most UK homes. A home charger tops out at 7.4 kW on it.
Onboard charger
The part of the car that turns AC from the wall into DC for the battery. It sets the car’s AC limit.

Where these facts come from

  • The maker’s own documents

    Every fact on this page comes from our charger library: 11 documents cited here, from data sheets, manuals and product pages, checked October 2026. Supplier lists are each supplier’s own, checked November 2026.

  • A to Z, never ranked

    Nobody pays for a place in the list or the table. Paid positions are labelled and sit outside both, one at a time.

  • “Not stated” is not “no”

    Where a maker’s documents do not say, we say so. We can make mistakes, so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first.

Documents cited on this page (11)

Library updated November 2026. Also as Markdown and JSON.

Essential
Needed for the site to work. Always on.