
How fast does it charge?
7.4 kWAbout 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars.
- 7.4 kW single-phase
The Pod Point Solo 3S is a charger you have fitted at home to charge an electric car, and it can also use spare power from solar panels. It charges at 7.4 kW, the usual speed for a home charger: about 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in. It works with overnight EV tariffs that only need a timer, but it is not on the Octopus, E.ON Next or OVO smart tariff lists.
Updated . We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first. How we check

The questions most people start with, answered from Pod Point's own documents.

About 25 to 30 miles of range for every hour plugged in, and about 10 to 11 hours for a full charge for most cars.

You can choose a fixed cable (6.5 m), or a socket where you plug in your own cable. Installers call a fixed cable "tethered" and a socket "untethered".

Octopus does not list it as a charger, so Intelligent Octopus Go would need a car Octopus supports instead. E.ON Next and OVO do not list it either. It works with any overnight tariff that only needs a timer, such as EDF GoElectric.
OctopusNot listed
E.ON NextNot listed
OVONot listed
It can charge your car with spare power from your panels, instead of sending it back to the grid.

It uses the Type 2 connector, which most electric cars sold in the UK use. Check the charging socket on your car, or ask your installer.

Pod Point does not publish vehicle-to-home (V2H) or vehicle-to-grid (V2G) support for it, so it charges the car only. Chargers with vehicle-to-grid hardware.

It connects by Wi-Fi and has no mobile data, so check your Wi-Fi reaches the driveway.

It has a built-in safety feature (Pod Point calls it PEN fault protection) that usually means no earth rod is needed. Your installer checks all of this first.

Up to 5 years, on charger and installation (Pod Point).
As published by Pod Point, checked October 2026.
| Power | Up to 7.4 kWTypically rated at 7 kW; 7.4 kW on request. Up to 32 A per phase |
|---|---|
| Connector | Type 2 socket (Universal) or tethered Type 2, 6.5 m |
| Load management | Power balancing sensor (CT clamp) supplied, must be installed |
| Solar charging | Yes, using the power balancing sensor |
| Protection | 6 mA DC protection in the charger; built-in PME fault protectionExternal 30 mA RCD (Type A, B or F) required |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) |
| App | Pod Home app |
| Dimensions (H x W x D) | Socket 330 x 290 x 167 mm; tethered 330 x 290 x 112 mm |
| Weight | Socket 3.5 kg; tethered 4.7 kg |
| Ingress and impact | IP54, IK10 |
| Operating temperature | -25°C to 40°C |
| Earthing systems | TN-S, TN-C-S or TT |
| Warranty | Up to 5 years on charger and installation (Pod Point) |
The three that share the most charger types with it, then any charger you choose, spec by spec.

Andersen's smallest charger, available at 7 kW or 22 kW with a socket or tethered cable, 11 colours and a 7-year warranty.

A 7.36 kW charger designed in the UK by Cord, with a socket or a 5 m, 8 m or 12 m tethered cable, Wi-Fi and 4G built in, and a 5-year product warranty.

A 7.2 kW single-phase charger from EO, the size of an A5 notepad, with CT clamps for solar and power balancing included and an app now run by ev.energy.
| Feature | Pod Point Solo 3S | Ohme Home Pro | Andersen Quartz | Cord Zero |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Max power | Up to 7.4 kW | 7.4 kW | 7 kW / 22 kW | 7.36 kW |
| 22 kW three-phase version | No | No | Yes | No |
| Cable | Type 2 socket or tethered 6.5 m | Tethered 5 m (8 m option) | Type 2 socket or tethered 5.5 m / 8.5 m (6.5 m on 22 kW) | Type 2 socket or tethered 5 m / 8 m / 12 m |
| Solar charging | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Load management | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| PEN fault protection | Built in | Built in | Built in | Built in |
| Smart tariff lists (Octopus, OVO, E.ON Next) | Not listed | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) | Octopus (Intelligent Octopus Go); OVO (Charge Anytime) |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi | 4G (multi-network SIM) | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth (set-up only) | Wi-Fi, 4G |
| OCPP | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | OCPP 1.6 |
| RFID | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes |
| Vehicle-to-grid or vehicle-to-home | No | No | No | No |
| Ingress and impact rating | IP54, IK10 | IP55, IK08 | IP65 (enclosure) | IP54 (socket) / IP65 (tethered), IK08 |
| Dimensions | 330 x 290 x 167 mm (socket), 330 x 290 x 112 mm (tethered) | 170 x 200 x 100 mm | 286 x 172 x 110 mm | 320 x 210 x 132 mm |
| Warranty | Up to 5 years | 3 years | 7 years | 5 years (product) |
Every feature, from Pod Point's datasheet, manual and product pages.
The Solo 3S is Pod Point's home charger, sold through its site, now branded Pod (podenergy.com). It comes untethered with a Type 2 socket or tethered with a 6.5 m cable. Pod Point says it has installed over 300,000 chargers in the UK, and that the Solo 3S was named What Car? Best Value Home Charger 2025.
Pod Point advertises charging speeds of up to 7.4 kW. Its installation guide adds that the chargers are typically rated at 7 kW for performance and longevity, and that the rating can be increased to 7.4 kW on request. The guide lists a rated voltage of 230 V (400 V) and up to 32 A per phase. The rate your car charges at is also limited by its own onboard charger.
The Universal (untethered) version has a Type 2 socket and connects to any car with the right cable. The tethered version has a 6.5 m Type 2 cable and comes with a holster.
Pod Point lists solar integration, so you can charge with energy your home generates. Its install guide says the power balancing sensor (CT clamp) supplied with the charger lets customers use features such as solar charging.
The Pod Home app schedules charging to a target charge level and ready-by time, has a Boost function to charge immediately, manages multiple vehicles and can secure the charger. Pod Point customers can earn Pod Rewards for smart charging, and have access to Pod Power by EDF, which Pod Point describes as an exclusive EV tariff for its customers.
On the energy suppliers' own lists (checked 4 October 2026), Pod Point is not listed by Octopus for Intelligent Octopus Go, by OVO for Charge Anytime, or by E.ON Next for Next Drive Smart.
A power balancing sensor (CT clamp) is supplied in the box and must be installed. Pod Point says it protects the upstream main fuse by letting the charger reduce its rate when needed. The charger provides 6 mA DC protection; an external 30 mA RCD (Type A, B or F, switching both poles) is required.
Pod Point's earthing information sheet says the Solo 3S has built-in PME fault protection, so no dedicated earth rod is required on TN-S and TN-C-S earthing systems. TT systems already have an earth rod and have additional RCD requirements.
The install guide lists Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz). The charger is registered with the Pod Point Installer App at installation and controlled through the Pod Home app.
The Universal version measures 330 x 290 x 167 mm and weighs 3.5 kg; the tethered version measures 330 x 290 x 112 mm and weighs 4.7 kg (height x width x depth). Both are rated IP54 and IK10 and operate from -25°C to 40°C, with charging speeds reduced at high temperatures to protect the device.
Pod Point quotes up to 5 years' warranty on charger and installation, with 24/7 support. Check which term applies to your purchase route before you buy.
Pick your car, how far you drive and a tariff. We use your car's own figures from our electric car data, the 26.32p price cap average as the standard rate, and the Pod Point Solo 3S's 7.4 kW for the charging time.
Charging 8,000 miles a year at home on Intelligent Octopus Go costs about £157, against £515 at the standard rate.
Rates checked October 2026, including 0% VAT; they vary by region and change often, so check with the supplier.
Three steps from here to your first charge at home.
You need somewhere to park off the street, such as a driveway or garage. If you rent, or own a flat with private off-street parking, the EV chargepoint grant can cover 75% of the cost of buying and installing a chargepoint, up to £500.
Browse EV charger installers in 50 UK cities, each with its published Google rating, and ask for the Pod Point Solo 3S by name.
The installer checks your fuse box and earthing, fits the charger on its own circuit, tells your local network operator and connects it to the app.
Updated . We try to compare features of chargers and user experiences. We can make mistakes so always check with the manufacturer and your installer first.
Cite this page: Best Chargers, "Pod Point Solo 3S EV charger review", specs checked October 2026, https://www.bestchargers.co.uk/pod-point-solo-3/. Also as Markdown and JSON.
Every charger we compare, A to Z. Swipe or use the arrows to browse.